ActiveCampaign leans into deep automation and a built-in CRM; Mailchimp leans into simple, template-driven campaigns with the more generous free plan. Here is what each actually costs at the entry tier.
Mailchimp fits a small team sending simple campaigns, and ActiveCampaign fits one person who needs real automation and a CRM in the same tool.
The $2 price gap is misleading, because Mailchimp's $13/mo Essentials covers 500 contacts while ActiveCampaign's $15/mo Starter covers 1,000, so compare them at your actual list size. The bigger split is seats: Essentials includes 3, Starter caps at 1 user, and Mailchimp automation stops at 4 steps. Don't solve a 1-seat cap by sharing one login. A shared password means no record of who sent what, and when someone leaves you're changing credentials and hoping nobody saved them, which is a security gap on a tool that holds your whole customer list. If more than one person touches campaigns, price ActiveCampaign Plus with its 3 users, or accept Mailchimp's shallower automation.
My read of the verified data on this page, checked against vendor sources on September 23, 2026. Disagree or spot an error? Tell Bill
| At a glance | ActiveCampaign | Mailchimp |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Marketing Automation | |
| Entry price | Starter — From $15/mo (1,000 contacts, 1 user) | Essentials — From $13/mo (500 contacts, 3 seats) |
| Free plan | No free plan — 14-day free trial, no card required | Free — 250 contacts, 500 sends/mo (250/day), 1 seat |
Mailchimp, by $2 a month at the entry tier: $13/mo (500 contacts, 3 seats included) against ActiveCampaign Starter’s $15/mo (1,000 contacts, 1 user). Mailchimp also has a real free plan (250 contacts); ActiveCampaign has none, only a 14-day trial.
| Category | ActiveCampaign | Mailchimp |
|---|---|---|
| Entry price | Starter $15/mo (1,000 contacts, 1 user) | Essentials $13/mo (500 contacts, 3 seats) |
| Free plan | None — 14-day trial only | 250 contacts, 500 sends/mo |
| CRM included | Yes, standard CRM & ecommerce integrations | Basic contact records, not a full CRM |
| Automation depth | 15 active automation goals, 5 actions/automation on Starter | Up to 4 automation steps on Essentials |
| Users included | 1 (Starter), 3 (Plus), 5 (Enterprise) | 3 (Essentials), 5 (Standard), unlimited (Premium) |
| Contact migration | Free migration service on all plans | Premium Migration Services, Premium tier only |
| AI features | Active Intelligence (limits apply on Starter) | Generative AI on Standard and Premium, not Essentials |
Verified September 23, 2026Prices recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page. See sources
Prices in USD from activecampaign.com/pricing and mailchimp.com/pricing, both checked September 23, 2026.
Editorial assessmentBoth send automated email campaigns to a contact list, but ActiveCampaign goes further into CRM and automation depth, while Mailchimp stays focused on campaign design and sending.
ActiveCampaign Starter includes a standard CRM and ecommerce integrations plus 15 active automation goals — meaningfully deeper than Mailchimp Essentials’ 4-step automation cap and lighter contact records. That depth is why ActiveCampaign costs more even though its included-seats count (1) is lower than Mailchimp’s (3).
Mailchimp’s free plan (250 contacts, 500 sends/mo) is a real, permanent option; ActiveCampaign offers no free plan, only a 14-day trial. Mailchimp Essentials also includes 3 seats against ActiveCampaign Starter’s 1, which matters for any team bigger than a single marketer.
ActiveCampaign advertises a free contact-migration service on every plan, making a move onto it easier than the reverse. Mailchimp’s migration service is named “Premium Migration Services” and is only available to Premium-tier customers, not Essentials or Standard.
Both figures are each vendor’s flat entry-tier price (ActiveCampaign Starter up to 1,000 contacts; Mailchimp Essentials up to 500 contacts) and do not scale with the number entered above. The price shown is each vendor’s entry-tier flat rate at its lowest contact tier; all three vendors raise the price as your contact or profile count grows past that tier — check each vendor’s own pricing page for your list size. Checked September 23, 2026.
You want marketing automation paired with a light CRM and deeper automation logic, and 1 user covers your team at the entry tier.
You want the cheapest entry price, a genuinely free plan to start on, or more than 1 seat included without upgrading.
Uses your selections above. Estimate excludes add-ons, overages, and negotiated discounts.
Mailchimp’s free plan costs nothing to try; ActiveCampaign offers a 14-day trial. Build one real automation in each before committing your list.
How ActiveCampaign and Mailchimp compare on compliance reports, sign-in controls, offline access and the setup details that matter for remote, hybrid and in-office teams. Every value links to the vendor page it came from.
| What we checked | ActiveCampaign | Mailchimp |
|---|---|---|
| Security & compliance | ||
| SOC 2 report | SOC 2 Type IIsource | SOC 2 reportType not stated by vendorsource |
| ISO/IEC 27001 | Not published | Certifiedsource |
| HIPAA (BAA) | BAA availableEnterprisesource | Not published |
| GDPR data processing agreement | DPA offeredsource | DPA offeredsource |
| Single sign-on (SAML/OIDC) | YesEnterprisesource | Not published |
| SCIM user provisioning | Not published | Not published |
| Two-factor authentication | YesEnforcement: Startersource | YesEnforcement: Any multi-user plan (automatic once an Owner or Admin enables 2FA)source |
| Admin audit log | Not published | Not published |
| Data residency choices | US, EU, APACsource | US onlysource |
| Encryption | Not published | TLS 1.2+ in transit; at-rest encryption not statedsource |
| Self-hosting option | Not published | Not published |
| Offline access | ||
| Offline mode | PartialThe Forms for iPad app can collect form sign-ups offline and adds them to the account once back online; the main ActiveCampaign mobile app needs an internet connection.source | Not documented |
| Desktop apps | Not published | Not published |
| Mobile apps | iOS, Androidsource | iOS, Androidsource |
| Remote, hybrid & in-office | ||
| IP allowlisting | Not published | Not published |
| Device & session controls | YesIdle-session timeout with customizable session length; MFA required to use the mobile app.source | Not published |
Yes, by $2 a month at the entry tier: $13/mo against ActiveCampaign Starter’s $15/mo.
No — it offers a 14-day free trial only. Mailchimp has a permanent free plan for up to 250 contacts.
ActiveCampaign — Starter includes a standard CRM and ecommerce integrations, while Mailchimp’s contact records are lighter and not a full CRM replacement.
ActiveCampaign Starter includes 1 user; Mailchimp Essentials includes 3.
Step-by-step migration guides covering what transfers automatically, what doesn’t, and how to handle the gap — in both directions.
Every “best email marketing platform” listicle tells you why to buy. Here’s the other half: the specific conditions under which ActiveCampaign or Mailchimp is the wrong purchase for your team.
Buy ActiveCampaign if:
Do NOT buy ActiveCampaign if:
Buy Mailchimp if:
Do NOT buy Mailchimp if:
Every pricing fact, rating, AI billing model and switching guide we hold on each tool, on one page, with the date each figure was last verified.
Prices on this page were recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page on the date shown at the top of the page. Vendors change pricing often — check the live source before you buy.
Every figure is also in our open dataset (JSON and CSV, CC BY 4.0), with its source page and verification date. See how we research pricing.
Cite this page: HelpCompare, “ActiveCampaign vs Mailchimp”, helpcompare.com/activecampaign-vs-mailchimp/ (updated ).
Source links on this site are checked every month; last check . How sources are checked.
Plain-language guides: the steps, what to check before you buy, common mistakes, and every tool it takes with verified prices.
Verified prices costed for your team size, a check against your must-have requirements, the questions to settle before you sign, and a source for every figure. Print it, or paste it into an email to whoever approves the spend.
Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.