Skip to content
Start here
MARKETING AUTOMATION · MIGRATION GUIDE

Switching from Mailchimp to ActiveCampaign

ActiveCampaign offers a free contact-migration service on every plan, one of the more supported paths in this category.

Bill Belcamino
Bottom line up frontby Bill Belcamino, founder of HelpCompare
Editorial assessment

Bottom line up front: Is it worth leaving Mailchimp for ActiveCampaign?

It is once your automations outgrow Mailchimp's 4-step cap or you want a standard CRM next to your email, as long as 1 user covers you on Starter.

Starter is $15/mo for 1,000 contacts against Essentials at $13/mo for 500, and ActiveCampaign's free contact-migration service moves the list. The step people skip is bringing the people you must not email. Export your unsubscribed, bounced and complained addresses along with your active subscribers, and load them as suppressed in ActiveCampaign. Mail an unsubscribed contact from the new account and you've broken their opt-out, which is a compliance problem and a fast way to rack up complaints that hurt your inbox placement. Only after the suppression list is in should you import active contacts and switch your signup forms.

My read of the verified data on this page, checked against vendor sources on September 23, 2026. Disagree or spot an error? Tell Bill

Estimate · your inputs

Switching Cost & Friction Estimator

Most buyers only budget for the new subscription. This estimates the hidden labor, data-cleanup, and retraining cost of actually making the switch.

25,000
10

Estimate assumes: 1 hour of data-mapping/cleaning labor per 2,000 records, a blended $75/hr ops rate, tiered migration & cleaning tooling fees, and 4 hours of retraining per seat at a $45/hr fully-loaded rate.

Estimated Migration Time —
Data Friction Rating —
Total Hidden Switching Cost $0

    Why teams move from Mailchimp to ActiveCampaign

    Standard CRM included

    A feature Mailchimp Essentials does not offer.

    Deeper automation

    15 active goals, 5 actions/automation vs. Mailchimp’s 4-step cap.

    Free migration service

    Included on every ActiveCampaign plan.

    How the migration actually works

    ActiveCampaign Starter caps at 1 user (Mailchimp Essentials includes 3) and has no free plan.

    StepWhat you do
    1Export your contact listExport contacts, tags and segments as CSV from the old tool.
    2Create your ActiveCampaign accountCreate your ActiveCampaign account and use its free contact-migration service, or import your list as CSV.
    3Rebuild automations in ActiveCampaign’s builderRecreate your automation logic using ActiveCampaign’s automation builder, and set up basic CRM/deal tracking if you plan to use it.
    4Rebuild automationsRecreate email sequences, triggers and automation rules by hand — these do not transfer automatically.
    5Reconnect integrationsReconnect your website forms, e-commerce store or CRM sync to the new tool.
    6Run a real send before cancellingSend one real campaign through the new tool and confirm deliverability before cancelling the old plan.

    What this path doesn’t do for you:

    Mailchimp’s permanent free plan and 3 included seats have no ActiveCampaign equivalent — ActiveCampaign offers only a 14-day trial and caps Starter at 1 user.

    Pricing side by side

    PlanMailchimpActiveCampaign
    Pricing basisPer contact tier, account-widePer contact tier, account-wide
    Entry priceEssentials $13/mo (500 contacts)Starter $15/mo (1,000 contacts)
    CRMBasic contact recordsStandard CRM included
    Free plan250 contactsNone, 14-day trial

    Standard list prices checked on each vendor’s pricing page on September 23, 2026. HubSpot price is the $20/seat standing rate, not its current new-customer promo.

    Feature parity check

    CapabilityMailchimpActiveCampaign
    Automation4 steps max (Essentials)15 goals, 5 actions/automation
    CRMBasic contact recordsIncluded
    Price$13/mo$15/mo
    Free plan250 contactsNone, 14-day trial
    Verified data

    Security & access: what changes when you switch

    Security, offline and access rules that differ between Mailchimp and ActiveCampaign. Rows where both tools are the same (2) are left out; the full side-by-side is on each tool’s page: Mailchimp, ActiveCampaign.

    What changesMailchimp (today)ActiveCampaign (after)
    SOC 2 reportSOC 2 reportType not stated by vendorsourceSOC 2 Type IIsource
    ISO/IEC 27001CertifiedsourceNot published
    HIPAA (BAA)Not publishedBAA availableEnterprisesource
    Single sign-on (SAML/OIDC)Not publishedYesEnterprisesource
    Two-factor authenticationYesEnforcement: Any multi-user plan (automatic once an Owner or Admin enables 2FA)sourceYesEnforcement: Startersource
    Data residency choicesUS onlysourceUS, EU, APACsource
    EncryptionTLS 1.2+ in transit; at-rest encryption not statedsourceNot published
    Offline modeNot documentedPartialThe Forms for iPad app can collect form sign-ups offline and adds them to the account once back online; the main ActiveCampaign mobile app needs an internet connection.source
    Device & session controlsNot publishedYesIdle-session timeout with customizable session length; MFA required to use the mobile app.source
    Editorial assessment

    Before you cut over

    • Set up single sign-on in ActiveCampaign on Enterprise before you invite the team, so accounts are created through your identity provider rather than by hand.
    • ActiveCampaign adds offline access (partial): install the mobile app for staff who work on the move.

    Checked September 19, 2026 against each vendor’s own trust center, help docs and app pages. Hover or tap “source” to see the exact wording we relied on. “Not published” means we could not find the vendor saying it on its own site; it doesn’t mean the feature is missing. Plan names are the lowest plan the vendor says includes the feature. Security · Offline · Remote vs office · Download the data

    Frequently Asked Questions

    Does ActiveCampaign import Mailchimp contacts?

    Yes, through its free contact-migration service available on every plan, or by CSV import.

    Will it cost more?

    Slightly, $2/mo, but you gain a standard CRM and deeper automation.

    Do I lose seats?

    Yes — ActiveCampaign Starter includes only 1 user against Mailchimp Essentials’ 3; upgrade to Plus for more.

    Do my automations and workflows carry over?

    No. Automation logic, workflows and segmentation rules are specific to each platform’s builder and are rebuilt by hand in the new tool; only contact data moves via export/import.

    Sources

    Prices on this page were recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page on the date shown at the top of the page. Vendors change pricing often — check the live source before you buy.

    Every figure is also in our open dataset (JSON and CSV, CC BY 4.0), with its source page and verification date. See how we research pricing.

    Cite this page: HelpCompare, “Switching from Mailchimp to ActiveCampaign”, helpcompare.com/mailchimp-to-activecampaign-migration/ (updated ).

    Source links on this site are checked every month; last check . How sources are checked.

    Start with the job

    Guides for the jobs this software does

    Plain-language guides: the steps, what to check before you buy, common mistakes, and every tool it takes with verified prices.

    Need sign-off?

    Turn this into a one-page decision brief

    Verified prices costed for your team size, a check against your must-have requirements, the questions to settle before you sign, and a source for every figure. Print it, or paste it into an email to whoever approves the spend.

    Build a decision brief

    From shortlist to switched

    Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.

    Bill Belcamino, founder of HelpCompare
    About the author

    Bill Belcamino

    Founder and author, HelpCompare

    Engineer by training, operator by experience, marketer by choice. Bill spent eight and a half years as an engineer at HP, was COO of Auctiva (the number one third-party selling platform on eBay, past 200,000 users) and ran Google’s $70M/year search syndication partnership at Alot.com. Then he spent 13 years building his own web properties with his own money at stake. He has bought, trialled, integrated and cancelled more SaaS tools than he can count, and started HelpCompare because the real cost of switching tools is the part nobody covers.

    “I’ve sat on both sides of the table: the agency recommending the tool and the client paying for it.”

    Researched and fact-checked by the HelpCompare team. Pricing on this page was last verified on September 23, 2026. No paid sponsorships, no affiliate commissions.