Skip to content
Start here
PAYROLL & HR · MIGRATION GUIDE

Switching from OnPay to Gusto

Gusto has no OnPay importer. Export payroll history and re-enter employee details; the entry price is identical, so this move is about features, not cost.

Bill Belcamino
Bottom line up frontby Bill Belcamino, founder of HelpCompare
Editorial assessment

Bottom line up front: What's the hard part of moving payroll from OnPay to Gusto?

Re-entering everyone correctly: Gusto has no OnPay importer, so bank details, tax withholding elections and pay rates are keyed in again for every worker.

The price only moves if your tier does, since Simple matches OnPay at $49 base plus $6/person, Plus is $80 + $12/person, and there's no free trial, only free setup. Two habits keep the re-entry safe. Never pass around a spreadsheet of bank account numbers by email; have each person confirm their own details, because payroll data is a favorite target for fraud and one mistyped digit means a missed paycheck. If you switch mid-year, load accurate year-to-date totals for every employee, because taxes with annual wage limits are calculated from those running totals and a wrong starting figure throws off withholding for the rest of the year.

My read of the verified data on this page, checked against vendor sources on September 23, 2026. Disagree or spot an error? Tell Bill

Estimate · your inputs

Switching Cost & Friction Estimator

Most buyers only budget for the new subscription. This estimates the hidden labor, data-cleanup, and retraining cost of actually making the switch.

25,000
10

Estimate assumes: 1 hour of data-mapping/cleaning labor per 2,000 records, a blended $75/hr ops rate, tiered migration & cleaning tooling fees, and 4 hours of retraining per seat at a $45/hr fully-loaded rate.

Estimated Migration Time —
Data Friction Rating —
Total Hidden Switching Cost $0

    Why teams move from OnPay to Gusto

    Bundled HR tiers

    Plus and Premium add more HR features at once.

    Established brand

    Larger user base and integration ecosystem.

    Time tracking bundled

    Included from Plus, not a separate add-on.

    How the migration actually works

    Gusto’s bundled tiers can cost more than itemizing the same features on OnPay, and it offers no free trial, only free setup.

    StepWhat you do
    1Gather payroll and tax recordsExport year-to-date payroll reports, tax filings and employee records from the old provider.
    2Sign up for GustoCreate your Gusto account and choose Simple, Plus or Premium based on the HR features you need.
    3Rebuild your pay schedule and deductionsRecreate your pay schedule, benefit deductions and any custom earnings or deduction types in the new tool.
    4Re-enter employee and contractor detailsAdd bank details, tax withholding elections and pay rates for each worker — sensitive data that never transfers automatically.
    5Run a parallel test payrollRun one payroll cycle in the new tool alongside the old one to confirm the numbers match before fully switching.
    6Cancel the old planOnce a real payroll cycle has run cleanly in the new tool, cancel the old subscription.

    What this path doesn’t do for you:

    OnPay’s itemized add-on pricing has no direct Gusto equivalent — Gusto bundles HR depth into its Plus and Premium tiers rather than pricing each feature separately.

    Pricing side by side

    PlanOnPayGusto
    Pricing basisFlat base + per-workerFlat base + per-person
    Entry price$49 base + $6/worker/mo$49 base + $6/person/mo (Simple)
    HR add-on$15 base + $2/workerFrom Plus ($80 + $12/person)
    Time tracking add-on$15 base + $4/workerFrom Plus
    Free trialFirst month freeNo, free setup only

    Prices checked on each vendor’s pricing page on September 23, 2026.

    Feature parity check

    CapabilityOnPayGusto
    Entry price$49 + $6/worker$49 + $6/person (Simple)
    HR depthItemized add-onsBundled into Plus/Premium
    Free trialFirst month freeNo, free setup only

    Going the other direction, or want the full comparison first?

    Read the OnPay vs Gusto comparison Switching from Gusto to OnPay instead?
    Verified data

    Security & access: what changes when you switch

    Security, offline and access rules that differ between OnPay and Gusto. Rows where both tools are the same (1) are left out; the full side-by-side is on each tool’s page: OnPay, Gusto.

    What changesOnPay (today)Gusto (after)
    SOC 2 reportSOC 2 Type IIsourceSOC 2 reportType not stated by vendorsource
    HIPAA (BAA)Not publishedBAA availableFor benefits and health-insurance datasource
    Single sign-on (SAML/OIDC)Not publishedNosource
    Two-factor authenticationYessourceYesEnforcement: Primary admin setting; applies to admins only (plan not stated)source
    Data residency choicesNot publishedUS onlysource
    EncryptionAES-256 at rest; TLS 1.2 in transit; hosted on AWSsourceAES-256 at rest (AWS); TLS 1.2 in transitsource
    Office & room hardware—Time Kiosk turns any internet-connected tablet or computer into a shared clock-in station (Plus, Premium, or Time & Attendance Plus Simple add-on).source

    Checked September 24, 2026 against each vendor’s own trust center, help docs and app pages. Hover or tap “source” to see the exact wording we relied on. “Not published” means we could not find the vendor saying it on its own site; it doesn’t mean the feature is missing. Plan names are the lowest plan the vendor says includes the feature. Security · Offline · Remote vs office · Download the data

    Frequently Asked Questions

    Does Gusto import OnPay data?

    No. Export payroll history and re-enter employee and tax details.

    Will it cost more?

    At the entry tier, no — both are $49 + $6/head. It depends which add-ons or bundled tier you actually need.

    Do I keep a free trial?

    No, Gusto offers free account setup but not a free trial period the way OnPay does.

    Will my tax filings carry over cleanly?

    Payroll providers don’t transfer tax-filing history automatically. Export year-to-date payroll reports and prior W-2/1099 data, and time the switch around a quarter or year boundary where possible to keep filings clean.

    Sources

    Prices on this page were recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page on the date shown at the top of the page. Vendors change pricing often — check the live source before you buy.

    Every figure is also in our open dataset (JSON and CSV, CC BY 4.0), with its source page and verification date. See how we research pricing.

    Cite this page: HelpCompare, “Switching from OnPay to Gusto”, helpcompare.com/onpay-to-gusto-migration/ (updated ).

    Source links on this site are checked every month; last check . How sources are checked.

    Start with the job

    Guides for the jobs this software does

    Plain-language guides: the steps, what to check before you buy, common mistakes, and every tool it takes with verified prices.

    Need sign-off?

    Turn this into a one-page decision brief

    Verified prices costed for your team size, a check against your must-have requirements, the questions to settle before you sign, and a source for every figure. Print it, or paste it into an email to whoever approves the spend.

    Build a decision brief

    From shortlist to switched

    Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.

    Bill Belcamino, founder of HelpCompare
    About the author

    Bill Belcamino

    Founder and author, HelpCompare

    Engineer by training, operator by experience, marketer by choice. Bill spent eight and a half years as an engineer at HP, was COO of Auctiva (the number one third-party selling platform on eBay, past 200,000 users) and ran Google’s $70M/year search syndication partnership at Alot.com. Then he spent 13 years building his own web properties with his own money at stake. He has bought, trialled, integrated and cancelled more SaaS tools than he can count, and started HelpCompare because the real cost of switching tools is the part nobody covers.

    “I’ve sat on both sides of the table: the agency recommending the tool and the client paying for it.”

    Researched and fact-checked by the HelpCompare team. Pricing on this page was last verified on September 23, 2026. No paid sponsorships, no affiliate commissions.