Getting more leads comes down to being found by people who already need what you sell, capturing their contact details and following up quickly. For a small business that usually means a clear website with contact forms, visibility in search, an email list and one place to track every inquiry until it becomes a sale. SEO software shows what your buyers search for, marketing automation handles follow-up and a CRM makes sure no lead is forgotten. Paid ads and social media often play a part too and need their own tools.
Which categories a job needs is Editorial assessment; the tools, prices and dates are Verified data.
Prices are each vendor’s published entry plan, recorded from its own pricing page and dated. The example column prices a team of 10: only per-user prices are multiplied; flat and per-account prices are shown as published. Change the team size in the finder.
Marketing automation runs follow-up emails and nurture campaigns without manual sending.
| Tool | Entry price (as published) | Billing unit | Example: team of 10 | Free plan | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ActiveCampaign | From $15/mo (1,000 contacts) | Per account per month, billed annually (1,000 contacts) | $15/moFlat per account per month, billed annually (1,000 contacts); includes 1 login, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | NoNo free plan — trial available | Sep 14, 2026Vendor pricing |
| HubSpot | Free tier, from $7/seat/mo | Per seat | $70/mo$7 × 10 seats | YesYes — free CRM for up to 2 users, no card required | Sep 17, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Klaviyo | From $20/mo | Per account per month, priced by active profiles | $20/moFlat per account per month, priced by active profiles | Yes250 active profiles / 500 emails + $5 of SMS/MMS credit per month | Aug 11, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Mailchimp | From $13/mo | Per account per month (up to 500 contacts) | $13/moFlat per account per month (up to 500 contacts); includes 3 logins, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | Yes250 contacts / 500 sends per month | Sep 18, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Keap | Starting at $299/mo | Per account per month; extra users $39/month each | $299/moFlat per account per month; extra users $39/month each; includes 2 logins, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | NoNo free plan — limited free trial (no card required; 25 email sends, no payments or texts) | Sep 14, 2026Vendor pricing |
SEO tools show what people search for and how your site ranks against competitors.
| Tool | Entry price (as published) | Billing unit | Example: team of 10 | Free plan | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Semrush | From $117.33/mo billed annually ($139 monthly) | Per account per month, billed annually; extra users from $45/month | $117.33/moFlat per account per month, billed annually; extra users from $45/month | YesLimited free account — 10 Analytics requests/day, 1 project | Sep 17, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Ahrefs | From $29/mo (Starter); full toolset from $129/mo (Lite) | Per account per month (Starter) | $29/moFlat per account per month (Starter) | YesAhrefs Free — limited Site Explorer & Site Audit for sites you own | Sep 17, 2026Vendor pricing |
Social media tools schedule posts across networks from one place and report on what worked.
| Tool | Entry price (as published) | Billing unit | Example: team of 10 | Free plan | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hootsuite | Standard $99/user/mo (annual; 10 social accounts) | Per user | $990/mo$99 × 10 users | NoNo — 14-day free trial | Sep 19, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Buffer | Free for 3 channels; Essentials $5/channel/mo (annual) | Per connected channel per month, not per user; billed annually ($6 monthly); Essentials is 1 user | $5 per channel/moPriced per channel, not per login; multiply by how many you have | YesYes — 3 channels, 1 user | Sep 19, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Sprout Social | Essentials $79/seat/mo (annual; 5 profiles) | Per seat | $790/mo$79 × 10 seats | NoNo — 30-day free trial | Sep 19, 2026Vendor pricing |
Paid ads tools manage and optimise Google or Meta campaigns from one place, with automation rules and client-ready reports.
| Tool | Entry price (as published) | Billing unit | Example: team of 10 | Free plan | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Optmyzr | Essentials $209/mo for up to $25K ad spend (annual); $299 monthly | Per account per month for up to $25K of monthly ad spend, billed annually ($299 monthly); not per user | $209/moFlat per account per month for up to $25K of monthly ad spend, billed annually ($299 monthly); not per user | NoNo — 14-day free trial, no card | Sep 19, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Madgicx | Pro Complete $32/mo under $1K Meta ad spend (annual); $45 monthly | Per workspace per month under $1K of monthly Meta ad spend, billed annually ($45 monthly); price rises with spend | $32/moFlat per workspace per month under $1K of monthly Meta ad spend, billed annually ($45 monthly); price rises with spend | NoNo — 7-day free trial, then a limited freemium plan | Sep 19, 2026Vendor pricing |
| AdEspresso | Starter $49/mo up to $1,000 ad spend; Plus $99/mo unlimited (monthly) | Per account per month, up to $1,000 of monthly ad spend (Starter); not per user | $49/moFlat per account per month, up to $1,000 of monthly ad spend (Starter); not per user | NoNo — 14-day free trial | Sep 19, 2026Vendor pricing |
A CRM keeps every customer, lead and deal in one place so nothing falls through the cracks.
| Tool | Entry price (as published) | Billing unit | Example: team of 10 | Free plan | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HubSpot | Free tier, from $7/seat/mo | Per seat | $70/mo$7 × 10 seats | YesYes — free CRM for up to 2 users, no card required | Sep 17, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Salesforce | Free Suite (2 users), from $25/user/mo | Per user | $250/mo$25 × 10 users | YesYes — Free Suite, 2 users, no card required | Sep 12, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Pipedrive | From $14/seat/mo | Per seat | $140/mo$14 × 10 seats | No | Sep 12, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Zoho CRM | Free (3 users), from $14/user/mo | Per user | $140/mo$14 × 10 users | YesYes — up to 3 users | Sep 17, 2026Vendor pricing |
Email marketing tools manage your list and send newsletters and campaigns.
| Tool | Entry price (as published) | Billing unit | Example: team of 10 | Free plan | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mailchimp | From $13/mo | Per account per month (up to 500 contacts) | $13/moFlat per account per month (up to 500 contacts); includes 3 logins, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | Yes250 contacts / 500 sends per month | Sep 18, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Klaviyo | From $20/mo | Per account per month, priced by active profiles | $20/moFlat per account per month, priced by active profiles | Yes250 active profiles / 500 emails + $5 of SMS/MMS credit per month | Aug 11, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Constant Contact | From $12/mo (500 contacts) | Per account per month, billed monthly (up to 500 contacts) | $12/moFlat per account per month, billed monthly (up to 500 contacts); includes 1 login, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | NoNo free plan — 30-day free trial (100 sends) | Sep 18, 2026Vendor pricing |
| ActiveCampaign | From $15/mo (1,000 contacts) | Per account per month, billed annually (1,000 contacts) | $15/moFlat per account per month, billed annually (1,000 contacts); includes 1 login, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | NoNo free plan — trial available | Sep 14, 2026Vendor pricing |
A website builder gets a professional site live without hiring a developer.
| Tool | Entry price (as published) | Billing unit | Example: team of 10 | Free plan | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wix | Free (Wix branding); paid plans for a custom domain | Not stated in our record | $0 to startFree (Wix branding); paid plans for a custom domain | Yes | Sep 12, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Squarespace | From $19/mo | Per site per month, billed annually | $19/moFlat per site per month, billed annually; includes 2 logins, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | No | Aug 26, 2026Vendor pricing |
| WordPress | Free software; hosting, themes and plugins cost extra | Not stated in our record | $0 to startFree software; hosting, themes and plugins cost extra | Yes | Sep 12, 2026Vendor pricing |
Start with the places your buyers already look: search, referrals, local listings, email and social media. Put clear contact options on your website, capture every inquiry in one list and follow up quickly. Then measure which channel brings paying customers and put more effort there.
It's usually a mix rather than one product: SEO software to be found in search, marketing automation to follow up, a CRM to track each lead and a website builder for pages and forms. Ad and social media tools often sit alongside. To see the categories and prices together, use the finder for this job.
For local construction and trades work, a website showing your service area, past projects and a quote request form matters. Keep your local business listing current, ask satisfied clients for reviews and reply to every quote request quickly. A CRM helps you chase quotes that haven't been answered.
Pick ideas that match how your customers buy: answer their common questions on your website, collect emails wherever you meet customers, send a useful newsletter, ask for reviews and follow up with past customers. Start with a couple and measure results before adding more.
We start from the job, not the product. The phrasings people search for this job (for example “how to get leads for my business”) come from our research into how small and mid-size teams describe it. Which software categories the job takes is our editorial judgment. Every tool, entry price, billing unit and date comes from HelpCompare’s open dataset, recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page; nothing is estimated, and where a vendor publishes no price we say so. We take no affiliate commissions and publish no scores of our own. See our methodology or download the data from Open Data.
Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.