Both charge a flat base fee plus a per-worker add-on — and at their entry tiers, the numbers are identical: $49 base plus $6 a head. The real differences show up in add-ons, HR depth and which industries each is built for.
Not at entry, where both charge $49 a month plus $6 per worker, so a 10-person team pays $109 a month on either.
The split comes with HR. OnPay sells add-ons one at a time, $15 base + $2/worker for HR and $15 base + $4/worker for time tracking, while Gusto bundles more into Plus at $80 + $12/person or Premium at $180 + $22/person. Price the features you'll need in a couple of years, not today, because payroll is the software you least want to switch mid-year. Also ask each vendor, in writing, who counts as a billable worker, since contractors, seasonal staff and people getting a final paycheck can all move a per-head bill. If you only need time tracking, itemizing on OnPay is the cleaner fit; if you want an HR resource and compliance alerts together, compare against Gusto Premium.
My read of the verified data on this page, checked against vendor sources on September 23, 2026. Disagree or spot an error? Tell Bill
| At a glance | OnPay | Gusto |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Payroll & HR | |
| Entry price | $49 base + $6/worker/mo | From $49/mo + $6/person |
| Free plan | No — “Get Your First Month Free” trial offer, not a permanent free tier | No — free account setup, no contracts |
Neither, at the entry tier — both are $49 base + $6/worker, identical for any team size. The difference shows up once you add HR or time-tracking features: compare OnPay’s itemized add-ons against Gusto’s Plus ($80 + $12/person) or Premium ($180 + $22/person) tiers for your specific feature needs.
| Category | OnPay | Gusto |
|---|---|---|
| Entry price | $49 base + $6/worker/mo | $49 base + $6/person/mo (Simple) |
| Pricing basis | Flat base + per-worker | Flat base + per-person |
| HR add-on | $15 base + $2/worker | Bundled from Plus ($80 + $12/person) |
| Time tracking add-on | $15 base + $4/worker | Bundled from Plus |
| Live HR support | $65 flat add-on | Bundled on Premium ($180 + $22/person) |
| Free trial | First month free | No free trial; free account setup |
| Higher tiers | Add-ons, not plan tiers | Plus and Premium plans bundle more HR |
Verified September 23, 2026Prices recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page. See sources
Explore the numbers
OnPay and Gusto: plan prices side by side
Plan price: US dollars per seat per month, billing basis not stated on this page
OnPayGusto
Prices exactly as printed in the comparison table on this page (billing basis not stated on this page), in the table’s own tier order: Entry price.
What OnPay and Gusto cost per month for a team
5 seats: monthly cost = seats × the per-seat price on this page (billing basis not stated on this page)
10 seats: monthly cost = seats × the per-seat price on this page (billing basis not stated on this page)
25 seats: monthly cost = seats × the per-seat price on this page (billing basis not stated on this page)
50 seats: monthly cost = seats × the per-seat price on this page (billing basis not stated on this page)
OnPayGusto
An example, not a quote: team size times the per-seat prices printed on this page. It leaves out tax, add-ons, discounts and any plan limits. Where a plan has a minimum number of seats, the minimum is used.
List prices from this page’s own comparison table, not a quote. Plans differ in what they include.
Prices in USD from onpay.com and gusto.com, both checked September 23, 2026. OnPay uses “worker,” not “employee” or “person,” on its own pricing page; the structure (flat base plus a per-head add-on) matches Gusto’s Simple plan exactly.
Editorial assessmentBoth are full-service payroll with tax filing included, and both price the same way — a base fee plus a per-head charge — which makes them unusually easy to compare directly.
Gusto bundles more HR features into higher-priced tiers: Plus adds time tracking and next-day direct deposit, Premium adds a dedicated HR resource and compliance alerts. OnPay keeps one core plan and prices HR, time tracking and live HR support as separate, itemized add-ons at similarly structured rates, so you only pay for what you actually turn on.
Both serve general small-business payroll; check each vendor’s industry-specific features (e.g. agricultural, clergy or multi-state complexity) directly, since HelpCompare’s record does not cover every vertical difference.
Payroll history, tax filings and employee records do not transfer automatically between providers — export year-to-date payroll reports and W-2/1099 data before switching, and plan the move around a quarter or year boundary where possible so tax filings stay clean.
List prices checked September 23, 2026. Both charge a flat monthly base plus a per-worker add-on. Gusto’s Plus and Premium tiers bundle more HR features at a higher per-person rate; OnPay keeps its core plan flat and sells HR and time tracking as separate add-ons. Promotions and taxes are not included.
You want to pay only for the specific HR and time-tracking add-ons you actually need, itemized rather than bundled into a higher tier.
You want more HR features bundled into a single higher-priced plan rather than adding them one at a time, or prefer a more established brand.
Uses your selections above. Estimate excludes add-ons, overages, and negotiated discounts.
OnPay offers a first month free; Gusto offers free account setup with no contract. Run a real payroll cycle through each before committing your team’s data.
How OnPay and Gusto compare on compliance reports, sign-in controls, offline access and the setup details that matter for remote, hybrid and in-office teams. Every value links to the vendor page it came from.
| What we checked | OnPay | Gusto |
|---|---|---|
| Security & compliance | ||
| SOC 2 report | SOC 2 Type IIsource | SOC 2 reportType not stated by vendorsource |
| ISO/IEC 27001 | Not published | Not published |
| HIPAA (BAA) | Not published | BAA availableFor benefits and health-insurance datasource |
| GDPR data processing agreement | Not published | Not published |
| Single sign-on (SAML/OIDC) | Not published | Nosource |
| SCIM user provisioning | Not published | Not published |
| Two-factor authentication | Yessource | YesEnforcement: Primary admin setting; applies to admins only (plan not stated)source |
| Admin audit log | Not published | Not published |
| Data residency choices | Not published | US onlysource |
| Encryption | AES-256 at rest; TLS 1.2 in transit; hosted on AWSsource | AES-256 at rest (AWS); TLS 1.2 in transitsource |
| Self-hosting option | Not published | Not published |
| Offline access | ||
| Offline mode | Not documented | Not documented |
| Desktop apps | Not published | Not published |
| Mobile apps | iOS, Androidsource | iOS, Androidsource |
| Remote, hybrid & in-office | ||
| IP allowlisting | Not published | Not published |
| Device & session controls | Not published | Not published |
| Office & room hardware | — | Time Kiosk turns any internet-connected tablet or computer into a shared clock-in station (Plus, Premium, or Time & Attendance Plus Simple add-on).source |
At the entry tier, they’re identical: $49 base + $6 per worker or person. The price difference shows up once you add HR or time-tracking features, which OnPay itemizes and Gusto bundles into higher tiers. Prices checked September 23, 2026.
OnPay uses “worker” on its own pricing page; the structure matches Gusto’s per-person add-on exactly ($6 each).
Neither — both entry tiers (OnPay Payroll Essentials, Gusto Simple) are payroll-focused; deeper HR features are add-ons (OnPay) or higher tiers (Gusto).
OnPay offers a first month free. Gusto offers free account setup with no contract, but not a free trial period.
Step-by-step migration guides covering what transfers automatically, what doesn’t, and how to handle the gap — in both directions.
Every “best payroll and HR tool” listicle tells you why to buy. Here’s the other half: the specific conditions under which OnPay or Gusto is the wrong purchase for your team.
Buy OnPay if:
Do NOT buy OnPay if:
Buy Gusto if:
Do NOT buy Gusto if:
Every pricing fact, rating, AI billing model and switching guide we hold on each tool, on one page, with the date each figure was last verified.
Prices on this page were recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page on the date shown at the top of the page. Vendors change pricing often — check the live source before you buy.
Every figure is also in our open dataset (JSON and CSV, CC BY 4.0), with its source page and verification date. See how we research pricing.
Cite this page: HelpCompare, “OnPay vs Gusto”, helpcompare.com/onpay-vs-gusto/ (updated ).
Source links on this site are checked every month; last check . How sources are checked.
Plain-language guides: the steps, what to check before you buy, common mistakes, and every tool it takes with verified prices.
Verified prices costed for your team size, a check against your must-have requirements, the questions to settle before you sign, and a source for every figure. Print it, or paste it into an email to whoever approves the spend.
Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.