Skip to content
Start here
CRM Platforms

Salesforce vs Zoho CRM: Which CRM Fits Your Sales Team in 2026?

Salesforce is the full enterprise platform with a genuine free tier and the largest ecosystem; Zoho CRM undercuts it at every paid tier while still offering AI, process automation and CPQ from Professional up. Here is what each actually costs.

Salesforce logoStarter Suite — $25/user/mo (billed monthly or annually)

Salesforce

VS
Zoho CRM logoStandard — $14/user/mo (annual), $20 monthly

Zoho CRM

Bill Belcamino
Bottom line up frontby Bill Belcamino, founder of HelpCompare
Editorial assessment

Bottom line up front: Is Salesforce worth paying for over Zoho CRM?

For most small and midsize teams, no: Zoho CRM is cheaper at every published tier, starting at $14 against Salesforce Starter Suite's $25.

The gap widens as you grow, with Zoho Professional at $23 and Enterprise at $40 against Salesforce's Pro Suite at $100, Core at $195 and Advanced at $395. Zoho also includes AI agents, process management and CPQ from Professional, while Salesforce's built-in AI starts at Core. What Salesforce's premium buys is AppExchange and room to grow into Service, Marketing and Commerce Cloud. So write down the integrations your team can't work without and check each one against both marketplaces, because one irreplaceable app is a better reason to pay for Salesforce than any feature list. Then price the tier you'll need at your next renewal, not the one you'd start on.

My read of the verified data on this page, checked against vendor sources on September 23, 2026. Disagree or spot an error? Tell Bill

Verified data

Salesforce vs Zoho CRM: quick facts

At a glanceSalesforceZoho CRM
CategoryCRM Platforms
Entry priceStarter Suite — $25/user/mo (billed monthly or annually)Standard — $14/user/mo (annual), $20 monthly
Free planFree Suite — $0/user/mo, core Account/Contact/Lead/Opportunity managementFree — up to 3 users

Is Salesforce cheaper than Zoho CRM?

Zoho CRM, at every tier: $14 against $25 at entry, and the gap grows fast higher up — Zoho Enterprise at $40/user/mo against Salesforce’s Core edition at $195 or Advanced at $395. Salesforce’s Free Suite (2 users) and Zoho’s Free plan (3 users) are both real free tiers, with Zoho’s covering one more seat.

Verified data

Salesforce vs Zoho CRM at a glance

CategorySalesforceZoho CRM
Entry paid priceStarter Suite $25/user/moStandard $14/user/mo (annual), $20 monthly
Free planFree Suite, $0/user, 2 usersFree, $0/user, 3 users
Mid tierPro Suite $100/user/moProfessional $23/user/mo (annual), $35 monthly
Higher tiersCore $195, Advanced $395, Max $550/user/moEnterprise $40/user/mo (annual), $50 monthly
AI featuresBuilt-in AI from Core ($195); Agentforce add-on from $125/userAI agents included from Professional
App ecosystemAppExchange — thousands of third-party appsZoho’s own suite (Zoho Books, Desk, etc.) plus a smaller marketplace
Process/CPQ toolsAvailable at higher tiersProcess management, inventory management and CPQ included from Professional
Built forEnterprises needing deep customization and scaleSMBs and mid-market wanting strong core CRM at low cost

Verified September 23, 2026Prices recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page. See sources

Prices in USD from salesforce.com/sales/pricing (checked September 23, 2026) and zoho.com/crm/zohocrm-pricing.html (checked September 17, 2026).

Editorial assessment

How they actually differ

Both are full-featured CRMs with a real free tier, but Salesforce is priced — and built — for a much larger organization than Zoho CRM typically serves.

The price ladder

Salesforce’s tiers jump sharply: from a $25 Starter Suite to $100, then $195, $395 and $550 at the top. Zoho CRM’s ladder is far gentler — $14, $23, $40 — while still adding AI agents, process management and CPQ by its Professional tier, features Salesforce reserves for its $195+ Core edition.

Where Salesforce’s price actually goes

AppExchange gives Salesforce access to thousands of specialized third-party apps, and at Core and above it bundles Tableau-integrated analytics and full Agentforce AI agents. That ecosystem and platform depth is the main reason to pay Salesforce’s premium — not the core CRM functionality itself, which Zoho covers at a much lower price.

Moving between them

Zoho CRM has a documented Salesforce data-migration path via its own migration tools. Salesforce’s standard Data Import Wizard handles CSV-based imports from Zoho, though no dedicated native Zoho connector was confirmed.

Salesforce

Pros

  • Massive AppExchange app ecosystem
  • Tableau-integrated analytics and forecasting from Core up
  • Full Agentforce AI agents at the top tier
  • Scales into Service, Marketing and Commerce Cloud

Cons

  • Far more expensive at every paid tier
  • Steep jumps between tiers ($25 to $100 to $195)
  • Free Suite covers only 2 users
  • Often needs admin expertise or a partner past Starter

Zoho CRM

Pros

  • Cheaper at every published tier, often by half or more
  • AI agents, process management and CPQ included from Professional
  • Free plan covers 3 users
  • Gentler, more predictable price ladder

Cons

  • Smaller third-party app ecosystem than AppExchange
  • Less deep enterprise-scale customization than Salesforce
  • Reporting less sophisticated than Salesforce’s Tableau integration
  • Smaller partner/consultant ecosystem for complex implementations
Verified data

Cost calculator: what does your team actually pay?

Salesforce

 
$0/mo

Zoho CRM

 
$0/mo
 

Salesforce Starter Suite and Zoho CRM Standard, both billed annually. Zoho CRM’s Free plan option is capped at 3 users; select it above to model a small team at $0. Checked September 23, 2026 (Salesforce) and September 17, 2026 (Zoho).

Choose Salesforce if…

You expect to need deep customization, AppExchange apps, or scale into Service, Marketing or Commerce Cloud, and can budget for the price jumps.

Choose Zoho CRM if…

You want strong core CRM functionality plus process automation, CPQ and AI agents at a fraction of Salesforce’s price.

Total cost over time

Uses your selections above. Estimate excludes add-ons, overages, and negotiated discounts.

Ready to pick your CRM?

Both have genuine free tiers. Load your real pipeline into each and price out the tier your team would actually need in a year, not just today.

Verified data

Salesforce vs Zoho CRM: security, offline & remote work

How Salesforce and Zoho CRM compare on compliance reports, sign-in controls, offline access and the setup details that matter for remote, hybrid and in-office teams. Every value links to the vendor page it came from.

What we checkedSalesforceZoho CRM
Security & compliance
SOC 2 reportSOC 2 reportType not stated by vendorsourceSOC 2 Type IIsource
ISO/IEC 27001CertifiedsourceCertifiedsource
Other certificationsSOC 1, SOC 3, ISO/IEC 27017, ISO/IEC 27018, PCI DSS Level 1, HITRUST CSF, C5, HDS, ENS High, ISMAP, APEC PRP, EU/UK BCR for ProcessorssourceISO/IEC 27017, ISO/IEC 27018, ISO/IEC 27701, SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 + HIPAA Type 2, PCI DSS (self-assessment SAQ-D), CSA STAR Self-Assessmentsource
HIPAA (BAA)BAA availablesourceBAA availablesource
GDPR data processing agreementDPA offeredsourceDPA offeredsource
Single sign-on (SAML/OIDC)YesAll editionssourceYessource
SCIM user provisioningYesAll editionssourceNot published
Two-factor authenticationYesEnforcement: All editionssourceYessource
Admin audit logYesEssentialssourceYessource
Data residency choicesUS, EU, UK, Canada, Australia, Japan, India, Brazil, Singapore, South Korea, Indonesia, Israel, Switzerland, South Africa, UAEsourceUS, EU, India, Australia, Japan, Canada, Saudi Arabia, UAE, Singapore, Chinasource
EncryptionTLS in transit (2048-bit RSA certificates); AES-256 on replication links between data centerssourceAES-256 at rest for sensitive data; TLS 1.2/1.3 in transit; optional field-level encryption (Enterprise and up)source
Self-hosting optionNot publishedNot published
Offline access
Offline modeWorks offlineThe Salesforce mobile app (iOS/Android) caches recent records for offline viewing and, when admins enable Offline Edit, lets users create, edit and delete records offline; pending changes sync automatically and conflicts are flagged on reconnect.sourceWorks offlineThe Zoho CRM iPhone app keeps working on data stored on the device when connectivity drops, and changes sync to the online account automatically on reconnect.source
Desktop appsNot publishedNot published
Mobile appsiOS, AndroidsourceiOS, Androidsource
Offline limitsMobile apps only (not the browser); if users don't customize their cache, it holds up to 30 recent records for their five most recent objectssource—
Remote, hybrid & in-office
IP allowlistingYesAll editions (per-profile ranges on Enterprise and up)sourceYessource
Device & session controlsYesEssentialsAdmin-set session timeout for inactive users; option to lock sessions to the originating IP address (Enterprise and up).sourceNot published
Editorial assessment

What this means for your team

  • Audit reports: both state a SOC 2 report on their own sites, but not the same kind: Salesforce (type not stated) and Zoho CRM (Type II). Salesforce and Zoho CRM also hold ISO/IEC 27001. A Type I report checks controls at a single point in time; a Type II report tests them over months. If your security team requires Type II, confirm it with Salesforce, and ask each vendor for the latest report under NDA.
  • Single sign-on: Salesforce includes it on All editions; Zoho CRM includes it. If your team signs in through Okta, Microsoft Entra ID or Google, price the Zoho CRM plan that includes SSO, not its entry plan; Salesforce includes it on the entry plan.
  • Health data: Salesforce and Zoho CRM will sign a HIPAA business associate agreement.
  • Working offline: Salesforce and Zoho CRM let you keep working without a connection. Details are in the Offline mode row above.
  • Office-only access: Salesforce can restrict sign-ins to approved IP ranges on All editions (per-profile ranges on Enterprise and up); Zoho CRM can restrict sign-ins to approved IP ranges. That suits an office network or a company VPN; fully remote teams need a VPN for it to work.
  • Where your data lives: Salesforce lets you choose US, EU, UK, Canada, Australia, Japan, India, Brazil, Singapore, South Korea, Indonesia, Israel, Switzerland, South Africa, UAE; Zoho CRM lets you choose US, EU, India, Australia, Japan, Canada, Saudi Arabia, UAE, Singapore, China. This matters for teams hiring across the EU, UK or Australia.

Salesforce: worth knowing

  • SecurityA Salesforce org's hosting region is fixed when the org is first created, chosen by the customer or an account executive from Hyperforce regions including the US, EU, UK, Canada, Australia, Japan and India. source
  • OfficeOn Professional Edition without the Edit Profiles & Page Layouts add-on, office/VPN IP ranges can only be set org-wide rather than per profile. source
  • SecuritySalesforce is enforcing MFA for direct username/password logins from summer 2026, after which the org-wide setting cannot be disabled; SSO logins follow the identity provider's MFA. source
  • OfflineField reps who go offline with an empty cache have no Salesforce data, so the mobile cache should be refreshed after each login. source

Zoho CRM: worth knowing

  • OfficeZoho CRM admins can limit logins to office IPs per user, role or group, and the restriction then also applies to every other Zoho app those users sign in to. source
  • SecurityThe Zoho datacenter (US, EU, India, Australia, Japan, Canada, Saudi Arabia, UAE, Singapore or China) is assigned from the country chosen at sign-up. source
  • SecurityZoho CRM's HIPAA settings let admins mark health-data fields and block that data from exports and API access. source

Checked September 19, 2026 against each vendor’s own trust center, help docs and app pages. Hover or tap “source” to see the exact wording we relied on. “Not published” means we could not find the vendor saying it on its own site; it doesn’t mean the feature is missing. Plan names are the lowest plan the vendor says includes the feature. Security · Offline · Remote vs office · Download the data

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Zoho CRM cheaper than Salesforce?

Yes, at every published tier — $14 against $25 at entry, with the gap widening substantially higher up (Zoho Enterprise $40 against Salesforce Core $195).

Do both have free plans?

Yes — Salesforce Free Suite covers 2 users at $0/user/mo; Zoho CRM’s Free plan covers 3 users at $0/user/mo.

Does Zoho CRM include AI features?

Yes, AI agents are included from its Professional tier ($23/user/mo). Salesforce’s built-in AI starts at its much pricier Core edition ($195/user/mo), with full Agentforce as a $125/user add-on or included at Max ($550).

Which has a bigger app ecosystem?

Salesforce, by a wide margin — AppExchange offers thousands of third-party apps, well beyond Zoho’s own marketplace and connected suite.

Migration Guides

Already decided? Here’s how to actually switch.

Step-by-step migration guides covering what transfers automatically, what doesn’t, and how to handle the gap — in both directions.

Editorial assessment

When to Buy — and When to Walk Away

Every “best CRM” listicle tells you why to buy. Here’s the other half: the specific conditions under which Salesforce or Zoho CRM is the wrong purchase for your team.

Salesforce

Buy Salesforce if:

  • You expect to need AppExchange apps or deep customization
  • You plan to scale into Service, Marketing or Commerce Cloud
  • You have budget and admin resources for the price jumps

Do NOT buy Salesforce if:

  • You want the lowest cost per seat
  • You want a gentle, predictable price ladder as you grow
  • You do not need AppExchange-level app depth

Zoho CRM

Buy Zoho CRM if:

  • You want strong core CRM at a fraction of Salesforce’s price
  • You want AI, process management and CPQ without paying enterprise rates
  • Your team is SMB or mid-market sized

Do NOT buy Zoho CRM if:

  • You need AppExchange-level third-party app depth
  • You are planning enterprise-scale customization
  • You need Tableau-level reporting and forecasting

Sources

Prices on this page were recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page on the date shown at the top of the page. Vendors change pricing often — check the live source before you buy.

Every figure is also in our open dataset (JSON and CSV, CC BY 4.0), with its source page and verification date. See how we research pricing.

Cite this page: HelpCompare, “Salesforce vs Zoho CRM”, helpcompare.com/salesforce-vs-zoho-crm/ (updated ).

Source links on this site are checked every month; last check . How sources are checked.

Start with the job

Guides for the jobs this software does

Plain-language guides: the steps, what to check before you buy, common mistakes, and every tool it takes with verified prices.

Need sign-off?

Turn this into a one-page decision brief

Verified prices costed for your team size, a check against your must-have requirements, the questions to settle before you sign, and a source for every figure. Print it, or paste it into an email to whoever approves the spend.

Build a decision brief

From shortlist to switched

Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.

Bill Belcamino, founder of HelpCompare
About the author

Bill Belcamino

Founder and author, HelpCompare

Engineer by training, operator by experience, marketer by choice. Bill spent eight and a half years as an engineer at HP, was COO of Auctiva (the number one third-party selling platform on eBay, past 200,000 users) and ran Google’s $70M/year search syndication partnership at Alot.com. Then he spent 13 years building his own web properties with his own money at stake. He has bought, trialled, integrated and cancelled more SaaS tools than he can count, and started HelpCompare because the real cost of switching tools is the part nobody covers.

“I’ve sat on both sides of the table: the agency recommending the tool and the client paying for it.”

Researched and fact-checked by the HelpCompare team. Pricing on this page was last verified on September 23, 2026. No paid sponsorships, no affiliate commissions.