The original cloud-sync pioneer vs. Google’s Workspace-native storage, compared on price, collaboration, and file recovery.
Match it to the office suite your team already writes in: Google Drive edits natively in Docs, Sheets and Slides, and Dropbox co-authoring works on Office files with an M365 license.
The headline prices are personal plans, $9.99/mo for 2 TB on Dropbox Plus and $1.99/mo for 100 GB on Google One, and business plans cost more per user. Don't let that tempt you into running company files on personal accounts. The company doesn't own those accounts, so when someone leaves, their files, share links and client folders leave with them or sit behind a password nobody has. Put the team on a business plan from day one, keep shared work in company-owned team folders, and make file handover a step in offboarding. If recovering old files matters, Dropbox Business Plus/Advanced keeps up to 365 days against about 30 days by default for non-Google files in Drive.
My read of the verified data on this page, checked against vendor sources on August 19, 2026. Disagree or spot an error? Tell Bill
| At a glance | Dropbox | Google Drive |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Cloud Storage | |
| Entry price | From $9.99/mo | From $1.99/mo |
| Free plan | 2 GB (Dropbox Basic) | 15 GB (shared across Drive, Gmail, Photos) |
Dropbox is priced at From $9.99/mo and Google Drive at From $1.99/mo. See the full breakdown below for what is included at each tier.
| Category | Dropbox | Google Drive |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan storage | 2 GB (Dropbox Basic) | 15 GB (shared across Drive, Gmail, Photos) |
| Cheapest paid plan storage | 2 TB (Dropbox Plus, $9.99/mo) | 100 GB (Google One Basic, $1.99/mo); 30GB pooled/user on Workspace Business Starter |
| Real-time collaborative editing | Co-authoring on Microsoft Office files, requires an M365 license | Native real-time multi-user editing built into Docs, Sheets, Slides |
| File recovery / version history | 30 days on Basic/Plus; up to 365 days on Business Plus/Advanced | ~30 days (or ~100 revisions) by default for non-Google file types |
| Offline sync | Smart Sync / Selective Sync for online-only or local files | Streaming or Mirroring modes via Drive for desktop |
| Third-party integrations | Slack, Zoom, Microsoft 365, Adobe, HubSpot, Salesforce | Google Workspace Marketplace plus native Gmail/Calendar/Meet integration |
Verified August 19, 2026Prices recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page. See sources
Estimate built from the published starting rate shown above (as of Sep 2026). Excludes add-ons, usage overages, and negotiated discounts.
Personal/starter plan pricing shown; business/team plans are priced per user and cost more.
Choose Dropbox if your team relies on Microsoft Office files and wants dependable cross-platform sync with granular offline/online file control.
Choose Google Drive if your team wants built-in real-time document collaboration and is already using Gmail/Calendar/Meet.
How Dropbox and Google Drive compare on compliance reports, sign-in controls, offline access and the setup details that matter for remote, hybrid and in-office teams. Every value links to the vendor page it came from.
| What we checked | Dropbox | Google Drive |
|---|---|---|
| Security & compliance | ||
| SOC 2 report | SOC 2 reportType not stated by vendorsource | SOC 2 Type IIsource |
| ISO/IEC 27001 | Certifiedsource | Certifiedsource |
| Other certifications | ISO/IEC 27017, ISO/IEC 27018, ISO/IEC 27701, ISO 22301, CSA STAR Level 2, ISMAP, PCI DSS (merchant), EU Cloud Code of Conduct Level 2source | ISO/IEC 27017, ISO/IEC 27018, ISO/IEC 27701, FedRAMP, BSI C5, MTCS (Singapore)source |
| HIPAA (BAA) | BAA availableStandard / Business and abovesource | BAA availablesource |
| GDPR data processing agreement | Not published | DPA offeredsource |
| Single sign-on (SAML/OIDC) | YesAdvanced / Business Plussource | Yessource |
| SCIM user provisioning | YesStandard / Business · automated provisioning via Microsoft Entra IDsource | Not published |
| Two-factor authentication | YesEnforcement: All team planssource | YesEnforcement: Admins can require 2SV (edition not stated)source |
| Admin audit log | YesStandard / Businesssource | YesEnterprise Standard (Drive log events)source |
| Data residency choices | US, Australia, EU, Japan, UKStandard / Businesssource | US, EUBusiness Standardsource |
| Encryption | AES-256 at rest; SSL/TLS in transitsource | All customer data encrypted in transit; stored data encrypted at restsource |
| Self-hosting option | Not published | Not published |
| Offline access | ||
| Offline mode | Works offlineIn the desktop app (Windows, macOS, Linux), files marked available offline can be opened and edited in local apps with no internet connection, and the mobile apps can save files for offline use. Offline changes don't sync until the device is back online.source | Works offlineDocs, Sheets and Slides files you've made available offline can be viewed and edited in Chrome or Edge with the Docs Offline extension, or in the Docs, Sheets and Slides mobile apps. Drive for desktop keeps mirrored and offline-marked files on the computer. Offline edits are applied once you're back online.source |
| Desktop apps | Windows, macOS, Linuxsource | Windows, macOSsource |
| Mobile apps | iOS, Androidsource | iOS, Androidsource |
| Offline limits | Whole folders offline on mobile need Plus, Family, Professional, Standard, Advanced or Enterprise; any plan can make individual files available offline.Plussource | Offline use in the browser needs Chrome or Edge with the Google Docs Offline extension and doesn't work in private browsing. On iPhone and iPad, offline editing happens in the Docs, Sheets and Slides apps.source |
| Remote, hybrid & in-office | ||
| IP allowlisting | Not published | YesEnterprise Standard (Context-Aware Access)source |
| Device & session controls | YesStandard / BusinessDevice approvals (limit which devices members use), remote wipe of linked computers (Business/Advanced and up), and web session control for dropbox.com sessions.source | YesEnterprise Standard (Context-Aware Access)Context-Aware Access can limit app access by device security status, company-owned devices, encrypted storage and network location.source |
We mapped out exactly what transfers automatically and what you will need to rebuild by hand, in both directions.
Dropbox is a cloud storage and file-sharing platform for storing, syncing, and collaborating on files.
Google Drive is Google’s cloud storage service, integrated with Docs, Sheets, and Slides for file storage and collaboration.
Dropbox starts at $9.99/mo (Dropbox Plus, 2TB individual), while Google Drive starts at $1.99/mo (Google One Basic, 100GB individual).
Dropbox: Yes — Dropbox Basic includes 2GB. Google Drive: Yes — 15GB free, shared across Drive/Gmail/Photos.
Choose Dropbox if your team relies on Microsoft Office files and wants dependable cross-platform sync with granular offline/online file control.
Choose Google Drive if your team wants built-in real-time document collaboration and is already using Gmail/Calendar/Meet.
See live pricing directly from each vendor before you decide.
Every pricing fact, rating, AI billing model and switching guide we hold on each tool, on one page, with the date each figure was last verified.
Prices on this page were recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page on the date shown at the top of the page. Vendors change pricing often — check the live source before you buy.
Every figure is also in our open dataset (JSON and CSV, CC BY 4.0), with its source page and verification date. See how we research pricing.
Cite this page: HelpCompare, “Dropbox vs Google Drive”, helpcompare.com/dropbox-vs-google-drive/ (updated ).
Source links on this site are checked every month; last check . How sources are checked.
Plain-language guides: the steps, what to check before you buy, common mistakes, and every tool it takes with verified prices.
Verified prices costed for your team size, a check against your must-have requirements, the questions to settle before you sign, and a source for every figure. Print it, or paste it into an email to whoever approves the spend.
Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.