Skip to content
Start here
Home › Categories › Cloud Storage

Cloud Storage for Business, Compared: Verified 2026 Pricing

Side-by-side pricing for Dropbox, Google Drive, Box, Dropbox Business, Google Workspace and OneDrive: entry price, free plan, how each vendor bills for AI, and the date we last checked each figure against the vendor’s own pricing page.

Quick answer

  • Lowest published entry price: Google Drive — From $1.99/mo and OneDrive — Microsoft 365 Basic $1.99/mo (100 GB); business from $7/user/mo. Entry prices use different billing units (per seat vs per account), so compare at your team size.
  • Free plans: Dropbox (2 GB (Dropbox Basic)); Google Drive (15 GB (shared across Drive, Gmail, Photos)); OneDrive (5 GB).

Cloud Storage pricing at a glance

Every row links to the comparison where the figure was verified and to the vendor’s pricing page.

ToolEntry priceFree planAI billingG2 ratingVerifiedSource
DropboxFrom $9.99/mo2 GB (Dropbox Basic)—4.4 / 531,428 reviewsAugust 19, 2026in Dropbox vs Google DriveVendor pricing ↗
Google DriveFrom $1.99/mo15 GB (shared across Drive, Gmail, Photos)——August 19, 2026in Dropbox vs Google DriveVendor pricing ↗
BoxBusiness Starter $5/user/mo (annual, 3-user minimum, up to 10 users)No business free plan — 10 GB personal-only free tier exists separately——September 23, 2026in Box vs Dropbox BusinessVendor pricing ↗
Dropbox BusinessStandard $15/user/mo (annual), no seat minimumNo free plan for Dropbox Business — Dropbox Basic (personal, 2 GB) is a separate product——September 23, 2026in Box vs Dropbox BusinessVendor pricing ↗
Google WorkspaceBusiness Starter $7/user/mo (annual)No — 14-day free trial——September 19, 2026in Google Workspace vs Microsoft 365Vendor pricing ↗
OneDriveMicrosoft 365 Basic $1.99/mo (100 GB); business from $7/user/mo5 GB——September 25, 2026in OneDrive vs Google DriveVendor pricing ↗
Verified data

Cloud Storage: security, offline & remote work

The cloud storage tools we track, side by side on compliance, single sign-on, offline access and remote or office controls. Every value links to the vendor page it came from.

What we checkedDropboxGoogle DriveBoxDropbox BusinessGoogle WorkspaceOneDrive
Security & compliance
SOC 2 reportSOC 2 reportType not stated by vendorsourceSOC 2 Type IIsourceSOC 2 Type IIsourceSOC 2 Type IIsourceSOC 2 Type IIsourceSOC 2 Type IIsource
ISO/IEC 27001CertifiedsourceCertifiedsourceCertifiedsourceCertifiedsourceCertifiedsourceCertifiedsource
Other certificationsISO/IEC 27017, ISO/IEC 27018, ISO/IEC 27701, ISO 22301, CSA STAR Level 2, ISMAP, PCI DSS (merchant), EU Cloud Code of Conduct Level 2sourceISO/IEC 27017, ISO/IEC 27018, ISO/IEC 27701, FedRAMP, BSI C5, MTCS (Singapore)sourceISO/IEC 27017, ISO/IEC 27018, ISO/IEC 27701, FedRAMP High, DoD IL4, C5, IRAP, ISMAP, HDS, PCI DSS, HIPAA/HITECH, SOC 3, FIPS 140-2sourceISO/IEC 27017, ISO/IEC 27018, ISO/IEC 27701, ISO 22301, CSA STAR Level 2, SOC 3, ISMAPsourceNot publishedISO/IEC 27017, ISO/IEC 27018, ISO/IEC 27701source
HIPAA (BAA)BAA availableStandard / Business and abovesourceBAA availablesourceBAA availableEnterprisesourceBAA availableStandardsourceBAA availablesourceBAA availablesource
GDPR data processing agreementNot publishedDPA offeredsourceDPA offeredsourceDPA offeredsourceDPA offeredsourceDPA offeredsource
Single sign-on (SAML/OIDC)YesAdvanced / Business PlussourceYessourceYesBusinesssourceYesAdvancedsourceYesBusiness StartersourceYesBusiness Basicsource
SCIM user provisioningYesStandard / Business · automated provisioning via Microsoft Entra IDsourceNot publishedNot publishedYessourceNot publishedNot published
Two-factor authenticationYesEnforcement: All team planssourceYesEnforcement: Admins can require 2SV (edition not stated)sourceYessourceYessourceYesEnforcement: Business StartersourceYesEnforcement: All Business plans via security defaults; Conditional Access MFA policies need Entra ID P1 (Business Premium)source
Admin audit logYesStandard / BusinesssourceYesEnterprise Standard (Drive log events)sourceYessourceYesStandardsourceYesBusiness StartersourceYesBusiness Basicsource
Data residency choicesUS, Australia, EU, Japan, UKStandard / BusinesssourceUS, EUBusiness StandardsourceAustralia, Canada, EU, France, Israel, Japan, Singapore, Switzerland, UK, USEnterprise Plus (add-on)sourceUS, Australia, EU, Japan, UKStandardsourceUS, EUBusiness StandardsourceNot published
EncryptionAES-256 at rest; SSL/TLS in transitsourceAll customer data encrypted in transit; stored data encrypted at restsource256-bit AES at rest (with AES-256 key wrapping); TLS 1.2 in transitsource256-bit AES at rest; SSL/TLS in transitsourceAES-256 at rest and in transit for Drive/Docs filessourceBitLocker and per-file encryption at rest; TLS and IPsec in transitsource
Self-hosting optionNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Offline access
Offline modeWorks offlineIn the desktop app (Windows, macOS, Linux), files marked available offline can be opened and edited in local apps with no internet connection, and the mobile apps can save files for offline use. Offline changes don't sync until the device is back online.sourceWorks offlineDocs, Sheets and Slides files you've made available offline can be viewed and edited in Chrome or Edge with the Docs Offline extension, or in the Docs, Sheets and Slides mobile apps. Drive for desktop keeps mirrored and offline-marked files on the computer. Offline edits are applied once you're back online.sourceWorks offlineIn Box Drive (desktop), folders marked 'Always keep on device' are downloaded and can be edited offline; changes upload automatically when back online, and conflicting edits by collaborators must be resolved manually.sourceWorks offlineFiles and folders marked 'Make available offline' in the desktop app (and files, or whole folders on eligible plans, in the mobile app) can be opened and edited offline; changes sync to all devices automatically when you reconnect.sourceWorks offlineDocs, Sheets and Slides can be created and edited offline in Chrome or Edge once offline access and the Docs Offline extension are turned on; recently opened files are saved locally and sync when back online.sourceWorks offlineWith Files On-Demand, files marked "Always keep on this device" are stored on the computer and open without internet; files created on the device are available offline by default. On mobile, files marked offline can be read anywhere and Office files edited, with changes syncing on reconnect.source
Desktop appsWindows, macOS, LinuxsourceWindows, macOSsourceWindows, macOSsourceWindows, macOS, LinuxsourceWindows, macOSsourceWindows, macOSsource
Mobile appsiOS, AndroidsourceiOS, AndroidsourceiOS, AndroidsourceiOS, AndroidsourceiOS, AndroidsourceiOS, Androidsource
Offline limitsWhole folders offline on mobile need Plus, Family, Professional, Standard, Advanced or Enterprise; any plan can make individual files available offline.PlussourceOffline use in the browser needs Chrome or Edge with the Google Docs Offline extension and doesn't work in private browsing. On iPhone and iPad, offline editing happens in the Docs, Sheets and Slides apps.sourceAdmins control Mark for Offline: on for all managed users by default, or limited to select users (up to 100), or disabled.sourceWhole-folder offline on mobile requires Plus, Family, Professional, Standard, Advanced or Enterprise; single files can be made offline on any plan.StandardsourceOffline editing needs Chrome or Edge (not private browsing) and the Google Docs Offline extension, set up while online.sourceOnline-only files need a connection to open. On iPhone and iPad, taking whole folders offline needs a Microsoft 365 subscription.source
Remote, hybrid & in-office
IP allowlistingNot publishedYesEnterprise Standard (Context-Aware Access)sourceNot publishedNot publishedYesEnterprisesourceYesBusiness Premiumsource
Device & session controlsYesStandard / BusinessDevice approvals (limit which devices members use), remote wipe of linked computers (Business/Advanced and up), and web session control for dropbox.com sessions.sourceYesEnterprise Standard (Context-Aware Access)Context-Aware Access can limit app access by device security status, company-owned devices, encrypted storage and network location.sourceYesDevice Trust minimum requirements (OS version, antivirus, firewall, full disk encryption), device pinning, EDR-triggered session termination and device blocking, and EMM/MDM support for the mobile apps.sourceYesStandardDevice approvals let admins limit how many desktop and mobile devices each member can link (Standard and above); Dropbox help also documents remote wipe of a member's device.sourceYesBusiness StarterFundamental endpoint management on all Business editions (remote account sign-out and mobile account wipe, block devices, endpoint verification); Business Plus adds advanced mobile management and remote device wipe; Enterprise adds context-aware access and enterprise endpoint management.sourceYesBusiness PremiumBusiness Premium adds Intune Plan 1 endpoint management, Defender for Business device protection and Windows 11 Pro upgrade; Basic and Standard do not include Intune.source
Office & room hardware————Google sells Google Meet Hardware for meeting rooms as a separate add-on; room booking ('Browse and reserve conference rooms') is on all plans.source—
Editorial assessment

What this means for your team

  • Audit reports: all state a SOC 2 report on their own sites, but not the same kind: Dropbox (type not stated), Google Drive (Type II), Box (Type II), Dropbox Business (Type II), Google Workspace (Type II) and OneDrive (Type II). Dropbox, Google Drive, Box, Dropbox Business, Google Workspace and OneDrive also hold ISO/IEC 27001. A Type I report checks controls at a single point in time; a Type II report tests them over months. If your security team requires Type II, confirm it with Dropbox, and ask each vendor for the latest report under NDA.
  • Single sign-on: Dropbox includes it on Advanced / Business Plus; Google Drive includes it; Box includes it on Business; Dropbox Business includes it on Advanced; Google Workspace includes it on Business Starter; OneDrive includes it on Business Basic. If your team signs in through Okta, Microsoft Entra ID or Google, price the Dropbox, Google Drive, Box, Dropbox Business and OneDrive plans that include SSO, not their entry plans; Google Workspace includes it on the entry plan.
  • Health data: Dropbox, Google Drive, Box, Dropbox Business, Google Workspace and OneDrive will sign a HIPAA business associate agreement (Dropbox: Standard / Business and above; Box: Enterprise; Dropbox Business: Standard).
  • Working offline: Dropbox, Google Drive, Box, Dropbox Business, Google Workspace and OneDrive let you keep working without a connection. Details are in the Offline mode row above.
  • Office-only access: Google Drive can restrict sign-ins to approved IP ranges on Enterprise Standard (Context-Aware Access); Google Workspace can restrict sign-ins to approved IP ranges on Enterprise; OneDrive can restrict sign-ins to approved IP ranges on Business Premium. That suits an office network or a company VPN; fully remote teams need a VPN for it to work.
  • Where your data lives: Dropbox lets you choose US, Australia, EU, Japan, UK on Standard / Business; Google Drive lets you choose US, EU on Business Standard; Box lets you choose Australia, Canada, EU, France, Israel, Japan, Singapore, Switzerland, UK, US on Enterprise Plus (add-on); Dropbox Business lets you choose US, Australia, EU, Japan, UK on Standard; Google Workspace lets you choose US, EU on Business Standard. This matters for teams hiring across the EU, UK or Australia.
  • In the office: Google Workspace: Google sells Google Meet Hardware for meeting rooms as a separate add-on; room booking ('Browse and reserve conference rooms') is on all plans.

Dropbox: worth knowing

  • OfficeOn Enterprise, network control works with your proxy or CASB to decide which Dropbox accounts can sign in and sync on the corporate network. source
  • OfflineOffline edits on a device don't show up on your other devices until that device syncs with Dropbox again. source
  • RemoteOn mobile, offline files update only over Wi-Fi by default unless you change the setting. source
  • SecurityRemote wipe removes synced files from computers. Phones and tablets can't sync files, so for them it just signs the member out. source

Google Drive: worth knowing

  • OfflineEdits made offline are applied when you reconnect. Newer changes overwrite older ones, and earlier versions stay in version history. source
  • OfflineIf a Drive for desktop account is disconnected, streamed files that were saved offline are removed; mirrored files stay on the computer. source
  • OfficeOn Enterprise Standard and above, Context-Aware Access can block app access from outside the corporate network. source
  • RemoteWith a work account, the organization may block Drive for desktop or need to install it for users. source

Box: worth knowing

  • SecurityBox Zones (in-region data storage) is an add-on for Enterprise Plus and Enterprise Advanced, covering ten regions. source
  • RemoteFor Device Trust checks in the web app, Windows and macOS laptops must have Box Tools installed, so unmanaged home computers may be blocked. source
  • OfflineOffline edits in Box Drive upload automatically on reconnect, and Box Drive resumes pending syncs where it left off. source
  • OfficeBox Zones customers with France or Canada users had to add new Zone-specific endpoints to office firewall and proxy configurations by September 15, 2026. source

Dropbox Business: worth knowing

  • OfficeOn Enterprise, network control lets IT block personal or other-team Dropbox accounts on the corporate network via a proxy or CASB that adds custom HTTP headers. source
  • SecurityMoving a team's data to a non-US region is by support request only (10+ licenses, annual billing, billing address in another region), is reviewed case by case and can't be undone. source
  • OfflineOffline edits sync automatically across all your devices once you are back online. source
  • RemoteThe desktop app also runs on Linux (officially Ubuntu 18.04+ and Fedora 28+, 64-bit), so it suits mixed-OS remote teams. source

Google Workspace: worth knowing

  • RemoteMeet caps meetings at 100 participants on Business Starter, 150 on Standard, 500 on Plus and 1,000 on Enterprise, each up to 24 hours. source
  • OfflineOffline editing of Docs, Sheets and Slides only works in Chrome or Edge with the Docs Offline extension, so plan for that browser on laptops used in the field. source
  • SecurityA full admin data export starts no earlier than 48 hours after it is requested and typically takes 72 hours, up to 14 days. source
  • OfficeBusiness Starter, Standard and Plus are capped at 300 users; larger organisations need an Enterprise plan. source

OneDrive: worth knowing

  • OfflineOffline edits made on iPhone or iPad sync the next time the device connects, so the file stays current. source
  • OfflineOn Windows, files created on the device are available offline by default. source
  • RemoteBusiness plans let you share files inside and outside the organisation with password-protected or expiring links. source

Checked September 25, 2026 against each vendor’s own trust center, help docs and app pages. Hover or tap “source” to see the exact wording we relied on. “Not published” means we could not find the vendor saying it on its own site; it doesn’t mean the feature is missing. Plan names are the lowest plan the vendor says includes the feature. Security · Offline · Remote vs office · Download the data

Frequently asked questions

Which cloud storage tool is cheapest?

Of the 6 cloud storage tools HelpCompare tracks, the lowest published entry price belongs to Google Drive (From $1.99/mo, verified August 19, 2026) and OneDrive (Microsoft 365 Basic $1.99/mo (100 GB); business from $7/user/mo, verified September 25, 2026). Entry prices are the cheapest paid tier each vendor publishes; the right answer at your team size depends on seat minimums and add-ons, which each head-to-head comparison breaks down.

Which cloud storage tools have a free plan?

Free plans: Dropbox (2 GB (Dropbox Basic)); Google Drive (15 GB (shared across Drive, Gmail, Photos)); OneDrive (5 GB).

Where does this pricing data come from?

Every figure was recorded from the vendor's own pricing page during research for a HelpCompare comparison, and is dated. The most recent check in this category was September 25, 2026. Nothing is estimated: where a vendor publishes no price, we say so. The full dataset is free to reuse under CC BY 4.0 at helpcompare.com/data/.

Sources

Figures come from each vendor’s pricing page, recorded on the date shown. Download the full dataset from Open Data (JSON and CSV, CC BY 4.0).

Cite this page: HelpCompare, “Cloud Storage for Business, Compared: Verified 2026 Pricing”, helpcompare.com/cloud-storage/ (updated ).

Source links on this site are checked every month; last check . How sources are checked.

Start with the job

Guides for the jobs this software does

Plain-language guides: the steps, what to check before you buy, common mistakes, and every tool it takes with verified prices.

Need sign-off?

Turn this into a one-page decision brief

Verified prices costed for your team size, a check against your must-have requirements, the questions to settle before you sign, and a source for every figure. Print it, or paste it into an email to whoever approves the spend.

Build a decision brief

From shortlist to switched

Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.

Bill Belcamino, founder of HelpCompare
About the author

Bill Belcamino

Founder and author, HelpCompare

Engineer by training, operator by experience, marketer by choice. Bill spent eight and a half years as an engineer at HP, was COO of Auctiva (the number one third-party selling platform on eBay, past 200,000 users) and ran Google’s $70M/year search syndication partnership at Alot.com. Then he spent 13 years building his own web properties with his own money at stake. He has bought, trialled, integrated and cancelled more SaaS tools than he can count, and started HelpCompare because the real cost of switching tools is the part nobody covers.

“I’ve sat on both sides of the table: the agency recommending the tool and the client paying for it.”

Researched and fact-checked by the HelpCompare team. Pricing on this page was last verified on September 25, 2026. No paid sponsorships, no affiliate commissions.