Skip to content
Start here
MARKETING AUTOMATION · MIGRATION GUIDE

Switching from Mailchimp to HubSpot

HubSpot has no dedicated Mailchimp importer on its pricing page. Import contacts as CSV and map fields to HubSpot’s CRM properties.

Bill Belcamino
Bottom line up frontby Bill Belcamino, founder of HelpCompare
Editorial assessment

Bottom line up front: When does it make sense to move from Mailchimp to HubSpot?

When sales and service need to see the same customer record marketing does, because that shared CRM is the thing you're paying extra for.

And you do pay more: HubSpot bills $7 per seat annual ($10 monthly) against Mailchimp's $13/mo flat, and Mailchimp's 3 included seats become 1 on HubSpot Starter, so a small list with several people logging in costs noticeably more. Contacts come across by CSV with fields mapped to HubSpot properties, and automations get rebuilt by hand. Export your unsubscribed and bounced contacts too, not just the active audience, and import them marked so they can't be emailed. Leave them behind and the next form sync or sales upload can quietly re-add people who opted out, and the complaints that follow hurt every later send.

My read of the verified data on this page, checked against vendor sources on September 23, 2026. Disagree or spot an error? Tell Bill

Estimate · your inputs

Switching Cost & Friction Estimator

Most buyers only budget for the new subscription. This estimates the hidden labor, data-cleanup, and retraining cost of actually making the switch.

25,000
10

Estimate assumes: 1 hour of data-mapping/cleaning labor per 2,000 records, a blended $75/hr ops rate, tiered migration & cleaning tooling fees, and 4 hours of retraining per seat at a $45/hr fully-loaded rate.

Estimated Migration Time —
Data Friction Rating —
Total Hidden Switching Cost $0

    Why teams move from Mailchimp to HubSpot

    Full CRM included

    One contact record shared across every Hub.

    Deeper automation

    Workflow builder spans marketing, sales and service.

    Room to grow

    Add Sales and Service Hubs on the same contact data later.

    How the migration actually works

    HubSpot Starter caps at 1 user and standing price ($20/seat) is higher than Mailchimp’s flat $13/mo.

    StepWhat you do
    1Export your contact listExport contacts, tags and segments as CSV from the old tool.
    2Create your HubSpot accountCreate your HubSpot account and import your contact list, mapping fields to HubSpot’s CRM properties.
    3Rebuild workflows in HubSpot’s automation builderRecreate your automation logic using HubSpot’s workflow builder, and set up any CRM deal or ticket pipelines you need.
    4Rebuild automationsRecreate email sequences, triggers and automation rules by hand — these do not transfer automatically.
    5Reconnect integrationsReconnect your website forms, e-commerce store or CRM sync to the new tool.
    6Run a real send before cancellingSend one real campaign through the new tool and confirm deliverability before cancelling the old plan.

    What this path doesn’t do for you:

    Mailchimp’s simple, flat account-wide pricing has no HubSpot equivalent — HubSpot bills per seat, which can cost more for a small list with several team members.

    Pricing side by side

    PlanMailchimpHubSpot
    Pricing basisPer contact tier, account-widePer seat
    Entry priceEssentials $13/mo (500 contacts)Starter $20/seat/mo (standing)
    CRMBasic contact recordsFull CRM shared across Hubs
    Free plan250 contacts2 users

    Standard list prices checked on each vendor’s pricing page on September 23, 2026. HubSpot price is the $20/seat standing rate, not its current new-customer promo.

    Feature parity check

    CapabilityMailchimpHubSpot
    CRMBasic contact recordsFull CRM shared across Hubs
    Price$13/mo flat$20/seat/mo
    Seats included31
    Free plan250 contacts2 users

    Going the other direction, or want the full comparison first?

    Read the HubSpot vs Mailchimp comparison Switching from HubSpot to Mailchimp instead?
    Verified data

    Security & access: what changes when you switch

    Security, offline and access rules that differ between Mailchimp and HubSpot. Rows where both tools are the same (2) are left out; the full side-by-side is on each tool’s page: Mailchimp, HubSpot.

    What changesMailchimp (today)HubSpot (after)
    SOC 2 reportSOC 2 reportType not stated by vendorsourceSOC 2 Type IIsource
    ISO/IEC 27001CertifiedsourceNot published
    Other certificationsNot publishedSOC 1 Type II, SOC 3, HIPAA attestation, EU Cloud Code of Conduct, TRUSTe Certified Privacysource
    HIPAA (BAA)Not publishedBAA availableEnterprisesource
    Single sign-on (SAML/OIDC)Not publishedYesProfessionalsource
    SCIM user provisioningNot publishedYesProfessionalsource
    Two-factor authenticationYesEnforcement: Any multi-user plan (automatic once an Owner or Admin enables 2FA)sourceYesEnforcement: Free (optional to require); mandatory on Starter, Professional, Enterprisesource
    Admin audit logNot publishedYesStartersource
    Data residency choicesUS onlysourceUS, EU, Canada, AustraliaStartersource
    EncryptionTLS 1.2+ in transit; at-rest encryption not statedsourceAES-256 at rest; TLS 1.2 or 1.3 in transitsource
    Offline modeNot documentedPartialCRM records cannot be created, edited, or viewed in the mobile app without a connection; only Mobile Notetaker can record meetings offline and link them to CRM records once back online.source
    Desktop appsNot publishedBrowser onlysource
    Offline limits—Offline meeting recording (Mobile Notetaker) is available on Sales Hub or Service Hub Professional and EnterpriseSales Hub / Service Hub Professionalsource
    IP allowlistingNot publishedYesStartersource
    Device & session controlsNot publishedYesAll plansAdmin-set inactive session timeout (15 minutes to 3 days); users can review and remotely log out their own sessions on other devices.source
    Editorial assessment

    Before you cut over

    • Set up single sign-on in HubSpot on Professional before you invite the team, so accounts are created through your identity provider rather than by hand.
    • HubSpot adds offline access (partial): install the mobile app for staff who work on the move.

    Checked September 19, 2026 against each vendor’s own trust center, help docs and app pages. Hover or tap “source” to see the exact wording we relied on. “Not published” means we could not find the vendor saying it on its own site; it doesn’t mean the feature is missing. Plan names are the lowest plan the vendor says includes the feature. Security · Offline · Remote vs office · Download the data

    Frequently Asked Questions

    Does HubSpot import Mailchimp contacts?

    Yes, via CSV import — map your exported fields to HubSpot’s CRM properties during setup.

    Will it cost more?

    Likely, since HubSpot bills per seat at a $20 standing rate against Mailchimp’s $13/mo flat.

    Do I gain CRM features?

    Yes — every Hub shares one contact record and activity timeline, unlike Mailchimp’s lighter contact model.

    Do my automations and workflows carry over?

    No. Automation logic, workflows and segmentation rules are specific to each platform’s builder and are rebuilt by hand in the new tool; only contact data moves via export/import.

    Sources

    Prices on this page were recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page on the date shown at the top of the page. Vendors change pricing often — check the live source before you buy.

    Every figure is also in our open dataset (JSON and CSV, CC BY 4.0), with its source page and verification date. See how we research pricing.

    Cite this page: HelpCompare, “Switching from Mailchimp to HubSpot”, helpcompare.com/mailchimp-to-hubspot-migration/ (updated ).

    Source links on this site are checked every month; last check . How sources are checked.

    Start with the job

    Guides for the jobs this software does

    Plain-language guides: the steps, what to check before you buy, common mistakes, and every tool it takes with verified prices.

    Need sign-off?

    Turn this into a one-page decision brief

    Verified prices costed for your team size, a check against your must-have requirements, the questions to settle before you sign, and a source for every figure. Print it, or paste it into an email to whoever approves the spend.

    Build a decision brief

    From shortlist to switched

    Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.

    Bill Belcamino, founder of HelpCompare
    About the author

    Bill Belcamino

    Founder and author, HelpCompare

    Engineer by training, operator by experience, marketer by choice. Bill spent eight and a half years as an engineer at HP, was COO of Auctiva (the number one third-party selling platform on eBay, past 200,000 users) and ran Google’s $70M/year search syndication partnership at Alot.com. Then he spent 13 years building his own web properties with his own money at stake. He has bought, trialled, integrated and cancelled more SaaS tools than he can count, and started HelpCompare because the real cost of switching tools is the part nobody covers.

    “I’ve sat on both sides of the table: the agency recommending the tool and the client paying for it.”

    Researched and fact-checked by the HelpCompare team. Pricing on this page was last verified on September 23, 2026. No paid sponsorships, no affiliate commissions.