Security, offline and access rules that differ between DocuSign and Adobe Acrobat Sign. Rows where both tools are the same (5) are left out; the full side-by-side is on each tool’s page: DocuSign, Adobe Acrobat Sign.
| What changes | DocuSign (today) | Adobe Acrobat Sign (after) |
|---|---|---|
| Other certifications | ISO/IEC 27017, ISO/IEC 27018, PCI DSS v4.0, C5 Type II, IRAP (PROTECTED), FedRAMP Moderate, DoD IL4, APEC PRP, Canada Protected B, CSA STAR (CAIQ self-assessment)source | ISO/IEC 27017, ISO/IEC 27018, ISO 22301, ISO 9001, C5, FedRAMP Tailored, IRAP, ISMAP, PCI DSS 4.0 (service provider), CSA STAR Level 2, QTSP (time stamps)source |
| HIPAA (BAA) | BAA availableEnhanced planssource | BAA availableAcrobat Sign for enterprise or businesssource |
| Single sign-on (SAML/OIDC) | YesEnhanced plans (Access Management with SSO add-on)source | Yessource |
| SCIM user provisioning | YesPlan with Organization Management, or Organization Management add-onsource | YesDocument Cloud for enterprise (Adobe Admin Console)source |
| Two-factor authentication | YesEnforcement: Docusign organization with a claimed domain (plan not stated)source | YesEnforcement: Adobe Admin Console (Enterprise ID and Adobe ID users; plan not stated)source |
| Data residency choices | US, Canada, EU, Australia, JapanEnhanced planssource | Not published |
| Encryption | AES-256 at rest; TLS 1.2 in transitsource | Not published |
| Offline mode | PartialIn the Docusign iOS and Android apps, a host can download envelopes that were prepared and sent online, then run in-person signing sessions without an internet connection; sending and preparing envelopes still happens online.source | Not documented |
| Offline limits | Sending or signing for offline use requires a premium account bought in the app or a web plan; only mobile-supported fields can be used.source | — |
| IP allowlisting | YesDocusign organization with a claimed domainsource | YesAcrobat Sign Solutionssource |
| Device & session controls | YesNew-device email verification on password logins (can be disabled per domain), required login before opening envelopes, and SSO-only login enforcement for claimed domains.source | Not published |
Switching from DocuSign to Adobe Acrobat Sign is often driven by organizations already standardized on Adobe’s PDF and Document Cloud tools who want e-signature bundled into the same vendor relationship.
Teams already paying for Acrobat Pro or Creative Cloud can consolidate e-signature into the same Adobe contract instead of running DocuSign separately.
Acrobat Sign’s admin console includes a dedicated tool for importing DocuSign templates, which is more than most e-signature competitors offer.
Because Acrobat Sign is part of the Acrobat product line, editing and annotating PDFs before sending is more integrated than in DocuSign’s standalone tool.
Estimate the real hidden cost of moving from DocuSign to Adobe Acrobat Sign, not just the subscription price.
Adobe provides an official, admin-level migration path for DocuSign templates, which is more structured than most e-signature switches.
| Step | What happens |
|---|---|
| 1Export templates from DocuSign | From DocuSign’s Templates tab, select the templates you want to move and download them as a zip file. |
| 2Run Acrobat Sign’s DocuSign migration tool | In Acrobat Sign’s admin console, use the ‘Migrate templates from DocuSign’ tool to upload the zip file and start the conversion. |
| 3Review converted templates and field mappings | Check that DocuSign form fields (tabs) mapped correctly to Acrobat Sign fields, since migrated items are flagged with a ‘Migrated’ tag for review. |
| 4Manually verify signing order and authentication | Confirm recipient roles, signing order, and authentication methods, since these often need manual adjustment after an automated template conversion. |
| 5Rebuild integrations and connected workflows | Reconnect any CRM, HR, or contract-management integrations that pointed to DocuSign so they send documents through Acrobat Sign instead. |
| 6Pilot and retrain signers | Run a pilot batch of real agreements through Acrobat Sign, retrain frequent senders on the new interface, then retire unused DocuSign licenses. |
DocuSign has no free plan, while Adobe increasingly sells e-signature bundled into Acrobat’s team plans rather than as a fully standalone product.
| Plan | DocuSign | Adobe Acrobat Sign |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | No free plan — cheapest tier is Personal, $11/month (annual plan, billed monthly) | Acrobat Reader: free to view, comment on and sign PDFs yourself (Adobe publishes no free signature-request allowance) |
| Entry paid tier | Personal: $11/month on an annual plan billed monthly (5 envelopes/month cap) | Acrobat Standard for teams: $16.99/license/month (annual, billed monthly) |
| Mid tier | Standard: $30/user/month (annual plan, billed monthly) | Acrobat Pro for teams: $23.99/license/month (annual, billed monthly) |
Adobe’s current pricing bundles e-signature into Acrobat ‘for teams’ plans rather than selling Acrobat Sign as a fully separate product at the low end. DocuSign sells each plan three ways: billed annually upfront (Personal $10, Standard $25, Business Pro $40 a user a month), an annual plan billed monthly ($11, $30, $45) or month-to-month ($15, $45, $65). Each DocuSign price on this page names the billing mode it uses. Compare the bundled PDF-plus-signature price against DocuSign’s signature-only plans.
Both are enterprise-grade e-signature tools, but they differ in how tightly signing integrates with broader document tools.
| Feature | DocuSign | Adobe Acrobat Sign equivalent |
|---|---|---|
| Template migration support | No inbound migration tool for competitors | Official admin tool to import DocuSign templates |
| PDF editing integration | Basic PDF markup only | Full Acrobat PDF editing built in |
| Envelope/agreement volume on entry plans | 5 envelopes/month on Personal plan | Signature request caps vary by bundled Acrobat tier |
| API and developer tools | Mature, widely-integrated eSignature API | Robust API, tightly tied to Adobe Document Cloud |
| Admin console and reporting | Strong audit trail and admin reporting | Comparable audit trail within Adobe Admin Console |
Yes, it has an official admin tool that converts DocuSign template exports into Acrobat Sign library templates, though signing-role and authentication settings still need manual review.
No, the migration tool covers templates only, not sent or completed envelope history, which stays in DocuSign unless exported separately.
It depends on the tier: Adobe’s team plans bundle PDF editing with e-signature, so the comparison isn’t apples-to-apples with DocuSign’s signature-only pricing.
Yes, the DocuSign template migration tool lives in Acrobat Sign’s admin console, so it requires an administrator role.
The upload and conversion itself is usually quick (minutes), but reviewing and fixing field mappings and signing order across many templates can take days for larger template libraries.
Every pricing fact, rating, AI billing model and switching guide we hold on each tool, on one page, with the date each figure was last verified.
Prices on this page were recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page on the date shown at the top of the page. Vendors change pricing often — check the live source before you buy.
Every figure is also in our open dataset (JSON and CSV, CC BY 4.0), with its source page and verification date. See how we research pricing.
Cite this page: HelpCompare, “Switching from DocuSign to Adobe Acrobat Sign: A Step-by-Step Migration Guide”, helpcompare.com/docusign-to-adobe-sign-migration/ (updated ).
Source links on this site are checked every month; last check . How sources are checked.
Plain-language guides: the steps, what to check before you buy, common mistakes, and every tool it takes with verified prices.
Verified prices costed for your team size, a check against your must-have requirements, the questions to settle before you sign, and a source for every figure. Print it, or paste it into an email to whoever approves the spend.
Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.