Rippling says it picks up payroll where your previous provider left off, including mid-year, and imports your year-to-date payroll. The work on your side is getting the right reports out of Gusto and the timing right.
Quick verdict: You do not have to wait for year end. Rippling says its team imports and analyses your year-to-date payroll so quarterly and annual taxes are filed accurately. Your job is to export complete payroll history from Gusto, agree a first Rippling pay date, and settle which modules you are buying — Rippling prices the required core platform plus each product by quote.
Most buyers only budget for the new subscription. This estimates the hidden labor, data-cleanup, and retraining cost of actually making the switch.
Estimate assumes: 1 hour of data-mapping/cleaning labor per 2,000 records, a blended $75/hr ops rate, tiered migration & cleaning tooling fees, and 4 hours of retraining per seat at a $45/hr fully-loaded rate.
Rippling combines payroll and HR with identity and device management, expenses, cards and bill pay on one employee record.
Rippling offers global payroll and employer-of-record services.
Beyond the required core platform, you buy only the products you need.
Payroll switches are about tax continuity. Get the data and the dates right and the rest follows.
| Step | What you do |
|---|---|
| 1Get a quote for your modules | Rippling prices the required core platform plus each product by quote. Confirm exactly what you are buying. |
| 2Pick your first Rippling pay date | Agree the last Gusto payroll and the first Rippling payroll so no pay run is missed or doubled. |
| 3Export payroll history from Gusto | Download year-to-date payroll registers, tax filings and payment records, plus employee and contractor details. |
| 4Hand over year-to-date data | Rippling’s team imports and analyses your year-to-date payroll so quarterly and annual filings stay accurate. |
| 5Re-create benefits, deductions and time tracking | Set up benefits, deductions and time-tracking rules in Rippling and check them against Gusto. |
| 6Run a parallel check | Compare the first Rippling payroll against the equivalent Gusto run before closing the Gusto account. |
What this path doesn’t do for you:
Neither vendor publishes what a Rippling migration costs, because Rippling prices by quote. Year-end forms must be filed by only one provider, so confirm with both which company files W-2s for the year you switch.
| Plan | Gusto | Rippling |
|---|---|---|
| Free | No, free account setup | No |
| Entry paid | Simple — $49/mo + $6/person | Core platform + products, by quote |
| Mid | Plus — $80/mo + $12/person | By quote |
| Top | Premium — $180/mo + $22/person | By quote |
Gusto prices from gusto.com/product/pricing; Rippling does not publish prices. Checked September 17, 2026.
| Capability | Gusto | Rippling |
|---|---|---|
| Published pricing | Yes | No, quote only |
| Contracts | None | Not published |
| Mid-year switch | Supported | Supported, with year-to-date import |
| Global payroll / EOR | Global contractor payments add-on | Yes |
| IT and device management | No | Yes |
Going the other direction, or want the full comparison first?
Read the Gusto vs Rippling comparison Switching from Rippling to Gusto instead?Security, offline and access rules that differ between Gusto and Rippling. Rows where both tools are the same (1) are left out; the full side-by-side is on each tool’s page: Gusto, Rippling.
| What changes | Gusto (today) | Rippling (after) |
|---|---|---|
| SOC 2 report | SOC 2 reportType not stated by vendorsource | SOC 2 Type IIsource |
| ISO/IEC 27001 | Not published | Certifiedsource |
| Other certifications | Not published | SOC 1 Type II, SOC 3, CSA STAR Level 2, ISO/IEC 27018, ISO/IEC 42001source |
| HIPAA (BAA) | BAA availableFor benefits and health-insurance datasource | Not published |
| Single sign-on (SAML/OIDC) | Nosource | Not published |
| Two-factor authentication | YesEnforcement: Primary admin setting; applies to admins only (plan not stated)source | Not published |
| Admin audit log | Not published | Yessource |
| Data residency choices | US onlysource | Not published |
| Encryption | AES-256 at rest (AWS); TLS 1.2 in transitsource | AES at rest; 256-bit TLS in transitsource |
| Offline mode | Not documented | PartialOnly the Rippling time Kiosk works offline: employees can clock in and out, switch jobs, take breaks and capture photos without a connection.source |
| Device & session controls | Not published | YesRippling IT device management (Apple and Windows MDM): remote lock and wipe, custom security policies, automated device offboarding.source |
| Office & room hardware | Time Kiosk turns any internet-connected tablet or computer into a shared clock-in station (Plus, Premium, or Time & Attendance Plus Simple add-on).source | Rippling Time & Attendance runs a Kiosk for shared clock-in and out, and the Kiosk has an offline mode.source |
Yes. Rippling says it picks up payroll where your previous provider left off and imports your year-to-date payroll.
Rippling does not publish prices. You need a quote for the core platform plus each product you choose.
Year-to-date payroll registers, tax filings and payments, and employee and contractor details.
Only one provider should file year-end forms for the year. Confirm the handover with both Gusto and Rippling.
Every pricing fact, rating, AI billing model and switching guide we hold on each tool, on one page, with the date each figure was last verified.
Prices on this page were recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page on the date shown at the top of the page. Vendors change pricing often — check the live source before you buy.
Every figure is also in our open dataset (JSON and CSV, CC BY 4.0), with its source page and verification date. See how we research pricing.
Cite this page: HelpCompare, “Switching from Gusto to Rippling: A Step-by-Step Migration Guide”, helpcompare.com/gusto-to-rippling-migration/ (updated ).
Source links on this site are checked every month; last check . How sources are checked.
Plain-language guides: the steps, what to check before you buy, common mistakes, and every tool it takes with verified prices.
Verified prices costed for your team size, a check against your must-have requirements, the questions to settle before you sign, and a source for every figure. Print it, or paste it into an email to whoever approves the spend.
Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.