FreshBooks imports clients, expenses, items and vendors from CSV files and offers Easy Switch, a paid conversion service that lists Xero as a source. Open invoices and your history need a plan, so export everything from Xero first.
Quick verdict: Export your contacts, chart of accounts, invoices, bills and general ledger from Xero, then either import clients, vendors, items and expenses into FreshBooks yourself from CSV or use Easy Switch, FreshBooks’ conversion service run by MMC Convert, which moves client details, expenses, invoices and more. Easy Switch is included at no extra cost on some Select plans and discounted on Plus and Premium; FreshBooks does not publish its price. Before you cancel Xero, note that Xero keeps a cancelled subscription’s data for up to seven years, accessible by reactivating it.
Most buyers only budget for the new subscription. This estimates the hidden labor, data-cleanup, and retraining cost of actually making the switch.
Estimate assumes: 1 hour of data-mapping/cleaning labor per 2,000 records, a blended $75/hr ops rate, tiered migration & cleaning tooling fees, and 4 hours of retraining per seat at a $45/hr fully-loaded rate.
FreshBooks Lite is $23/mo against Xero Early at $27/mo, and FreshBooks takes 10% off for yearly billing.
Estimates, proposals, client retainers and project profitability are central to FreshBooks’ plans.
FreshBooks Lite has no 20-invoice monthly cap like Xero Early; its limit is the number of billable clients (5 on Lite, 50 on Plus).
There is no one-click importer from Xero into FreshBooks, so choose between a do-it-yourself CSV move and FreshBooks’ Easy Switch service before you start.
| Step | What you do |
|---|---|
| 1Pick your FreshBooks plan by client count and users | Count your active billable clients (Lite 5, Plus 50, Premium unlimited) and the people who need logins; each extra team member is $11/mo. |
| 2Export everything from Xero | Export contacts, the chart of accounts, invoices, bills, fixed assets and the general ledger (CSV/XLS, PDF or TXT), plus the reports your accountant needs for the year to date. |
| 3Decide on Easy Switch or DIY | Easy Switch, run by MMC Convert, moves client details, expenses, invoices and more from Xero. Ask FreshBooks for a quote via the Talk to a Specialist button on the Select plan page. |
| 4Import clients, vendors, items and expenses | If you go DIY, import CSV files for clients, vendors, items and expenses in FreshBooks. Other income and taxes are imported by FreshBooks support from your CSV. |
| 5Reconnect your bank accounts | Connect bank accounts in FreshBooks to bring in transactions, or import them from a CSV file. |
| 6Re-create open invoices and set opening balances | FreshBooks’ self-serve CSV import does not cover invoices, so re-issue unpaid invoices (or have Easy Switch move them) and have your accountant set opening balances. |
| 7Keep Xero as your archive | Keep the exported ledger and reports. Xero holds a cancelled subscription’s data for up to seven years and you can regain access by reactivating it. |
What this path doesn’t do for you:
FreshBooks’ own CSV import covers clients, expenses, items and vendors (not invoices, bills or your chart of accounts), so historical transactions stay in your Xero exports unless you pay for Easy Switch. Easy Switch’s price is not published. If you run Xero Payroll, powered by Gusto, confirm with support how your payroll history moves before you switch; FreshBooks Payroll is a separate $40/mo plus $6 per person add-on.
| Plan | Xero | FreshBooks |
|---|---|---|
| Free | No, 30-day free trial | No, 30-day free trial, no card required |
| Entry paid | Early — $27/mo (20 invoices, 5 bills) | Lite — $23/mo (5 billable clients) |
| Mid | Growing — $59/mo | Plus — $43/mo (50 billable clients) |
| Top | Established — $97/mo | Premium — $70/mo (unlimited clients); Select by quote |
| Users | Unlimited on every plan | 1 included; team members $11/mo each |
| Payroll | $36/mo + $6 per person (powered by Gusto) | $40/mo + $6/mo per person (powered by Gusto) |
List prices checked on xero.com/us/pricing-plans and freshbooks.com/pricing on September 18, 2026. Confirm current rates before you buy.
| Capability | Xero | FreshBooks |
|---|---|---|
| Users included | Unlimited | 1; $11/mo per extra team member |
| Plan limit | Early: 20 invoices, 5 bills a month | Lite: 5 billable clients; Plus: 50 |
| Self-serve import | Contacts, invoices, bills, chart of accounts, bank statements and more | Clients, expenses, items, vendors (CSV) |
| Assisted conversion | Conversion Toolbox for accountants (FreshBooks not listed as a source) | Easy Switch by MMC Convert (Xero listed as a source) |
| Annual discount | None — monthly billing | 10% off yearly |
| AI assistant | JAX — currently no additional charge | None listed on the pricing page |
Going the other direction, or want the full comparison first?
Read the Xero vs FreshBooks comparison Switching from FreshBooks to Xero instead?Security, offline and access rules that differ between Xero and FreshBooks. Rows where both tools are the same (1) are left out; the full side-by-side is on each tool’s page: Xero, FreshBooks.
| What changes | Xero (today) | FreshBooks (after) |
|---|---|---|
| SOC 2 report | SOC 2 reportType not stated by vendorsource | SOC 2 Type Isource |
| ISO/IEC 27001 | Certifiedsource | Not published |
| Other certifications | PCI DSS v4.0 (SAQ A; Level 2 merchant)source | PCI DSS Level 1source |
| GDPR data processing agreement | DPA offeredsource | Not published |
| Two-factor authentication | YesEnforcement: All plans (MFA is mandatory for all users)source | YesEnforcement: All plans (2FA is required for email-and-password logins)source |
| Encryption | Encryption in transit and at rest (algorithms not stated)source | 256-bit SSL in transitsource |
| Offline mode | PartialIn the Xero mobile app you can draft invoices and capture receipts offline and they sync when you reconnect; everything else, including the web app, needs an internet connection.source | Not documented |
| Office & room hardware | Tap to Pay in the Xero Accounting app (powered by Stripe) takes contactless in-person payments for invoices with no extra hardware or terminal.source | — |
Not with a one-click importer. You can import clients, expenses, items and vendors from CSV yourself, or use Easy Switch, FreshBooks’ conversion service run by MMC Convert, which lists Xero as a supported source.
FreshBooks does not publish a price. It is included at no extra cost on some Select plans and offered at a discounted cost on Plus, Premium and other Select plans; ask via Talk to a Specialist.
Not through FreshBooks’ self-serve CSV import, which does not cover invoices. Re-create unpaid invoices or have Easy Switch move them, and keep your Xero exports for history.
Xero says a cancelled subscription’s data can be accessed for up to seven years by reactivating the subscription, unless you ask for it to be deleted. Export what you need before you cancel.
For one user on Lite ($23/mo) it costs less than Xero Early ($27/mo). Each extra FreshBooks user adds $11/mo, while Xero includes unlimited users.
Every pricing fact, rating, AI billing model and switching guide we hold on each tool, on one page, with the date each figure was last verified.
Prices on this page were recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page on the date shown at the top of the page. Vendors change pricing often — check the live source before you buy.
Every figure is also in our open dataset (JSON and CSV, CC BY 4.0), with its source page and verification date. See how we research pricing.
Cite this page: HelpCompare, “Switching from Xero to FreshBooks”, helpcompare.com/xero-to-freshbooks-migration/ (updated ).
Source links on this site are checked every month; last check . How sources are checked.
Plain-language guides: the steps, what to check before you buy, common mistakes, and every tool it takes with verified prices.
Verified prices costed for your team size, a check against your must-have requirements, the questions to settle before you sign, and a source for every figure. Print it, or paste it into an email to whoever approves the spend.
Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.