Side-by-side pricing for Gusto, Rippling and OnPay: entry price, free plan, how each vendor bills for AI, and the date we last checked each figure against the vendor’s own pricing page.
Most-read in this category: OnPay to Rippling
Every row links to the comparison where the figure was verified and to the vendor’s pricing page.
| Tool | Entry price | Free plan | AI billing | G2 rating | Verified | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gusto | From $49/mo + $6/person | No — free account setup, no contracts | — | — | September 17, 2026in Gusto vs Rippling | Vendor pricing ↗ |
| Rippling | Custom quote only | No | — | — | September 17, 2026in Gusto vs Rippling | Vendor pricing ↗ |
| OnPay | $49 base + $6/worker/mo | No — "Get Your First Month Free" trial offer, not a permanent free tier | — | — | September 23, 2026in OnPay vs Gusto | Vendor pricing ↗ |
The payroll tools we track, side by side on compliance, single sign-on, offline access and remote or office controls. Every value links to the vendor page it came from.
| What we checked | Gusto | Rippling | OnPay |
|---|---|---|---|
| Security & compliance | |||
| SOC 2 report | SOC 2 reportType not stated by vendorsource | SOC 2 Type IIsource | SOC 2 Type IIsource |
| ISO/IEC 27001 | Not published | Certifiedsource | Not published |
| Other certifications | Not published | SOC 1 Type II, SOC 3, CSA STAR Level 2, ISO/IEC 27018, ISO/IEC 42001source | Not published |
| HIPAA (BAA) | BAA availableFor benefits and health-insurance datasource | Not published | Not published |
| GDPR data processing agreement | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Single sign-on (SAML/OIDC) | Nosource | Not published | Not published |
| SCIM user provisioning | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Two-factor authentication | YesEnforcement: Primary admin setting; applies to admins only (plan not stated)source | Not published | Yessource |
| Admin audit log | Not published | Yessource | Not published |
| Data residency choices | US onlysource | Not published | Not published |
| Encryption | AES-256 at rest (AWS); TLS 1.2 in transitsource | AES at rest; 256-bit TLS in transitsource | AES-256 at rest; TLS 1.2 in transit; hosted on AWSsource |
| Self-hosting option | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Offline access | |||
| Offline mode | Not documented | PartialOnly the Rippling time Kiosk works offline: employees can clock in and out, switch jobs, take breaks and capture photos without a connection.source | Not documented |
| Desktop apps | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Mobile apps | iOS, Androidsource | iOS, Androidsource | iOS, Androidsource |
| Remote, hybrid & in-office | |||
| IP allowlisting | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Device & session controls | Not published | YesRippling IT device management (Apple and Windows MDM): remote lock and wipe, custom security policies, automated device offboarding.source | Not published |
| Office & room hardware | Time Kiosk turns any internet-connected tablet or computer into a shared clock-in station (Plus, Premium, or Time & Attendance Plus Simple add-on).source | Rippling Time & Attendance runs a Kiosk for shared clock-in and out, and the Kiosk has an offline mode.source | — |
Of the 3 payroll tools HelpCompare tracks, the lowest published entry price belongs to Gusto (From $49/mo + $6/person, verified September 17, 2026) and OnPay ($49 base + $6/worker/mo, verified September 23, 2026). Entry prices are the cheapest paid tier each vendor publishes; the right answer at your team size depends on seat minimums and add-ons, which each head-to-head comparison breaks down.
None of the payroll tools we track offers a permanent free plan; check each vendor for trials.
Every figure was recorded from the vendor's own pricing page during research for a HelpCompare comparison, and is dated. The most recent check in this category was September 23, 2026. Nothing is estimated: where a vendor publishes no price, we say so. The full dataset is free to reuse under CC BY 4.0 at helpcompare.com/data/.
Figures come from each vendor’s pricing page, recorded on the date shown. Download the full dataset from Open Data (JSON and CSV, CC BY 4.0).
Cite this page: HelpCompare, “Payroll & HR Software, Compared: Verified 2026 Pricing”, helpcompare.com/payroll-hr-software/ (updated ).
Source links on this site are checked every month; last check . How sources are checked.
Plain-language guides: the steps, what to check before you buy, common mistakes, and every tool it takes with verified prices.
Verified prices costed for your team size, a check against your must-have requirements, the questions to settle before you sign, and a source for every figure. Print it, or paste it into an email to whoever approves the spend.
Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.