Neither tool imports the other’s workflows automatically. Contacts move by CSV export/import; automation logic and CRM data are rebuilt or left behind.
Usually, since Mailchimp's $13/mo flat rate with 3 seats undercuts HubSpot Starter from three people up, though HubSpot is cheaper at one or two seats at $7 each annual, but that only matters if you weren't really using HubSpot as your CRM.
Mailchimp has no equivalent of HubSpot's shared record, deal pipelines or cross-Hub automation, and none of your workflows transfer. So start with an inventory, not an export. List every active HubSpot workflow, form and integration, note which ones touch deals or tickets, and decide for each whether it gets rebuilt, moved to a separate CRM or retired. Export deals, notes and activity history along with contacts, because that history is often the only record of what a customer was promised, and you want it on file before you lose access. Then import into Mailchimp as a new audience and cancel HubSpot only after one real campaign lands.
My read of the verified data on this page, checked against vendor sources on September 23, 2026. Disagree or spot an error? Tell Bill
Most buyers only budget for the new subscription. This estimates the hidden labor, data-cleanup, and retraining cost of actually making the switch.
Estimate assumes: 1 hour of data-mapping/cleaning labor per 2,000 records, a blended $75/hr ops rate, tiered migration & cleaning tooling fees, and 4 hours of retraining per seat at a $45/hr fully-loaded rate.
$13/mo against $20/seat for HubSpot Starter.
Versus HubSpot Starter’s 1.
Less to configure if you only send email.
You lose HubSpot’s shared CRM record across marketing, sales and service — Mailchimp has no equivalent.
| Step | What you do |
|---|---|
| 1Export your contact list | Export contacts, tags and segments as CSV from the old tool. |
| 2Create your Mailchimp account | Create your Mailchimp account and import your contact list as a new audience. |
| 3Rebuild campaigns and automations | Recreate your email templates and automation journeys using Mailchimp’s builder. |
| 4Rebuild automations | Recreate email sequences, triggers and automation rules by hand — these do not transfer automatically. |
| 5Reconnect integrations | Reconnect your website forms, e-commerce store or CRM sync to the new tool. |
| 6Run a real send before cancelling | Send one real campaign through the new tool and confirm deliverability before cancelling the old plan. |
What this path doesn’t do for you:
HubSpot’s unified CRM, deal pipelines and cross-Hub automation have no Mailchimp equivalent — if you relied on those, keep a separate CRM.
| Plan | HubSpot | Mailchimp |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing basis | Per seat | Per contact tier, account-wide |
| Entry price | Starter $20/seat/mo (standing) | Essentials $13/mo (500 contacts) |
| CRM | Full CRM shared across Hubs | Basic contact records |
| Free plan | 2 users | 250 contacts |
Standard list prices checked on each vendor’s pricing page on September 23, 2026. HubSpot price is the $20/seat standing rate, not its current new-customer promo.
| Capability | HubSpot | Mailchimp |
|---|---|---|
| CRM | Full CRM shared across Hubs | Basic contact records |
| Price | $20/seat/mo | $13/mo flat |
| Seats included | 1 | 3 |
| Free plan | 2 users | 250 contacts |
Going the other direction, or want the full comparison first?
Read the HubSpot vs Mailchimp comparison Switching from Mailchimp to HubSpot instead?Security, offline and access rules that differ between HubSpot and Mailchimp. Rows where both tools are the same (2) are left out; the full side-by-side is on each tool’s page: HubSpot, Mailchimp.
| What changes | HubSpot (today) | Mailchimp (after) |
|---|---|---|
| SOC 2 report | SOC 2 Type IIsource | SOC 2 reportType not stated by vendorsource |
| ISO/IEC 27001 | Not published | Certifiedsource |
| Other certifications | SOC 1 Type II, SOC 3, HIPAA attestation, EU Cloud Code of Conduct, TRUSTe Certified Privacysource | Not published |
| HIPAA (BAA) | BAA availableEnterprisesource | Not published |
| Single sign-on (SAML/OIDC) | YesProfessionalsource | Not published |
| SCIM user provisioning | YesProfessionalsource | Not published |
| Two-factor authentication | YesEnforcement: Free (optional to require); mandatory on Starter, Professional, Enterprisesource | YesEnforcement: Any multi-user plan (automatic once an Owner or Admin enables 2FA)source |
| Admin audit log | YesStartersource | Not published |
| Data residency choices | US, EU, Canada, AustraliaStartersource | US onlysource |
| Encryption | AES-256 at rest; TLS 1.2 or 1.3 in transitsource | TLS 1.2+ in transit; at-rest encryption not statedsource |
| Offline mode | PartialCRM records cannot be created, edited, or viewed in the mobile app without a connection; only Mobile Notetaker can record meetings offline and link them to CRM records once back online.source | Not documented |
| Desktop apps | Browser onlysource | Not published |
| Offline limits | Offline meeting recording (Mobile Notetaker) is available on Sales Hub or Service Hub Professional and EnterpriseSales Hub / Service Hub Professionalsource | — |
| IP allowlisting | YesStartersource | Not published |
| Device & session controls | YesAll plansAdmin-set inactive session timeout (15 minutes to 3 days); users can review and remotely log out their own sessions on other devices.source | Not published |
No. Export contacts as CSV from HubSpot and import them as a new Mailchimp audience.
Usually, since Mailchimp’s $13/mo flat rate undercuts HubSpot’s $20/seat standing price for most small teams.
Yes, Mailchimp has no full CRM — keep a separate CRM if you relied on HubSpot’s shared contact and deal records.
No. Automation logic, workflows and segmentation rules are specific to each platform’s builder and are rebuilt by hand in the new tool; only contact data moves via export/import.
Every pricing fact, rating, AI billing model and switching guide we hold on each tool, on one page, with the date each figure was last verified.
Prices on this page were recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page on the date shown at the top of the page. Vendors change pricing often — check the live source before you buy.
Every figure is also in our open dataset (JSON and CSV, CC BY 4.0), with its source page and verification date. See how we research pricing.
Source links on this site are checked every month; last check . How sources are checked.
Plain-language guides: the steps, what to check before you buy, common mistakes, and every tool it takes with verified prices.
Verified prices costed for your team size, a check against your must-have requirements, the questions to settle before you sign, and a source for every figure. Print it, or paste it into an email to whoever approves the spend.
Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.