Skip to content
Start here
Home › Software Index › Gusto
Gusto logo
Payroll & HR Software

Gusto pricing

Gusto pricing: From $49/mo + $6/person. Free plan: no — free account setup, no contracts. Each figure links to the comparison it was verified in.

Entry price
From $49/mo + $6/personVerified in gusto-vs-rippling
Free plan
No free planNo — free account setup, no contracts

Everything we have verified about Gusto

Every row was recorded on a HelpCompare comparison page. The Source column links to the page it was verified on and the date it was last checked.

AttributeValueSource & date
Entry price From $49/mo + $6/person gusto-vs-rippling
Free plan No — free account setup, no contracts gusto-vs-rippling
Verified data

Gusto security, offline access & remote work

Compliance reports, sign-in controls, offline access and the setup details that matter for remote, hybrid and in-office teams. Each value links to the vendor page it came from. Gusto’s own security documentation: trust.gusto.com.

Security & compliance

SOC 2 report
SOC 2 reportType not stated by vendorsource
ISO/IEC 27001
Not published
HIPAA (BAA)
BAA availableFor benefits and health-insurance datasource
GDPR data processing agreement
Not published
Single sign-on (SAML/OIDC)
Nosource
SCIM user provisioning
Not published
Two-factor authentication
YesEnforcement: Primary admin setting; applies to admins only (plan not stated)source
Admin audit log
Not published
Data residency choices
US onlysource
Encryption
AES-256 at rest (AWS); TLS 1.2 in transitsource
Self-hosting option
Not published

Offline access

Offline mode
Not documented
Desktop apps
Not published
Mobile apps
iOS, Androidsource

Remote, hybrid & in-office

IP allowlisting
Not published
Device & session controls
Not published
Office & room hardware
Time Kiosk turns any internet-connected tablet or computer into a shared clock-in station (Plus, Premium, or Time & Attendance Plus Simple add-on).source

Gusto: worth knowing

  • OfflineGusto's Time Kiosk has no offline mode: the kiosk device must be online, so sites without Wi-Fi need a device with cellular data. source
  • OfficeTime Kiosk is limited to Plus, Premium, or Time & Attendance Plus Simple add-on customers who use Time Tracking. source
  • RemoteOn Plus and Premium, provisioning apps grant or remove team members' access to tools like Slack or Zoom from Gusto. source
  • SecurityGusto's SOC 1 and SOC 2 reports are updated annually and available through its Trust Center under NDA; the SOC 2 type is not stated on the security page. source

Checked September 19, 2026 against each vendor’s own trust center, help docs and app pages. Hover or tap “source” to see the exact wording we relied on. “Not published” means we could not find the vendor saying it on its own site; it doesn’t mean the feature is missing. Plan names are the lowest plan the vendor says includes the feature. Security · Offline · Remote vs office · Download the data

Gusto in context

How Gusto connects to the rest of the software we track — head-to-head research, switching paths, and the closest alternatives in its category.

Switching away from Gusto

What transfers, what you rebuild by hand, and what to budget.

Switching to Gusto

Moving in from another platform.

Alternatives in Payroll & HR Software

Other tools we track in the same category, with their entry price.

Where this data comes from

HelpCompare records pricing and feature data from vendor pricing pages and documentation at the time each comparison is researched, then re-checks it on a published schedule. This entity page is generated from those records — it does not introduce any figure that has not already been verified on a comparison page.

  • Vendor pricing and documentation — gusto.com, checked September 17, 2026.
  • HelpCompare research — 2 comparison pages listed above, each with its own verification date.
  • G2 — aggregate rating and review count (none recorded for this tool). Review counts change daily; treat them as a snapshot.
  • Machine-readable copy — /data/tools.json, /data/tools.csv, and the open data hub.
Prices change often and vendors do not always announce it. Every figure here carries the date it was last checked — confirm current pricing with the vendor before you buy. If you find something out of date, the comparison page it came from is linked in the table above.
Start with the job

Guides for the jobs this software does

Plain-language guides: the steps, what to check before you buy, common mistakes, and every tool it takes with verified prices.

Need sign-off?

Turn this into a one-page decision brief

Verified prices costed for your team size, a check against your must-have requirements, the questions to settle before you sign, and a source for every figure. Print it, or paste it into an email to whoever approves the spend.

Build a decision brief

From shortlist to switched

Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.

Bill Belcamino, founder of HelpCompare
About the author

Bill Belcamino

Founder and author, HelpCompare

Engineer by training, operator by experience, marketer by choice. Bill spent eight and a half years as an engineer at HP, was COO of Auctiva (the number one third-party selling platform on eBay, past 200,000 users) and ran Google’s $70M/year search syndication partnership at Alot.com. Then he spent 13 years building his own web properties with his own money at stake. He has bought, trialled, integrated and cancelled more SaaS tools than he can count, and started HelpCompare because the real cost of switching tools is the part nobody covers.

“I’ve sat on both sides of the table: the agency recommending the tool and the client paying for it.”

Researched and fact-checked by the HelpCompare team. No paid sponsorships, no affiliate commissions.