To build an email list, give people a clear reason to subscribe, put a signup form everywhere they meet your business, and store every subscriber with their consent in an email marketing tool. Common reasons to join are a discount, a useful guide (a lead magnet), early access or a newsletter worth reading. Without a website, you can share a hosted signup page in your social profiles and messages or collect emails in person. A separate form or survey tool helps if you need more than a basic signup form.
53% using email marketing (LocaliQ 2026) Source
Which categories a job needs is Editorial assessment; the tools, prices and dates are Verified data.
Prices are each vendor’s published entry plan, recorded from its own pricing page and dated. The example column prices a team of 10: only per-user prices are multiplied; flat and per-account prices are shown as published. Change the team size in the finder.
Email marketing tools manage your list and send newsletters and campaigns.
| Tool | Entry price (as published) | Billing unit | Example: team of 10 | Free plan | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mailchimp | From $13/mo | Per account per month (up to 500 contacts) | $13/moFlat per account per month (up to 500 contacts); includes 3 logins, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | Yes250 contacts / 500 sends per month | Sep 18, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Klaviyo | From $20/mo | Per account per month, priced by active profiles | $20/moFlat per account per month, priced by active profiles | Yes250 active profiles / 500 emails + $5 of SMS/MMS credit per month | Aug 11, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Constant Contact | From $12/mo (500 contacts) | Per account per month, billed monthly (up to 500 contacts) | $12/moFlat per account per month, billed monthly (up to 500 contacts); includes 1 login, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | NoNo free plan — 30-day free trial (100 sends) | Sep 18, 2026Vendor pricing |
| ActiveCampaign | From $15/mo (1,000 contacts) | Per account per month, billed annually (1,000 contacts) | $15/moFlat per account per month, billed annually (1,000 contacts); includes 1 login, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | NoNo free plan — trial available | Sep 14, 2026Vendor pricing |
A website builder gets a professional site live without hiring a developer.
| Tool | Entry price (as published) | Billing unit | Example: team of 10 | Free plan | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wix | Free (Wix branding); paid plans for a custom domain | Not stated in our record | $0 to startFree (Wix branding); paid plans for a custom domain | Yes | Sep 12, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Squarespace | From $19/mo | Per site per month, billed annually | $19/moFlat per site per month, billed annually; includes 2 logins, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | No | Aug 26, 2026Vendor pricing |
| WordPress | Free software; hosting, themes and plugins cost extra | Not stated in our record | $0 to startFree software; hosting, themes and plugins cost extra | Yes | Sep 12, 2026Vendor pricing |
Marketing automation runs follow-up emails and nurture campaigns without manual sending.
| Tool | Entry price (as published) | Billing unit | Example: team of 10 | Free plan | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ActiveCampaign | From $15/mo (1,000 contacts) | Per account per month, billed annually (1,000 contacts) | $15/moFlat per account per month, billed annually (1,000 contacts); includes 1 login, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | NoNo free plan — trial available | Sep 14, 2026Vendor pricing |
| HubSpot | Free tier, from $7/seat/mo | Per seat | $70/mo$7 × 10 seats | YesYes — free CRM for up to 2 users, no card required | Sep 17, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Klaviyo | From $20/mo | Per account per month, priced by active profiles | $20/moFlat per account per month, priced by active profiles | Yes250 active profiles / 500 emails + $5 of SMS/MMS credit per month | Aug 11, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Mailchimp | From $13/mo | Per account per month (up to 500 contacts) | $13/moFlat per account per month (up to 500 contacts); includes 3 logins, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | Yes250 contacts / 500 sends per month | Sep 18, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Keap | Starting at $299/mo | Per account per month; extra users $39/month each | $299/moFlat per account per month; extra users $39/month each; includes 2 logins, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | NoNo free plan — limited free trial (no card required; 25 email sends, no payments or texts) | Sep 14, 2026Vendor pricing |
This job usually also needs forms & surveys. We don’t track that category yet, so we have no verified prices to show for it. We would rather say so than guess. The guidance on this page still covers what to look for.
Of the 4 email marketing tools we track, Mailchimp and Klaviyo list a free plan or free tier (limits are in the table above); Constant Contact and ActiveCampaign do not. Start with a signup form, a clear reason to subscribe and a welcome email, then promote the form on every channel you already use. Watch the free plan's subscriber and sending limits so you know when you'll need to upgrade.
Use a hosted signup page if your email tool offers one, and share its link in your social profiles, messages and receipts. Collect emails in person with a sign-up sheet or tablet, adding only people who agreed. Send a welcome email soon after so they remember signing up.
A lead magnet is something useful you give in exchange for an email address, such as a checklist, guide, discount or free consultation. It works when it solves a specific problem for the people you want as customers. Deliver it automatically right after signup.
Create the form in your email marketing tool and embed it on your site, or use your website builder's own form connected to your list. Place it on key pages and after useful content, not just in the footer. Test that a new signup reaches the list and gets the welcome email.
We start from the job, not the product. The phrasings people search for this job (for example “how to build an email list”) come from our research into how small and mid-size teams describe it. Which software categories the job takes is our editorial judgment. Every tool, entry price, billing unit and date comes from HelpCompare’s open dataset, recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page; nothing is estimated, and where a vendor publishes no price we say so. We take no affiliate commissions and publish no scores of our own. See our methodology or download the data from Open Data.
Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.