Mailchimp’s Premium Migration Services are limited to its Premium tier; otherwise contacts move by CSV export and import.
It should if email is the only part of Keap you use, since Mailchimp costs $13/mo against $299/mo flat, includes 3 seats instead of 2 and has a permanent free plan for 250 contacts.
If you run a sales pipeline, invoices, checkout or appointment booking through Keap, stop there, because Mailchimp has none of them and you'd be buying and wiring up separate tools. The trap is the jobs nobody remembers setting up. All-in-one platforms collect small automations over the years, a tag applied at checkout, a reminder before an appointment, a follow-up after an invoice is paid, and they stop silently the day you cancel. Before you export, walk through every Keap automation, write down what triggers it and what it does, and decide which ones Mailchimp has to rebuild. Send one real campaign from Mailchimp before you cancel.
My read of the verified data on this page, checked against vendor sources on September 23, 2026. Disagree or spot an error? Tell Bill
Most buyers only budget for the new subscription. This estimates the hidden labor, data-cleanup, and retraining cost of actually making the switch.
Estimate assumes: 1 hour of data-mapping/cleaning labor per 2,000 records, a blended $75/hr ops rate, tiered migration & cleaning tooling fees, and 4 hours of retraining per seat at a $45/hr fully-loaded rate.
$13/mo against $299/mo flat.
3 against Keap’s 2.
250 contacts, permanent.
You lose Keap’s built-in CRM, sales pipeline, invoicing, checkout and payment processing entirely.
| Step | What you do |
|---|---|
| 1Export your contact list | Export contacts, tags and segments as CSV from the old tool. |
| 2Create your Mailchimp account | Create your Mailchimp account and import your contact list as a new audience. |
| 3Rebuild campaigns and automations | Recreate your email templates and automation journeys using Mailchimp’s builder. |
| 4Rebuild automations | Recreate email sequences, triggers and automation rules by hand — these do not transfer automatically. |
| 5Reconnect integrations | Reconnect your website forms, e-commerce store, payment processor or CRM sync to the new tool. |
| 6Run a real send before cancelling | Send one real campaign through the new tool and confirm deliverability before cancelling the old plan. |
What this path doesn’t do for you:
Keap’s CRM, invoicing, checkout, payments and appointment scheduling have no Mailchimp equivalent — plan for separate tools to cover them.
| Plan | Keap | Mailchimp |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing basis | Flat, 2 users included | Per contact tier, account-wide |
| Entry price | $299/mo ($39/mo per extra user) | Essentials $13/mo (500 contacts) |
| CRM | Included | Basic contact records |
| Invoicing/payments | Included | Not offered |
Standard list prices checked on each vendor’s pricing page on September 23, 2026. HubSpot price is the $20/seat standing rate, not its current new-customer promo.
| Capability | Keap | Mailchimp |
|---|---|---|
| CRM | Included | Basic contact records |
| Invoicing/payments | Included | Not offered |
| Price | $299/mo (2 users) | $13/mo |
| Free plan | None, trial only | 250 contacts |
Going the other direction, or want the full comparison first?
Read the Keap vs Mailchimp comparison Switching from Mailchimp to Keap instead?Security, offline and access rules that differ between Keap and Mailchimp. Rows where both tools are the same (2) are left out; the full side-by-side is on each tool’s page: Keap, Mailchimp.
| What changes | Keap (today) | Mailchimp (after) |
|---|---|---|
| SOC 2 report | Not published | SOC 2 reportType not stated by vendorsource |
| ISO/IEC 27001 | Not published | Certifiedsource |
| Other certifications | PCI DSSsource | Not published |
| HIPAA (BAA) | BAA availablesource | Not published |
| Two-factor authentication | YesEnforcement: All plans (2FA mandatory for every user)source | YesEnforcement: Any multi-user plan (automatic once an Owner or Admin enables 2FA)source |
| Data residency choices | Not published | US onlysource |
| Encryption | Not published | TLS 1.2+ in transit; at-rest encryption not statedsource |
No dedicated importer; export contacts as CSV and import as a new Mailchimp audience.
On the marketing line, substantially, but you will need separate tools for CRM, invoicing and payments.
Yes, entirely — Mailchimp offers neither.
No. Automation logic, workflows and segmentation rules are specific to each platform’s builder and are rebuilt by hand in the new tool; only contact data moves via export/import or a migration service.
Every pricing fact, rating, AI billing model and switching guide we hold on each tool, on one page, with the date each figure was last verified.
Prices on this page were recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page on the date shown at the top of the page. Vendors change pricing often — check the live source before you buy.
Every figure is also in our open dataset (JSON and CSV, CC BY 4.0), with its source page and verification date. See how we research pricing.
Cite this page: HelpCompare, “Switching from Keap to Mailchimp”, helpcompare.com/keap-to-mailchimp-migration/ (updated ).
Source links on this site are checked every month; last check . How sources are checked.
Plain-language guides: the steps, what to check before you buy, common mistakes, and every tool it takes with verified prices.
Verified prices costed for your team size, a check against your must-have requirements, the questions to settle before you sign, and a source for every figure. Print it, or paste it into an email to whoever approves the spend.
Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.