Transparent, published payroll pricing against a modular platform you can only price through a quote. Here is what that difference means for your budget and your switch.
Choose Gusto if you are a small or mid-sized US business that wants payroll, benefits and HR at published prices; choose Rippling if you want payroll, HR, IT and finance on one platform or pay people internationally. Gusto starts at $49/mo plus $6 per person with no contracts. Rippling publishes no prices: you buy a required core platform plus products by quote.
| At a glance | Gusto | Rippling |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Payroll & HR Software | |
| Entry price | From $49/mo + $6/person | Custom quote only |
| Free plan | No, free account setup, no contracts | No |
We cannot say from published pricing, because Rippling does not publish any. Gusto costs $49/mo plus $6 per person on Simple, $80/mo plus $12 per person on Plus, and $180/mo plus $22 per person on Premium, so a 20-person company pays $169, $320 or $620 a month. Rippling prices by quote: it requires the core Rippling Platform, and each product (Payroll, Benefits, Expenses, Device Management and more) is added separately.
| Category | Gusto | Rippling |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing published? | Yes, every plan | No, custom quote only |
| Entry plan | Simple — $49/mo + $6/mo per person (single-state payroll) | Core Rippling Platform (required) plus chosen products, by quote |
| Mid plan | Plus — $80/mo + $12/mo per person (multi-state payroll, next-day pay, time tracking) | By quote |
| Top plan | Premium — $180/mo + $22/mo per person (dedicated service advisor, HR experts) | By quote |
| Owner-only payroll | Solo — $49/mo + $6/mo per person | Not separately listed |
| Contracts | None — switch or cancel anytime | Not published |
| Product scope | Payroll, benefits, HR, time tracking | HR, payroll, benefits, IT (identity and devices), finance (expenses, cards, bill pay), global payroll and EOR |
| Switching mid-year | Supported; automated history import only from QuickBooks, ADP Run and Paychex | Supported; Rippling imports year-to-date payroll from your previous provider |
Verified September 17, 2026Prices recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page. See sources
Gusto prices from gusto.com/product/pricing; Rippling details from rippling.com/pricing. Both checked September 17, 2026.
Editorial assessmentThis is less a feature comparison than a buying-model comparison. Gusto sells three published payroll-and-HR plans with a base fee plus a per-person fee, no contracts and free account setup. Rippling sells a platform: a required core, then separately priced products across HR, IT and finance, all by quote.
Gusto’s Simple plan covers single-state payroll with unlimited payroll runs and tax filings. Plus adds multi-state payroll, next-day pay and time tracking; Premium adds a dedicated service advisor, certified HR experts, performance management, custom reports, priority support, and payroll migration and account setup. State tax registration and global contractor payments are add-ons.
Rippling’s appeal is breadth: payroll, benefits and HR alongside identity and device management, expenses, corporate cards, bill pay, and global payroll and employer-of-record services, all on one employee record. That breadth is why pricing depends on which products you buy, and why you should get a written quote for the exact modules you need before comparing.
Gusto estimate uses list prices published on gusto.com, checked September 17, 2026, and excludes add-ons and benefits premiums. Rippling does not publish prices, so no Rippling figure is shown.
You are a small or mid-sized US business that wants payroll, benefits and HR with published prices, no contracts and fast setup.
You want payroll, HR, IT and finance on one platform (or you pay people internationally), and you are prepared to get a quote for the modules you need.
Uses your selections above. Estimate excludes add-ons, overages, and negotiated discounts.
Gusto publishes its prices; Rippling requires a quote. Get Rippling’s quote for your exact modules before you compare.
How Gusto and Rippling compare on compliance reports, sign-in controls, offline access and the setup details that matter for remote, hybrid and in-office teams. Every value links to the vendor page it came from.
| What we checked | Gusto | Rippling |
|---|---|---|
| Security & compliance | ||
| SOC 2 report | SOC 2 reportType not stated by vendorsource | SOC 2 Type IIsource |
| ISO/IEC 27001 | Not published | Certifiedsource |
| Other certifications | Not published | SOC 1 Type II, SOC 3, CSA STAR Level 2, ISO/IEC 27018, ISO/IEC 42001source |
| HIPAA (BAA) | BAA availableFor benefits and health-insurance datasource | Not published |
| GDPR data processing agreement | Not published | Not published |
| Single sign-on (SAML/OIDC) | Nosource | Not published |
| SCIM user provisioning | Not published | Not published |
| Two-factor authentication | YesEnforcement: Primary admin setting; applies to admins only (plan not stated)source | Not published |
| Admin audit log | Not published | Yessource |
| Data residency choices | US onlysource | Not published |
| Encryption | AES-256 at rest (AWS); TLS 1.2 in transitsource | AES at rest; 256-bit TLS in transitsource |
| Self-hosting option | Not published | Not published |
| Offline access | ||
| Offline mode | Not documented | PartialOnly the Rippling time Kiosk works offline: employees can clock in and out, switch jobs, take breaks and capture photos without a connection.source |
| Desktop apps | Not published | Not published |
| Mobile apps | iOS, Androidsource | iOS, Androidsource |
| Remote, hybrid & in-office | ||
| IP allowlisting | Not published | Not published |
| Device & session controls | Not published | YesRippling IT device management (Apple and Windows MDM): remote lock and wipe, custom security policies, automated device offboarding.source |
| Office & room hardware | Time Kiosk turns any internet-connected tablet or computer into a shared clock-in station (Plus, Premium, or Time & Attendance Plus Simple add-on).source | Rippling Time & Attendance runs a Kiosk for shared clock-in and out, and the Kiosk has an offline mode.source |
Simple is $49/mo plus $6/mo per person, Plus is $80/mo plus $12/mo per person, and Premium is $180/mo plus $22/mo per person. A Solo plan for owner-only payroll is $49/mo plus $6/mo per person.
Rippling does not publish prices. You request a quote; pricing depends on the products you buy on top of the required core Rippling Platform.
No. Gusto advertises no contracts, free account setup, and the ability to switch or cancel anytime.
Yes, with either. Rippling says it picks up payroll where your previous provider left off and imports year-to-date payroll. Gusto needs your payroll history from the start of the calendar year; its automated import supports QuickBooks, ADP Run and Paychex, so history from other providers is entered during setup.
Rippling, which offers global payroll and employer-of-record services. Gusto offers global contractor payments as an add-on.
Step-by-step migration guides covering what transfers automatically, what doesn’t, and how to handle the gap, in both directions.
Every “best payroll platform” listicle tells you why to buy. Here’s the other half: the specific conditions under which Gusto or Rippling is the wrong purchase for your team.
Buy Gusto if:
Do NOT buy Gusto if:
Buy Rippling if:
Do NOT buy Rippling if:
Every pricing fact, rating, AI billing model and switching guide we hold on each tool, on one page, with the date each figure was last verified.
Prices on this page were recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page on the date shown at the top of the page. Vendors change pricing often — check the live source before you buy.
Every figure is also in our open dataset (JSON and CSV, CC BY 4.0), with its source page and verification date. See how we research pricing.
Cite this page: HelpCompare, “Gusto vs Rippling: Which Payroll and HR Platform Should You Choose in 2026?”, helpcompare.com/gusto-vs-rippling/ (updated ).
Source links on this site are checked every month; last check . How sources are checked.
Plain-language guides: the steps, what to check before you buy, common mistakes, and every tool it takes with verified prices.
Verified prices costed for your team size, a check against your must-have requirements, the questions to settle before you sign, and a source for every figure. Print it, or paste it into an email to whoever approves the spend.
Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.