Skip to content
Start here
PAYROLL & HR SOFTWARE · MIGRATION GUIDE

Switching from Rippling to Gusto

Gusto needs every payroll you ran this calendar year before it can file your taxes. Its automated history import does not support Rippling, so plan to enter prior payrolls during setup.

Quick verdict: Gusto requires your payroll history from the start of the calendar year to calculate year-to-date amounts and prepare year-end forms. Its payroll transfer automation supports QuickBooks Online, QuickBooks Desktop, ADP Run and Paychex — not Rippling — so export Rippling’s payroll reports and enter past payrolls during account setup. Gusto files from the quarter of your first Gusto check date onward; your previous provider files completed quarters.

Estimate · your inputs

Switching Cost & Friction Estimator

Most buyers only budget for the new subscription. This estimates the hidden labor, data-cleanup, and retraining cost of actually making the switch.

25,000
10

Estimate assumes: 1 hour of data-mapping/cleaning labor per 2,000 records, a blended $75/hr ops rate, tiered migration & cleaning tooling fees, and 4 hours of retraining per seat at a $45/hr fully-loaded rate.

Estimated Migration Time —
Data Friction Rating —
Total Hidden Switching Cost $0

    Why teams move from Rippling to Gusto

    Published, predictable pricing

    Gusto lists every plan (from $49/mo plus $6 per person) with no contracts.

    Simpler scope

    Small, US-focused teams often need payroll, benefits and HR rather than a full HR-IT-finance platform.

    Setup help on Premium

    Gusto Premium includes payroll migration and account setup.

    How the migration actually works

    The order matters: history first, then your first Gusto payroll.

    StepWhat you do
    1Export payroll history from RipplingDownload payroll registers, tax filings and payment records for every payroll this calendar year.
    2Create your Gusto accountGusto account setup is free; choose Simple, Plus or Premium.
    3Enter past payrolls during setupGusto’s automated upload supports only QuickBooks, ADP Run and Paychex, so enter each Rippling payroll from this year during account setup.
    4Set up deductions and contributionsHistory import does not create deductions, contributions or pay items, so add them separately.
    5Agree the tax-filing handoverGusto files for the quarter of your first Gusto check date onward; your previous provider files completed quarters. Only Gusto should file the year-end forms.
    6Run your first Gusto payrollCheck year-to-date totals against Rippling before submitting.

    What this path doesn’t do for you:

    Rippling history cannot use Gusto’s automated transfer, so budget time to enter past payrolls by hand, ideally during account setup; afterwards they are entered as non-Gusto payrolls. Deductions and contributions do not come over with history. Make sure Rippling does not file W-2s or other year-end forms after you switch.

    Pricing side by side

    PlanRipplingGusto
    FreeNoNo, free account setup
    Entry paidCore platform + products, by quoteSimple — $49/mo + $6/person
    MidBy quotePlus — $80/mo + $12/person
    TopBy quotePremium — $180/mo + $22/person

    Gusto prices from gusto.com/product/pricing; Rippling does not publish prices. Checked September 17, 2026.

    Feature parity check

    CapabilityRipplingGusto
    Published pricingNo, quote onlyYes
    ContractsNot publishedNone
    Automated history import from the otherYear-to-date import by Rippling’s teamNo, Rippling not supported
    Payroll migration helpIncluded in switching supportIncluded on Premium
    IT and device managementYesNo

    Going the other direction, or want the full comparison first?

    Read the Gusto vs Rippling comparison Switching from Gusto to Rippling instead?
    Verified data

    Security & access: what changes when you switch

    Security, offline and access rules that differ between Rippling and Gusto. Rows where both tools are the same (1) are left out; the full side-by-side is on each tool’s page: Rippling, Gusto.

    What changesRippling (today)Gusto (after)
    SOC 2 reportSOC 2 Type IIsourceSOC 2 reportType not stated by vendorsource
    ISO/IEC 27001CertifiedsourceNot published
    Other certificationsSOC 1 Type II, SOC 3, CSA STAR Level 2, ISO/IEC 27018, ISO/IEC 42001sourceNot published
    HIPAA (BAA)Not publishedBAA availableFor benefits and health-insurance datasource
    Single sign-on (SAML/OIDC)Not publishedNosource
    Two-factor authenticationNot publishedYesEnforcement: Primary admin setting; applies to admins only (plan not stated)source
    Admin audit logYessourceNot published
    Data residency choicesNot publishedUS onlysource
    EncryptionAES at rest; 256-bit TLS in transitsourceAES-256 at rest (AWS); TLS 1.2 in transitsource
    Offline modePartialOnly the Rippling time Kiosk works offline: employees can clock in and out, switch jobs, take breaks and capture photos without a connection.sourceNot documented
    Device & session controlsYesRippling IT device management (Apple and Windows MDM): remote lock and wipe, custom security policies, automated device offboarding.sourceNot published
    Office & room hardwareRippling Time & Attendance runs a Kiosk for shared clock-in and out, and the Kiosk has an offline mode.sourceTime Kiosk turns any internet-connected tablet or computer into a shared clock-in station (Plus, Premium, or Time & Attendance Plus Simple add-on).source
    Editorial assessment

    Before you cut over

    • People who rely on Rippling offline will lose that: Gusto doesn’t document an offline mode. Tell field and travelling staff before the switch.

    Checked September 19, 2026 against each vendor’s own trust center, help docs and app pages. Hover or tap “source” to see the exact wording we relied on. “Not published” means we could not find the vendor saying it on its own site; it doesn’t mean the feature is missing. Plan names are the lowest plan the vendor says includes the feature. Security · Offline · Remote vs office · Download the data

    Frequently Asked Questions

    Can Gusto import my Rippling payroll history automatically?

    No. Gusto’s payroll transfer automation supports QuickBooks Online, QuickBooks Desktop, ADP Run and Paychex. Enter Rippling payrolls during setup.

    Why does Gusto need my past payrolls?

    To calculate year-to-date amounts, file quarterly taxes and prepare year-end forms accurately.

    Who files taxes for the quarter I switch?

    Gusto files for the quarter of your first Gusto check date onward; your previous provider files completed quarters. Only Gusto should file year-end forms.

    Can I add past payrolls after setup?

    Yes, but Gusto’s automated upload is only available during onboarding; after setup, past payrolls are entered as non-Gusto payrolls. Entering history during setup is simplest.

    Sources

    Prices on this page were recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page on the date shown at the top of the page. Vendors change pricing often — check the live source before you buy.

    Every figure is also in our open dataset (JSON and CSV, CC BY 4.0), with its source page and verification date. See how we research pricing.

    Cite this page: HelpCompare, “Switching from Rippling to Gusto: A Step-by-Step Migration Guide”, helpcompare.com/rippling-to-gusto-migration/ (updated ).

    Source links on this site are checked every month; last check . How sources are checked.

    Start with the job

    Guides for the jobs this software does

    Plain-language guides: the steps, what to check before you buy, common mistakes, and every tool it takes with verified prices.

    Need sign-off?

    Turn this into a one-page decision brief

    Verified prices costed for your team size, a check against your must-have requirements, the questions to settle before you sign, and a source for every figure. Print it, or paste it into an email to whoever approves the spend.

    Build a decision brief

    From shortlist to switched

    Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.

    Bill Belcamino, founder of HelpCompare
    About the author

    Bill Belcamino

    Founder and author, HelpCompare

    Engineer by training, operator by experience, marketer by choice. Bill spent eight and a half years as an engineer at HP, was COO of Auctiva (the number one third-party selling platform on eBay, past 200,000 users) and ran Google’s $70M/year search syndication partnership at Alot.com. Then he spent 13 years building his own web properties with his own money at stake. He has bought, trialled, integrated and cancelled more SaaS tools than he can count, and started HelpCompare because the real cost of switching tools is the part nobody covers.

    “I’ve sat on both sides of the table: the agency recommending the tool and the client paying for it.”

    Researched and fact-checked by the HelpCompare team. Pricing on this page was last verified on September 17, 2026. No paid sponsorships, no affiliate commissions.