A landing page is a single page built for one campaign and one action, such as signing up, booking a call or buying. You can build it with a website builder, with the page tools inside a marketing automation platform, or with a plugin or app on the site platform you already use. The right choice depends on where your site already lives and where the leads from the page need to go.
Usually not: build the page in your marketing platform if the leads feed an email list or CRM, or in your website builder if it has to sit on your own domain.
Both routes have free options: Wix and WordPress among the website builders we track (Squarespace is from $19/mo, billed annually), and HubSpot, Klaviyo and Mailchimp among the marketing platforms. I spent years buying paid traffic with my own money, and two habits separate pages that pay from pages that don't. First, match the page to the ad or email that sends people there, same offer and same words in the headline, because a visitor who doesn't instantly see what they clicked on leaves. Second, tag every campaign link with UTM parameters and pass the source into a hidden form field, so each lead in your CRM records which campaign produced it. Without that, you can't tell which campaign to cut.
My read of the verified data on this page, checked against vendor sources on September 23, 2026. Disagree or spot an error? Tell Bill
Which categories a job needs is Editorial assessment; the tools, prices and dates are Verified data.
Prices are each vendor’s published entry plan, recorded from its own pricing page and dated. The example column prices a team of 10: only per-user prices are multiplied; flat and per-account prices are shown as published. Change the team size in the finder.
A website builder gets a professional site live without hiring a developer.
| Tool | Entry price (as published) | Billing unit | Example: team of 10 | Free plan | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wix | Free (Wix branding); paid plans from $17/mo (Light, annual) for a custom domain | Not stated in our record | From $17/moAs published; our record does not say if this is per user or per account | YesYes — Wix branding; a custom domain needs a paid plan | Sep 12, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Squarespace | From $19/mo | Per site per month, billed annually | $19/moFlat per site per month, billed annually; includes 2 logins, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | NoNo free plan — 14-day trial only | Aug 26, 2026Vendor pricing |
| WordPress | Free software; hosting, themes and plugins cost extra | Not stated in our record | $0 to startFree software; hosting, themes and plugins cost extra | YesYes — the software is free; hosting, themes and plugins cost extra | Sep 12, 2026Vendor pricing |
Marketing automation runs follow-up emails and nurture campaigns without manual sending.
| Tool | Entry price (as published) | Billing unit | Example: team of 10 | Free plan | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ActiveCampaign | From $15/mo (1,000 contacts) | Per account per month, billed annually (1,000 contacts) | $15/moFlat per account per month, billed annually (1,000 contacts); includes 1 login, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | NoNo free plan — trial available | Sep 14, 2026Vendor pricing |
| HubSpot | Free tier, from $20/seat/mo (Starter; $7/seat/mo new-customer promo, limited time) | Per seat | $200/mo$20 × 10 seats | YesYes — free CRM for up to 2 users, no card required | Sep 23, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Klaviyo | From $20/mo | Per account per month, priced by active profiles | $20/moFlat per account per month, priced by active profiles | Yes250 active profiles / 500 emails + $5 of SMS/MMS credit per month | Aug 11, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Mailchimp | From $13/mo | Per account per month (up to 500 contacts) | $13/moFlat per account per month (up to 500 contacts); includes 3 logins, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | Yes250 contacts / 500 sends per month | Sep 18, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Keap | Starting at $299/mo | Per account per month; extra users $39/month each | $299/moFlat per account per month; extra users $39/month each; includes 2 logins, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | NoNo free plan — limited free trial (no card required; 25 email sends, no payments or texts) | Sep 14, 2026Vendor pricing |
Design tools turn templates and AI into finished graphics, presentations and video for marketing, or into product and website designs.
| Tool | Entry price (as published) | Billing unit | Example: team of 10 | Free plan | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canva | Free plan; Business $20.83/user/mo ($250/year) or $25 monthly; Pro $12/mo for 1 person | Per user | $208.30/mo$20.83 × 10 users; the $12/mo plan is for 1 person only | YesYes — Canva Free, 1 person, 5 GB | Sep 19, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Adobe Express | Free plan; Teams $7.99/user/mo (annual, 2-seat min); Premium $9.99/mo for 1 person | Per user | $79.90/mo$7.99 × 10 users; the $9.99/mo plan is for 1 person only | YesYes — Adobe Express Free, no card | Sep 19, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Figma | Free Starter; Professional Full $16/seat/mo (annual), $20 monthly; Collab $3 | Per seat | $160/mo$16 × 10 seats | YesYes — Starter, 3 design files | Sep 19, 2026Vendor pricing |
Of the 3 website builder tools we track, Wix and WordPress list a free plan or free tier (limits are in the table above); Squarespace does not. Of the 5 marketing automation tools we track, HubSpot, Klaviyo and Mailchimp list a free plan or free tier (limits are in the table above); ActiveCampaign and Keap do not. Free plans often limit pages, visitors or custom domains, so check those limits against your campaign before you rely on one.
If your site already runs on a platform like WordPress or Shopify, building pages there keeps them on your domain and avoids another bill. A separate builder can make sense if marketing needs to publish pages without touching the main site. Decide based on who edits pages and where leads need to go.
It is a builder that drafts a page layout and copy from a short description. It can speed up a first draft, but you still need to check every claim, price and offer on the page before it goes live.
It depends on the tool and how many pages, visitors and contacts you need. The table above shows each tool's verified entry price and billing unit.
We start from the job, not the product. The phrasings people search for this job (for example “landing page builder”) come from our research into how small and mid-size teams describe it. Which software categories the job takes is our editorial judgment. Every tool, entry price, billing unit and date comes from HelpCompare’s open dataset, recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page; nothing is estimated, and where a vendor publishes no price we say so. We take no affiliate commissions and publish no scores of our own. See our methodology or download the data from Open Data.
Cite this page: HelpCompare, “How to pick a landing page builder for your campaigns”, helpcompare.com/start/build-landing-pages/ (updated ).
Source links on this site are checked every month; last check . How sources are checked.
Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.