Skip to content
Start here
EMAIL MARKETING · MIGRATION GUIDE

Switching from beehiiv to Mailchimp

Mailchimp has no beehiiv importer, but beehiiv exports subscribers and posts as CSV. Import subscribers into one Mailchimp audience, keeping unsubscribes suppressed.

Bill Belcamino
Bottom line up frontby Bill Belcamino, founder of HelpCompare
Editorial assessment

Bottom line up front: How do you move a newsletter from beehiiv to Mailchimp without emailing people who unsubscribed?

Split the export before you upload it, because Mailchimp imports one status at a time and your unsubscribes stay suppressed only if they go in as Unsubscribed.

Download beehiiv's Full CSV promptly, since export links last 24 hours, and know that past posts, paid subscriptions and your beehiiv website don't move. Mailing someone who opted out is worse than awkward: it draws spam complaints, and complaints are among the strongest signals mailbox providers use against a sender. Then archive the contacts you won't email, as Mailchimp bills them otherwise. For the first few issues, send to your most engaged readers first and widen to the rest over a few sends, so the new setup builds a good record before it reaches the quiet end of the list. If you sell paid subscriptions, settle where they'll live before you downgrade beehiiv.

My read of the verified data on this page, checked against vendor sources on September 27, 2026. Disagree or spot an error? Tell Bill

Estimate · your inputs

Switching Cost & Friction Estimator

Most buyers only budget for the new subscription. This estimates the hidden labor, data-cleanup, and retraining cost of actually making the switch.

25,000
10

Estimate assumes: 1 hour of data-mapping/cleaning labor per 2,000 records, a blended $75/hr ops rate, tiered migration & cleaning tooling fees, and 4 hours of retraining per seat at a $45/hr fully-loaded rate.

Estimated Migration Time —
Data Friction Rating —
Total Hidden Switching Cost $0

    Why teams move from beehiiv to Mailchimp

    Cheaper paid plan at small sizes

    Mailchimp Essentials is $13 at 500 contacts and $26.50 at 1,500, against beehiiv Scale from $43 billed annually.

    Monthly billing

    Mailchimp publishes month-to-month prices.

    Business email tools

    Automations and store integrations for marketing email.

    How the migration actually works

    Mailchimp counts unsubscribed and non-subscribed contacts toward your bill unless you archive them.

    StepWhat you do
    1Export subscribersIn beehiiv publication settings, export the Full CSV (custom fields and stats) or Quick CSV (email, status, tier); links last 24 hours.
    2Export postsExport post content as a CSV for your archive.
    3Split by statusSeparate active subscribers from unsubscribes in the file.
    4Import into MailchimpUpload each file to one audience; Mailchimp imports one status at a time, so do Subscribed and Unsubscribed separately.
    5Rebuild templates and automationsRecreate your newsletter template and welcome flows in Mailchimp.
    6Archive unsubscribesArchive contacts you do not email so they stop counting toward your plan.
    7Switch sending and cancelSend your first Mailchimp issue, then downgrade beehiiv.

    What this path doesn’t do for you:

    Past posts, your beehiiv website, paid subscriptions and growth features do not move to Mailchimp; we did not find a Mailchimp equivalent for beehiiv’s paid subscriptions in the pages we checked.

    Pricing side by side

    PlanbeehiivMailchimp
    Pricing basisActive subscribersContacts incl. unsubscribed
    Entry priceScale $43/mo billed annuallyEssentials $13/mo (500 contacts)
    Free planUp to 2,500 subscribers250 contacts, 500 sends/mo
    Take it with youSubscriber and post CSV exportsContact CSV export

    US list prices checked on each vendor’s pricing page or plan documentation on September 27, 2026.

    Feature parity check

    CapabilitybeehiivMailchimp
    Import from the otherMailchimp importer (posts) and CSVCSV only
    Billed onActive subscribersSubscribed, unsubscribed, non-subscribed
    Free planUp to 2,500 subscribers250 contacts, 500 sends/mo

    Going the other direction, or want the full comparison first?

    Read the beehiiv vs Mailchimp comparison Switching from Mailchimp to beehiiv instead?
    Verified data

    Security & access: what changes when you switch

    Security, offline and access rules that differ between beehiiv and Mailchimp. Rows where both tools are the same (1) are left out; the full side-by-side is on each tool’s page: beehiiv, Mailchimp.

    What changesbeehiiv (today)Mailchimp (after)
    SOC 2 reportSOC 2 Type IIsourceSOC 2 reportType not stated by vendorsource
    ISO/IEC 27001Not publishedCertifiedsource
    HIPAA (BAA)Not supportedsourceNot published
    GDPR data processing agreementNot publishedDPA offeredsource
    Two-factor authenticationYessourceYesEnforcement: Any multi-user plan (automatic once an Owner or Admin enables 2FA)source
    EncryptionNot publishedTLS 1.2+ in transit; at-rest encryption not statedsource
    Mobile appsNot publishediOS, Androidsource

    Checked September 27, 2026 against each vendor’s own trust center, help docs and app pages. Hover or tap “source” to see the exact wording we relied on. “Not published” means we could not find the vendor saying it on its own site; it doesn’t mean the feature is missing. Plan names are the lowest plan the vendor says includes the feature. Security · Offline · Remote vs office · Download the data

    Frequently Asked Questions

    Does Mailchimp import from beehiiv?

    No direct importer. Export CSVs from beehiiv and upload them to Mailchimp.

    Will Mailchimp cost less?

    On paid plans up to 5,000 contacts, usually. From 10,000 up beehiiv Scale is cheaper in every tier we compared, and beehiiv is free to 2,500.

    Will my unsubscribes stay suppressed?

    Only if you import them as Unsubscribed. Mailchimp imports one status at a time.

    Sources

    Prices on this page were recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page on the date shown at the top of the page. Vendors change pricing often — check the live source before you buy.

    Every figure is also in our open dataset (JSON and CSV, CC BY 4.0), with its source page and verification date. See how we research pricing.

    Need sign-off?

    Turn this into a one-page decision brief

    Verified prices costed for your team size, a check against your must-have requirements, the questions to settle before you sign, and a source for every figure. Print it, or paste it into an email to whoever approves the spend.

    Build a decision brief

    From shortlist to switched

    Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.

    Bill Belcamino, founder of HelpCompare
    About the author

    Bill Belcamino

    Founder and author, HelpCompare

    Engineer by training, operator by experience, marketer by choice. Bill spent nine years as an engineer at HP, was COO of Auctiva (the number one third-party selling platform on eBay, past 200,000 users) and ran Google’s $70M/year search syndication partnership at Alot.com. Then he spent 13 years building his own web properties with his own money at stake. He has bought, trialled, integrated and cancelled more SaaS tools than he can count, and started HelpCompare because the real cost of switching tools is the part nobody covers.

    “I’ve sat on both sides of the table: the agency recommending the tool and the client paying for it.”

    Researched and fact-checked by the HelpCompare team. Pricing on this page was last verified on September 27, 2026. No paid sponsorships, no affiliate commissions.