To sell online, you need a place to list products, a checkout that takes payment, and a way to get orders to customers. An e-commerce platform runs the store and orders, and a payment processor moves the money to your bank. You also need a plan for shipping, stock and returns, which the store software alone may not cover.
Which categories a job needs is Editorial assessment; the tools, prices and dates are Verified data.
Prices are each vendor’s published entry plan, recorded from its own pricing page and dated. The example column prices a team of 10: only per-user prices are multiplied; flat and per-account prices are shown as published. Change the team size in the finder.
An e-commerce platform runs your online store: products, checkout and orders.
| Tool | Entry price (as published) | Billing unit | Example: team of 10 | Free plan | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shopify | From $29/mo | Per store per month, billed yearly | $29/moFlat per store per month, billed yearly | NoNo free tier (3-day trial, then $1/mo for 3 months intro offer) | Jul 8, 2026Vendor pricing |
| WooCommerce | Free plugin | Not stated in our record | $0 to startFree plugin | YesYes — WooCommerce itself is free forever; only supporting infrastructure costs money | Jul 8, 2026Vendor pricing |
A payment processor lets customers pay by card or online and moves the money to your bank.
| Tool | Entry price (as published) | Billing unit | Example: team of 10 | Free plan | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stripe | 2.9% + 30¢ | Per transaction | Per transactionNo monthly fee on this plan; the vendor charges per transaction | No monthly fee | Jul 29, 2026Vendor pricing |
| PayPal | 3.49% + 49¢ | Per transaction | Per transactionNo monthly fee on this plan; the vendor charges per transaction | No monthly fee | Jul 29, 2026Vendor pricing |
A website builder gets a professional site live without hiring a developer.
| Tool | Entry price (as published) | Billing unit | Example: team of 10 | Free plan | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wix | Free (Wix branding); paid plans for a custom domain | Not stated in our record | $0 to startFree (Wix branding); paid plans for a custom domain | Yes | Sep 12, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Squarespace | From $19/mo | Per site per month, billed annually | $19/moFlat per site per month, billed annually; includes 2 logins, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | No | Aug 26, 2026Vendor pricing |
| WordPress | Free software; hosting, themes and plugins cost extra | Not stated in our record | $0 to startFree software; hosting, themes and plugins cost extra | Yes | Sep 12, 2026Vendor pricing |
Email marketing tools manage your list and send newsletters and campaigns.
| Tool | Entry price (as published) | Billing unit | Example: team of 10 | Free plan | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mailchimp | From $13/mo | Per account per month (up to 500 contacts) | $13/moFlat per account per month (up to 500 contacts); includes 3 logins, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | Yes250 contacts / 500 sends per month | Sep 18, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Klaviyo | From $20/mo | Per account per month, priced by active profiles | $20/moFlat per account per month, priced by active profiles | Yes250 active profiles / 500 emails + $5 of SMS/MMS credit per month | Aug 11, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Constant Contact | From $12/mo (500 contacts) | Per account per month, billed monthly (up to 500 contacts) | $12/moFlat per account per month, billed monthly (up to 500 contacts); includes 1 login, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | NoNo free plan — 30-day free trial (100 sends) | Sep 18, 2026Vendor pricing |
| ActiveCampaign | From $15/mo (1,000 contacts) | Per account per month, billed annually (1,000 contacts) | $15/moFlat per account per month, billed annually (1,000 contacts); includes 1 login, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | NoNo free plan — trial available | Sep 14, 2026Vendor pricing |
Inventory software tracks what you have in stock, across locations and sales channels, and handles purchase and sales orders.
| Tool | Entry price (as published) | Billing unit | Example: team of 10 | Free plan | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zoho Inventory | Free for 1 user; Standard $29/mo per organization, 3 users (annual); $39 monthly | Per organization per month, billed annually ($39 monthly); 3 users included | $29/moFlat per organization per month, billed annually ($39 monthly); 3 users included; includes 3 logins, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | YesYes — 1 user, 1 location, 50 orders/month | Sep 19, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Sortly | Free for 1 user; Advanced $49/mo for 2 users (monthly billing) | Per account per month, billed monthly; 2 user licenses included | $49/moFlat per account per month, billed monthly; 2 user licenses included; includes 2 logins, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | YesYes — 1 user, 100 unique items | Sep 19, 2026Vendor pricing |
| inFlow Inventory | Entrepreneur $129/mo for 2 team members (annual); $161 monthly | Per account per month, billed annually ($161 monthly); 2 team members included | $129/moFlat per account per month, billed annually ($161 monthly); 2 team members included; includes 2 logins, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | NoNo — 14-day free trial, no card | Sep 19, 2026Vendor pricing |
This job usually also needs shipping & fulfillment. We don’t track that category yet, so we have no verified prices to show for it. We would rather say so than guess. The guidance on this page still covers what to look for.
Start small: a platform with a free or low-cost plan, a handful of products you already have, and a payment processor that charges per sale rather than monthly. Of the 2 e-commerce tools we track, WooCommerce lists a free plan or free tier (limits are in the table above); Shopify does not. Expect payment fees on every sale even when the plan itself is free.
You can sell through marketplaces, social media shops or payment links sent to customers. These get you selling quickly, but the channel sets the rules and owns the customer relationship, so many sellers add their own store later.
It depends on how many products you sell, which channels you use and how much setup you want to do yourself. The 2 e-commerce tools we track (Shopify and WooCommerce) are in the table above with verified entry prices and billing units.
Compare total cost per order, not just the plan: plan price, payment fees and any paid apps you need. Also check how products, customers and orders can be moved over, since switching platforms later is real work.
We start from the job, not the product. The phrasings people search for this job (for example “how to sell online”) come from our research into how small and mid-size teams describe it. Which software categories the job takes is our editorial judgment. Every tool, entry price, billing unit and date comes from HelpCompare’s open dataset, recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page; nothing is estimated, and where a vendor publishes no price we say so. We take no affiliate commissions and publish no scores of our own. See our methodology or download the data from Open Data.
Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.