Skip to content
Start here
Project Management

Asana vs Jira: Which Project Management Tool Fits Your Team in 2026?

Asana is general-purpose work management for cross-functional teams; Jira is Atlassian’s issue tracker built around software development. Here is what each costs and who they are actually built for.

Asana logoStarter — $10.99/seat/mo (annual), $13.49 monthly

Asana

VS
Jira logoStandard — $9.05/user/mo (monthly, 1-10 user band); ~$7.50/user/mo effective on the $900/yr annual band

Jira

Bill Belcamino
Bottom line up frontby Bill Belcamino, founder of HelpCompare
Editorial assessment

Bottom line up front: Should our team run its projects in Asana or Jira?

Pick by the work, not the seat price: Jira fits engineering teams that run sprints and backlogs, and Asana fits marketing, ops and HR work that has no use for issue types.

On paper Jira is cheaper, $9.05/user/mo on the 1-10 user monthly band against Asana Starter's $10.99 billed annually, and its free plan covers 10 users against Asana's 2. Automation cuts the other way: unlimited on Asana Starter, 400 automation steps/user/mo on Jira Standard. The common mistake is forcing one tool on the whole company. Engineers quietly keep a private tracker if you push them into a general tool, and a marketing team drowns in Jira's workflows and permission schemes, so running both is often cheaper than a year of workarounds. Put one real project through each free plan with the people who'll live in it.

My read of the verified data on this page, checked against vendor sources on September 23, 2026. Disagree or spot an error? Tell Bill

Verified data

Asana vs Jira: quick facts

At a glanceAsanaJira
CategoryProject Management
Entry priceStarter — $10.99/seat/mo (annual), $13.49 monthlyStandard — $9.05/user/mo (monthly, 1-10 user band); ~$7.50/user/mo effective on the $900/yr annual band
Free planFree — 2 users, unlimited tasks and projects, list/board/calendar viewsFree forever — up to 10 users, unlimited projects, backlog/board/timeline/calendar views

Is Asana cheaper than Jira?

Jira, on paper: $9.05 a seat a month (monthly billing, 1-10 user band) against Asana Starter’s $10.99 (annual) or $13.49 (monthly). Jira’s free plan also stretches to 10 users against Asana’s 2. But Jira’s pricing is banded by team size rather than a flat linear per-seat rate — at 300 users Atlassian’s own calculator showed an effective $7.91/user/mo — so check the exact band for your headcount on Atlassian’s pricing page before assuming the number above holds at scale.

Verified data

Asana vs Jira at a glance

CategoryAsanaJira
Entry priceStarter $10.99/seat/mo (annual)Standard $9.05/user/mo (monthly, 1-10 users)
Free plan2 users, unlimited tasks and projects10 users, unlimited projects
Built forCross-functional work: marketing, ops, HR, general projectsSoftware and engineering teams: sprints, backlogs, issue tracking
ViewsList, board, calendar, Timeline/Gantt (paid)Backlog, board, timeline, calendar
AutomationUnlimited automations on Starter400 automation steps/user/mo on Standard
AI features5 AI requests/user/mo on paid plansRovo AI search, chat and agents on Standard
Top tierAdvanced $24.99/seat/mo — Portfolios, Goals, resource managementPremium ~$14.54/user/mo (10-user band) — cross-team dependencies, unlimited storage
StorageUnlimited (100MB max per file)250GB on Standard

Verified September 23, 2026Prices recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page. See sources

Explore the numbers

Asana vs Jira: the prices as a chart

Asana and Jira: plan prices side by side

Plan price: US dollars per seat per month, billing basis not stated on this page

  • Asana · Advanced$24.99
  • Jira · top tier$14.54

AsanaJira

Prices exactly as printed in the comparison table on this page (billing basis not stated on this page), in the table’s own tier order: Top tier.

What Asana and Jira cost per month for a team

5 seats: monthly cost = seats × the per-seat price on this page (billing basis not stated on this page)

  • Asana · Advanced: 5 × $24.99$124.95
  • Jira · top tier: 5 × $14.54$72.70

10 seats: monthly cost = seats × the per-seat price on this page (billing basis not stated on this page)

  • Asana · Advanced: 10 × $24.99$249.90
  • Jira · top tier: 10 × $14.54$145.40

25 seats: monthly cost = seats × the per-seat price on this page (billing basis not stated on this page)

  • Asana · Advanced: 25 × $24.99$624.75
  • Jira · top tier: 25 × $14.54$363.50

50 seats: monthly cost = seats × the per-seat price on this page (billing basis not stated on this page)

  • Asana · Advanced: 50 × $24.99$1,249.50
  • Jira · top tier: 50 × $14.54$727

AsanaJira

An example, not a quote: team size times the per-seat prices printed on this page. It leaves out tax, add-ons, discounts and any plan limits. Where a plan has a minimum number of seats, the minimum is used.

List prices from this page’s own comparison table, not a quote. Plans differ in what they include.

Prices in USD from asana.com/pricing and atlassian.com/software/jira/pricing, both checked September 23, 2026. Jira’s price is for the 1-10 user monthly-billing band; larger teams see a different effective rate.

Editorial assessment

How they actually differ

Both let a team plan, assign and track work, with boards, calendars and automation. The real difference is what kind of work each is shaped around.

General work vs. software issues

Asana is built for the work most departments do: campaigns, launches, hiring pipelines, ops checklists. It has no concept of a sprint, backlog or issue type out of the box. Jira is built around the software development lifecycle — backlogs, sprints, issue hierarchies (epics, stories, bugs, subtasks) and agile boards — and while teams do stretch it to general project work, that flexibility comes with a steeper learning curve and a more technical permission model.

AI and automation

Jira’s Standard plan includes Rovo, Atlassian’s AI search, chat and agent layer, plus 400 automation steps per user a month. Asana includes unlimited automations on Starter but caps AI to 5 requests per seat a month on paid plans — noticeably thinner than Jira’s AI allotment at a similar price.

Moving between them

Atlassian publishes an official importer that pulls Asana data directly into Jira, mapping standard and custom fields automatically. There is no equivalent import tool in the other direction — moving from Jira to Asana means exporting and rebuilding by hand.

Asana

Pros

  • No engineering-specific setup required — usable by any department day one
  • Unlimited automations included on the entry paid plan
  • Cleaner, more approachable interface for non-technical teams
  • Strong Portfolios/Goals/resource management on Advanced

Cons

  • Free plan caps at 2 users, versus Jira’s 10
  • No native sprint/backlog/issue-hierarchy model
  • AI capped at 5 requests/seat/mo on paid plans
  • Slightly pricier entry seat than Jira

Jira

Pros

  • Free plan covers up to 10 users
  • Purpose-built sprints, backlogs and issue hierarchies for dev teams
  • Rovo AI search/chat/agents included on Standard
  • Official importer pulls data directly from Asana

Cons

  • Steeper learning curve outside software teams
  • Pricing is banded by team size, not a flat per-seat rate
  • More configuration required to set up workflows and permissions
  • Less natural fit for marketing/ops/HR-style work
Verified data

Cost calculator: what does your team actually pay?

Asana

 
$0/mo

Jira

 
$0/mo
 

Asana Starter is a flat per-seat annual rate. Jira Standard’s $9.05/user/mo applies to the 1-10 user monthly-billing band; larger teams get a different effective per-seat rate on Atlassian’s own calculator. Checked September 23, 2026.

Choose Asana if…

Your team spans multiple departments, you want automations included without an add-on, or you do not need sprints, backlogs or issue hierarchies.

Choose Jira if…

Your team is doing software development and needs sprints, backlogs and issue tracking, or you want a free plan for up to 10 people.

Total cost over time

Uses your selections above. Estimate excludes add-ons, overages, and negotiated discounts.

Ready to pick your project management tool?

Both publish a genuine free plan. Run one real project or sprint through each with your actual team before committing.

Verified data

Asana vs Jira: security, offline & remote work

How Asana and Jira compare on compliance reports, sign-in controls, offline access and the setup details that matter for remote, hybrid and in-office teams. Every value links to the vendor page it came from.

What we checkedAsanaJira
Security & compliance
SOC 2 reportSOC 2 Type IIsourceSOC 2 Type IIsource
ISO/IEC 27001CertifiedsourceCertifiedsource
Other certificationsISO/IEC 27017, ISO/IEC 27018, ISO/IEC 27701, CSA STAR Level 1, SOC 3sourceISO/IEC 27018, FedRAMP Moderate, CSA STAR, TISAX, C5, IRAPsource
HIPAA (BAA)BAA availableEnterprise+sourceBAA availableStandardsource
GDPR data processing agreementDPA offeredsourceDPA offeredsource
Single sign-on (SAML/OIDC)YesEnterprisesourceYesAny plan with Atlassian Guard Standard (add-on); included in Enterprisesource
SCIM user provisioningYesEnterprisesourceYesAny plan with Atlassian Guard Standard (add-on); included in Enterprisesource
Two-factor authenticationYesEnforcement: EnterprisesourceYesEnforcement: All plans (managed accounts)source
Admin audit logYesEnterprise+ (or Enterprise with Compliance Management add-on)sourceYesAny plan with Atlassian Guard Standard (add-on); included in Enterprisesource
Data residency choicesUS, EU, Japan, AustraliaEnterprise (add-on); included in Enterprise+sourceAustralia, Canada, EU, Germany, India, Japan, Singapore, South Korea, Switzerland, UK, USStandardsource
Encryption256-bit encryption at rest and in transitsourceAES-256 full-disk encryption at rest; TLS 1.2+ in transitsource
Self-hosting optionNot publishedNot published
Offline access
Offline modePartialThe iOS app works offline for checking notifications, commenting, changing due dates or assignees, completing tasks and adding tasks; pending actions sync when you are back online.sourceNot documented
Desktop appsWindows, macOSsourceBrowser onlysource
Mobile appsiOS, AndroidsourceiOS, Androidsource
Offline limitsTasks and conversations in projects never opened on the device are not visible offline (new tasks can still be added to them)source—
Remote, hybrid & in-office
IP allowlistingYesEnterprise+sourceYesPremiumsource
Device & session controlsYesEnterpriseSAML session timeout (1 hour to 30 days) plus an optional mobile session timeout; mobile app controls (limit downloads, screenshots, copy/paste) are sold as a Permissions Management add-on.sourceYesAny plan with Atlassian Guard Standard (add-on); included in EnterpriseMobile app management policies for the Jira Cloud iOS and Android apps via Atlassian Guard Standard.source
Editorial assessment

What this means for your team

  • Audit reports: both publish a SOC 2 report, and Asana and Jira also hold ISO/IEC 27001. Ask each vendor for the report under NDA before you sign; security reviews usually want the latest one.
  • Single sign-on: Asana includes it on Enterprise; Jira includes it on Any plan with Atlassian Guard Standard (add-on); included in Enterprise. If your team signs in through Okta, Microsoft Entra ID or Google, price the plan that includes SSO, not the entry plan.
  • Health data: Asana and Jira will sign a HIPAA business associate agreement (Asana: Enterprise+; Jira: Standard).
  • Working offline: Asana works offline only in part; Jira doesn’t document an offline mode. Details are in the Offline mode row above.
  • Office-only access: Asana can restrict sign-ins to approved IP ranges on Enterprise+; Jira can restrict sign-ins to approved IP ranges on Premium. That suits an office network or a company VPN; fully remote teams need a VPN for it to work.
  • Where your data lives: Asana lets you choose US, EU, Japan, Australia on Enterprise (add-on); included in Enterprise+; Jira lets you choose Australia, Canada, EU, Germany, India, Japan, Singapore, South Korea, Switzerland, UK, US on Standard. This matters for teams hiring across the EU, UK or Australia.

Asana: worth knowing

  • RemoteAsana's IP allowlist can be applied to all users, only organization members, or only guests, and optionally to API traffic. source
  • SecurityMandatory 2FA on Enterprise tiers can be enforced for guests as well as domain members, useful for outside collaborators not on your SSO. source
  • RemoteWith data residency, all of an organization's Asana data must sit in one region (US, Frankfurt, Tokyo or Sydney). source
  • SecurityMobile app controls that limit downloads, screenshots and copy/paste are listed on the pricing page as a Permissions Management add-on. source

Jira: worth knowing

  • RemoteEven with an IP allowlist, some Jira/Confluence information (such as notification details and Smart Links) stays visible to users outside the allowed ranges. source
  • SecurityOn the Jira pricing page, Guard Standard (SSO, SCIM, AD sync) is marked 'Requires Atlassian Guard Standard subscription' on Free, Standard and Premium and 'Included' on Enterprise. source
  • OfflineAtlassian's public tracker lists an offline mode for the Jira Cloud Android and iOS apps as an unresolved suggestion. source

Checked September 19, 2026 against each vendor’s own trust center, help docs and app pages. Hover or tap “source” to see the exact wording we relied on. “Not published” means we could not find the vendor saying it on its own site; it doesn’t mean the feature is missing. Plan names are the lowest plan the vendor says includes the feature. Security · Offline · Remote vs office · Download the data

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Jira cheaper than Asana?

At the entry tier, yes on paper: $9.05/user/mo (1-10 user band, monthly billing) against Asana Starter’s $10.99 (annual) or $13.49 (monthly). Jira’s pricing is banded by team size, so the effective rate changes as headcount grows.

Can I use Jira for non-software projects?

Yes, many teams do, but it is built around sprints, backlogs and issue types that add setup overhead a general-purpose tool like Asana does not require.

Does Jira import from Asana?

Yes — Atlassian publishes an official importer that maps Asana’s standard and custom fields directly into a new Jira space. There is no equivalent tool for importing Jira data into Asana.

Which has a bigger free plan?

Jira’s free plan covers up to 10 users; Asana’s free plan is capped at 2.

Migration Guides

Already decided? Here’s how to actually switch.

Step-by-step migration guides covering what transfers automatically, what doesn’t, and how to handle the gap — in both directions.

Editorial assessment

When to Buy — and When to Walk Away

Every “best project management tool” listicle tells you why to buy. Here’s the other half: the specific conditions under which Asana or Jira is the wrong purchase for your team.

Asana

Buy Asana if:

  • Your work spans multiple non-engineering departments
  • You want automations included without an add-on
  • You want the gentler learning curve for non-technical staff

Do NOT buy Asana if:

  • Your team runs sprints and needs a backlog and issue hierarchy
  • You want AI features beyond a handful of requests a month
  • You need a free plan for more than 2 people

Jira

Buy Jira if:

  • You are running software development with sprints and backlogs
  • You want a free plan that covers up to 10 people
  • You want AI search and agents included at the entry tier

Do NOT buy Jira if:

  • Your team is not doing engineering-style ticketed work
  • You want the simplest possible setup with no configuration
  • You need a flat per-seat rate that does not change with headcount

Sources

Prices on this page were recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page on the date shown at the top of the page. Vendors change pricing often — check the live source before you buy.

Every figure is also in our open dataset (JSON and CSV, CC BY 4.0), with its source page and verification date. See how we research pricing.

Cite this page: HelpCompare, “Asana vs Jira”, helpcompare.com/asana-vs-jira/ (updated ).

Source links on this site are checked every month; last check . How sources are checked.

Start with the job

Guides for the jobs this software does

Plain-language guides: the steps, what to check before you buy, common mistakes, and every tool it takes with verified prices.

Need sign-off?

Turn this into a one-page decision brief

Verified prices costed for your team size, a check against your must-have requirements, the questions to settle before you sign, and a source for every figure. Print it, or paste it into an email to whoever approves the spend.

Build a decision brief

From shortlist to switched

Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.

Bill Belcamino, founder of HelpCompare
About the author

Bill Belcamino

Founder and author, HelpCompare

Engineer by training, operator by experience, marketer by choice. Bill spent eight and a half years as an engineer at HP, was COO of Auctiva (the number one third-party selling platform on eBay, past 200,000 users) and ran Google’s $70M/year search syndication partnership at Alot.com. Then he spent 13 years building his own web properties with his own money at stake. He has bought, trialled, integrated and cancelled more SaaS tools than he can count, and started HelpCompare because the real cost of switching tools is the part nobody covers.

“I’ve sat on both sides of the table: the agency recommending the tool and the client paying for it.”

Researched and fact-checked by the HelpCompare team. Pricing on this page was last verified on September 23, 2026. No paid sponsorships, no affiliate commissions.