Skip to content
Start here
ACCOUNTING SOFTWARE · MIGRATION GUIDE

Switching from FreshBooks to Xero

Xero imports contacts, unpaid customer invoices and unpaid bills from files, plus your chart of accounts and bank statements. FreshBooks exports all of these to CSV, so the move is mostly file work, with one decision about history.

Quick verdict: Export clients, invoices, expenses, vendors, items and your chart of accounts from FreshBooks as CSV, then import them into Xero one type at a time: Xero supports importing contacts, unpaid customer invoices and unpaid bills, a chart of accounts and bank statements, but not an entire data set at once. Bring over open items and opening balances, keep FreshBooks exports as your history, and add your whole team — Xero includes unlimited users on every plan.

Estimate · your inputs

Switching Cost & Friction Estimator

Most buyers only budget for the new subscription. This estimates the hidden labor, data-cleanup, and retraining cost of actually making the switch.

25,000
10

Estimate assumes: 1 hour of data-mapping/cleaning labor per 2,000 records, a blended $75/hr ops rate, tiered migration & cleaning tooling fees, and 4 hours of retraining per seat at a $45/hr fully-loaded rate.

Estimated Migration Time —
Data Friction Rating —
Total Hidden Switching Cost $0

    Why teams move from FreshBooks to Xero

    Unlimited users

    Every Xero plan includes unlimited users at no extra cost, where FreshBooks charges $11/mo per extra team member.

    Accountant-grade ledger

    Xero is full double-entry accounting with bank reconciliation, budgets on Growing and multi-currency and projects on Established.

    No client cap

    Xero plans are not limited by billable clients; Growing removes the invoice and bill caps entirely.

    How the migration actually works

    Xero’s Conversion Toolbox for accountants does not list FreshBooks as a source, so this is a file-based move. Plan it around a clean cut-off date, such as the end of a month or quarter.

    StepWhat you do
    1Choose the Xero planEarly ($27/mo) caps you at 20 invoices and 5 bills a month; Growing ($59/mo) removes the caps. Pick by monthly volume, not users.
    2Export from FreshBooksExport clients, vendors, items and expenses to CSV, invoices to CSV or PDF, and the chart of accounts to CSV (it includes active, archived and deleted accounts). Export your reports too.
    3Set up the chart of accountsImport a chart of accounts into Xero from a file, mapping FreshBooks accounts to Xero account codes and tax rates.
    4Import contactsImport your FreshBooks clients and vendors into Xero as contacts from a CSV file.
    5Import unpaid invoices and billsImport only open customer invoices and unpaid bills so balances match your cut-off date; Xero supports both from files.
    6Connect bank feeds and import statementsConnect bank feeds in Xero; for earlier periods, import bank statements in OFX, QFX, QIF, PDF, CSV or QuickBooks formats.
    7Invite your team and accountantAdd everyone who needs access (Xero has no per-user fee) and have your accountant confirm opening balances.

    What this path doesn’t do for you:

    Xero’s imports are type by type (“you can’t import an entire data set at once”, as Xero puts it), so paid invoice history, time entries and project data from FreshBooks stay in your exports rather than in Xero’s ledger. Payroll does not carry over automatically: Xero Payroll is a separate add-on powered by Gusto at $36/mo plus $6 per person.

    Pricing side by side

    PlanFreshBooksXero
    FreeNo, 30-day free trial, no card requiredNo, 30-day free trial
    Entry paidLite — $23/mo (5 billable clients)Early — $27/mo (20 invoices, 5 bills)
    MidPlus — $43/mo (50 billable clients)Growing — $59/mo
    TopPremium — $70/mo (unlimited clients); Select by quoteEstablished — $97/mo
    Users1 included; team members $11/mo eachUnlimited on every plan
    Payroll$40/mo + $6/mo per person (powered by Gusto)$36/mo + $6 per person (powered by Gusto)

    List prices checked on xero.com/us/pricing-plans and freshbooks.com/pricing on September 18, 2026. Confirm current rates before you buy.

    Feature parity check

    CapabilityFreshBooksXero
    Users included1; $11/mo per extra team memberUnlimited
    Plan limitLite: 5 billable clients; Plus: 50Early: 20 invoices, 5 bills a month
    Exports / importsExports clients, invoices, expenses, items, vendors, chart of accounts (CSV)Imports contacts, unpaid invoices and bills, chart of accounts, bank statements
    Multi-currencyNot on the published Lite–Premium feature listsEstablished plan only
    Annual discount10% off yearlyNone — monthly billing
    AI assistantNone listed on the pricing pageJAX — currently no additional charge

    Going the other direction, or want the full comparison first?

    Read the Xero vs FreshBooks comparison Switching from Xero to FreshBooks instead?
    Verified data

    Security & access: what changes when you switch

    Security, offline and access rules that differ between FreshBooks and Xero. Rows where both tools are the same (1) are left out; the full side-by-side is on each tool’s page: FreshBooks, Xero.

    What changesFreshBooks (today)Xero (after)
    SOC 2 reportSOC 2 Type IsourceSOC 2 reportType not stated by vendorsource
    ISO/IEC 27001Not publishedCertifiedsource
    Other certificationsPCI DSS Level 1sourcePCI DSS v4.0 (SAQ A; Level 2 merchant)source
    GDPR data processing agreementNot publishedDPA offeredsource
    Two-factor authenticationYesEnforcement: All plans (2FA is required for email-and-password logins)sourceYesEnforcement: All plans (MFA is mandatory for all users)source
    Encryption256-bit SSL in transitsourceEncryption in transit and at rest (algorithms not stated)source
    Offline modeNot documentedPartialIn the Xero mobile app you can draft invoices and capture receipts offline and they sync when you reconnect; everything else, including the web app, needs an internet connection.source
    Office & room hardware—Tap to Pay in the Xero Accounting app (powered by Stripe) takes contactless in-person payments for invoices with no extra hardware or terminal.source
    Editorial assessment

    Before you cut over

    • Xero adds offline access (partial): install the mobile app for staff who work on the move.

    Checked September 19, 2026 against each vendor’s own trust center, help docs and app pages. Hover or tap “source” to see the exact wording we relied on. “Not published” means we could not find the vendor saying it on its own site; it doesn’t mean the feature is missing. Plan names are the lowest plan the vendor says includes the feature. Security · Offline · Remote vs office · Download the data

    Frequently Asked Questions

    Does Xero have a FreshBooks importer?

    Not a one-click one. Xero says it supports importing contacts, unpaid customer invoices and unpaid bills, and it also imports a chart of accounts and bank statements from files. Its Conversion Toolbox does not list FreshBooks.

    Can I bring my full FreshBooks history into Xero?

    Not in one go: Xero imports data type by type. Most businesses import open invoices, unpaid bills and opening balances, and keep FreshBooks exports as the historical record.

    What can I export from FreshBooks?

    Clients, invoices (CSV or PDF), expenses, items, vendors, the chart of accounts (CSV) and reports.

    Will Xero cost more than FreshBooks?

    For one user, slightly: Xero Early is $27/mo against $23/mo for FreshBooks Lite. For teams Xero is often cheaper, because it includes unlimited users and FreshBooks charges $11/mo per extra team member.

    Which Xero file formats work for bank statements?

    OFX, QFX, QIF, PDF, CSV and QuickBooks file formats.

    Sources

    Prices on this page were recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page on the date shown at the top of the page. Vendors change pricing often — check the live source before you buy.

    Every figure is also in our open dataset (JSON and CSV, CC BY 4.0), with its source page and verification date. See how we research pricing.

    Cite this page: HelpCompare, “Switching from FreshBooks to Xero”, helpcompare.com/freshbooks-to-xero-migration/ (updated ).

    Source links on this site are checked every month; last check . How sources are checked.

    Start with the job

    Guides for the jobs this software does

    Plain-language guides: the steps, what to check before you buy, common mistakes, and every tool it takes with verified prices.

    Need sign-off?

    Turn this into a one-page decision brief

    Verified prices costed for your team size, a check against your must-have requirements, the questions to settle before you sign, and a source for every figure. Print it, or paste it into an email to whoever approves the spend.

    Build a decision brief

    From shortlist to switched

    Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.

    Bill Belcamino, founder of HelpCompare
    About the author

    Bill Belcamino

    Founder and author, HelpCompare

    Engineer by training, operator by experience, marketer by choice. Bill spent eight and a half years as an engineer at HP, was COO of Auctiva (the number one third-party selling platform on eBay, past 200,000 users) and ran Google’s $70M/year search syndication partnership at Alot.com. Then he spent 13 years building his own web properties with his own money at stake. He has bought, trialled, integrated and cancelled more SaaS tools than he can count, and started HelpCompare because the real cost of switching tools is the part nobody covers.

    “I’ve sat on both sides of the table: the agency recommending the tool and the client paying for it.”

    Researched and fact-checked by the HelpCompare team. Pricing on this page was last verified on September 18, 2026. No paid sponsorships, no affiliate commissions.