Skip to content
Start here
EMAIL MARKETING · MIGRATION GUIDE

Switching from Mailchimp to beehiiv

beehiiv has a documented Mailchimp migration: import your audience from a CSV and connect Mailchimp to pull in past posts. Automations are rebuilt.

Bill Belcamino
Bottom line up frontby Bill Belcamino, founder of HelpCompare
Editorial assessment

Bottom line up front: What should you clean up before importing a Mailchimp list into beehiiv?

Import only people who still want your email, and keep their original signup dates, because beehiiv makes each subscriber's import date their subscription date by default.

The move itself is well documented: a CSV import for subscribers, a content importer that pulls past posts in 5 to 15 minutes, and it works on the free Launch plan up to 2,500 subscribers. Automations, templates and legacy-builder campaigns don't come across. My advice: leave unsubscribed and bounced addresses out of the upload, and map the original signup date to its own field when you match columns. Otherwise every reader looks brand new, and any rule you set later to spot people who've gone quiet has nothing real to measure against. Rebuild the welcome automation before your first beehiiv send, because anyone who signs up in the gap gets nothing.

My read of the verified data on this page, checked against vendor sources on September 27, 2026. Disagree or spot an error? Tell Bill

Estimate · your inputs

Switching Cost & Friction Estimator

Most buyers only budget for the new subscription. This estimates the hidden labor, data-cleanup, and retraining cost of actually making the switch.

25,000
10

Estimate assumes: 1 hour of data-mapping/cleaning labor per 2,000 records, a blended $75/hr ops rate, tiered migration & cleaning tooling fees, and 4 hours of retraining per seat at a $45/hr fully-loaded rate.

Estimated Migration Time —
Data Friction Rating —
Total Hidden Switching Cost $0

    Why teams move from Mailchimp to beehiiv

    Free up to 2,500

    beehiiv Launch is $0 up to 2,500 subscribers with unlimited sends.

    Pay for active subscribers only

    Unsubscribed and inactive subscribers do not count.

    Cheaper at scale

    Scale is $96 a month billed annually at 10,000 against Mailchimp Essentials at $110.

    How the migration actually works

    Campaigns made with Mailchimp’s Legacy Email Builder are not imported, and by default each subscriber’s import date becomes their subscription date.

    StepWhat you do
    1Export your audienceIn Mailchimp, export contacts from your audience as a CSV.
    2Import subscribersIn beehiiv, go to Settings > Subscribers Import, upload the CSV and match columns to beehiiv fields.
    3Import past postsIn beehiiv’s content importer choose Mailchimp and click Connect to authenticate; it takes 5 to 15 minutes depending on the number of posts.
    4Set a default post styleRecreate your template as a default post style.
    5Rebuild automationsRecreate Mailchimp automations with beehiiv Automations.
    6Pick a planStay on Launch up to 2,500 subscribers, or choose Scale or Max as you grow.
    7Switch sending and cancelSend your first issue from beehiiv, then downgrade Mailchimp.

    What this path doesn’t do for you:

    Automations, templates and legacy-builder campaigns do not come across, and original signup dates are replaced by the import date by default.

    Pricing side by side

    PlanMailchimpbeehiiv
    Pricing basisContacts incl. unsubscribedActive subscribers
    Entry priceEssentials $13/mo (500 contacts)Scale $43/mo billed annually
    Free plan250 contacts, 500 sends/moUp to 2,500 subscribers
    Take it with youContact CSV exportSubscriber and post CSV exports

    US list prices checked on each vendor’s pricing page or plan documentation on September 27, 2026.

    Feature parity check

    CapabilityMailchimpbeehiiv
    Import from the otherCSV onlyMailchimp importer (posts) and CSV
    Billed onSubscribed, unsubscribed, non-subscribedActive subscribers
    Free plan250 contacts, 500 sends/moUp to 2,500 subscribers

    Going the other direction, or want the full comparison first?

    Read the beehiiv vs Mailchimp comparison Switching from beehiiv to Mailchimp instead?
    Verified data

    Security & access: what changes when you switch

    Security, offline and access rules that differ between Mailchimp and beehiiv. Rows where both tools are the same (1) are left out; the full side-by-side is on each tool’s page: Mailchimp, beehiiv.

    What changesMailchimp (today)beehiiv (after)
    SOC 2 reportSOC 2 reportType not stated by vendorsourceSOC 2 Type IIsource
    ISO/IEC 27001CertifiedsourceNot published
    HIPAA (BAA)Not publishedNot supportedsource
    GDPR data processing agreementDPA offeredsourceNot published
    Two-factor authenticationYesEnforcement: Any multi-user plan (automatic once an Owner or Admin enables 2FA)sourceYessource
    EncryptionTLS 1.2+ in transit; at-rest encryption not statedsourceNot published
    Mobile appsiOS, AndroidsourceNot published

    Checked September 27, 2026 against each vendor’s own trust center, help docs and app pages. Hover or tap “source” to see the exact wording we relied on. “Not published” means we could not find the vendor saying it on its own site; it doesn’t mean the feature is missing. Plan names are the lowest plan the vendor says includes the feature. Security · Offline · Remote vs office · Download the data

    Frequently Asked Questions

    Does beehiiv import from Mailchimp?

    Yes. Subscribers come in from a Mailchimp CSV, and beehiiv’s content importer connects to Mailchimp to import past posts. It is available on all plans.

    What does not move?

    Automations, templates and campaigns created with Mailchimp’s Legacy Email Builder. Signup dates default to the import date.

    Will beehiiv cost less?

    Up to 2,500 subscribers it is free. At 10,000, Scale is $96 a month billed annually against Mailchimp Essentials at $110 monthly.

    Sources

    Prices on this page were recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page on the date shown at the top of the page. Vendors change pricing often — check the live source before you buy.

    Every figure is also in our open dataset (JSON and CSV, CC BY 4.0), with its source page and verification date. See how we research pricing.

    Need sign-off?

    Turn this into a one-page decision brief

    Verified prices costed for your team size, a check against your must-have requirements, the questions to settle before you sign, and a source for every figure. Print it, or paste it into an email to whoever approves the spend.

    Build a decision brief

    From shortlist to switched

    Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.

    Bill Belcamino, founder of HelpCompare
    About the author

    Bill Belcamino

    Founder and author, HelpCompare

    Engineer by training, operator by experience, marketer by choice. Bill spent nine years as an engineer at HP, was COO of Auctiva (the number one third-party selling platform on eBay, past 200,000 users) and ran Google’s $70M/year search syndication partnership at Alot.com. Then he spent 13 years building his own web properties with his own money at stake. He has bought, trialled, integrated and cancelled more SaaS tools than he can count, and started HelpCompare because the real cost of switching tools is the part nobody covers.

    “I’ve sat on both sides of the table: the agency recommending the tool and the client paying for it.”

    Researched and fact-checked by the HelpCompare team. Pricing on this page was last verified on September 27, 2026. No paid sponsorships, no affiliate commissions.