Two of the most widely used small-business accounting platforms, compared on pricing tiers, user limits, and which one accountants actually prefer.
Xero fits a business where several people touch the books, because every plan from $27/mo includes unlimited users, while QuickBooks Simple Start at $38/mo gives you 1 billable user plus 2 accountant seats.
Xero's catch is the Early plan's cap of 20 invoices or quotes and 5 bills a month, and QuickBooks earns its price with inventory and project profitability built into its higher tiers. The seat count matters more than it looks. When a plan has one login, people share it, and a shared login makes the audit trail useless because every change looks like the owner made it. In accounting software that trail is how you catch a mistake, or a fraud, months later. Having been a COO, I'd give everyone who touches money their own login with two-factor on, and price the plan that allows it.
My read of the verified data on this page, checked against vendor sources on September 18, 2026. Disagree or spot an error? Tell Bill
| At a glance | QuickBooks | Xero |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Accounting Software | |
| Entry price | From $38/mo | From $27/mo |
| Free plan | Yes, 1 user, 2 invoices/month, 1 bank connection | No permanent free plan — free trial available |
QuickBooks is priced at From $38/mo and Xero at From $27/mo. See the full breakdown below for what is included at each tier.
| Category | QuickBooks | Xero |
|---|---|---|
| Entry-tier price | $38/mo (Simple Start, 1 user + 2 accountant seats) | $27/mo (Early, unlimited users) |
| Number of pricing tiers | 4 paid (Simple Start, Essentials, Plus, Advanced) + Free | 3 (Early, Growing, Established) |
| Invoicing limit on entry plan | Unlimited invoices, but only 1 billable user | Capped at 20 invoices/quotes and 5 bills per month |
| Multi-currency support | Included on Essentials tier and above (not on Simple Start) | Only on the top Established plan |
| Inventory management | Included starting at the Plus plan | Native item tracking (up to 4,000 items) on every plan; ‘Inventory Plus’ add-on optional on Growing/Established |
| Mobile app rating (iOS) | 4.7/5 (~265K ratings) | 4.6/5 (~1.7K ratings) |
Verified September 18, 2026Prices recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page. See sources
Estimate built from the published starting rate shown above (as of Sep 2026). Excludes add-ons, usage overages, and negotiated discounts.
Choose QuickBooks if you want built-in inventory and project tracking, plan to keep a small number of billable users, and want the widest network of accountants and integrations.
Choose Xero if you have multiple people who need login access without per-user fees, prioritize a simpler interface, and don’t need multi-currency on a lower-cost plan.
How QuickBooks and Xero compare on compliance reports, sign-in controls, offline access and the setup details that matter for remote, hybrid and in-office teams. Every value links to the vendor page it came from.
| What we checked | QuickBooks | Xero |
|---|---|---|
| Security & compliance | ||
| SOC 2 report | SOC 2 Type IIsource | SOC 2 reportType not stated by vendorsource |
| ISO/IEC 27001 | Not published | Certifiedsource |
| Other certifications | Not published | PCI DSS v4.0 (SAQ A; Level 2 merchant)source |
| HIPAA (BAA) | Not published | Not published |
| GDPR data processing agreement | Not published | DPA offeredsource |
| Single sign-on (SAML/OIDC) | Not published | Not published |
| SCIM user provisioning | Not published | Not published |
| Two-factor authentication | Yessource | YesEnforcement: All plans (MFA is mandatory for all users)source |
| Admin audit log | YesAll plans, including QuickBooks Online Freesource | Not published |
| Data residency choices | Not published | Not published |
| Encryption | 128-bit SSL encryptionsource | Encryption in transit and at rest (algorithms not stated)source |
| Self-hosting option | Not published | Not published |
| Offline access | ||
| Offline mode | Needs a connectionQuickBooks Online needs an internet connection in both the browser and the mobile apps; Intuit points offline users to the separate QuickBooks Desktop product.source | PartialIn the Xero mobile app you can draft invoices and capture receipts offline and they sync when you reconnect; everything else, including the web app, needs an internet connection.source |
| Desktop apps | Not published | Not published |
| Mobile apps | iOS, Androidsource | iOS, Androidsource |
| Remote, hybrid & in-office | ||
| IP allowlisting | Not published | Not published |
| Device & session controls | Not published | Not published |
| Office & room hardware | QuickBooks Payments supports in-person card payments through the QuickBooks GoPayment app with a Bluetooth QuickBooks Card Reader.source | Tap to Pay in the Xero Accounting app (powered by Stripe) takes contactless in-person payments for invoices with no extra hardware or terminal.source |
We mapped out exactly what transfers automatically and what you will need to rebuild by hand, in both directions.
QuickBooks is a small-business accounting software for invoicing, bookkeeping, and financial reporting.
Xero is a cloud accounting platform for small businesses to manage invoicing, bank reconciliation, and bookkeeping.
QuickBooks starts at $38/mo (Simple Start, 1 billable user), while Xero starts at $27/mo (Early, unlimited users).
QuickBooks holds a 4.0/5 (~3,878 reviews) rating on G2, compared to Xero at 4.4/5 (~1,832 reviews).
Choose QuickBooks if you want built-in inventory and project tracking, plan to keep a small number of billable users, and want the widest network of accountants and integrations.
Choose Xero if you have multiple people who need login access without per-user fees, prioritize a simpler interface, and don’t need multi-currency on a lower-cost plan.
See live pricing directly from each vendor before you decide.
Every pricing fact, rating, AI billing model and switching guide we hold on each tool, on one page, with the date each figure was last verified.
Prices on this page were recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page on the date shown at the top of the page. Vendors change pricing often — check the live source before you buy.
Every figure is also in our open dataset (JSON and CSV, CC BY 4.0), with its source page and verification date. See how we research pricing.
Cite this page: HelpCompare, “QuickBooks vs Xero”, helpcompare.com/quickbooks-vs-xero/ (updated ).
Source links on this site are checked every month; last check . How sources are checked.
Plain-language guides: the steps, what to check before you buy, common mistakes, and every tool it takes with verified prices.
Verified prices costed for your team size, a check against your must-have requirements, the questions to settle before you sign, and a source for every figure. Print it, or paste it into an email to whoever approves the spend.
Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.