beehiiv is a newsletter platform with a free plan up to 2,500 subscribers and built-in monetization; Mailchimp is the small-business email marketing standard priced by contacts. Here is what each costs at every list size.
For a newsletter, beehiiv fits: it's free up to 2,500 subscribers, and from 10,000 up its Scale plan costs less than Mailchimp Essentials in every tier we compared.
Mailchimp fits a business sending store and marketing email, and it's cheaper on small paid lists: $26.50 a month against beehiiv Scale at $43 billed annually at 1,000 subscribers. The line most people miss is who you pay for, since Mailchimp counts unsubscribed and non-subscribed contacts unless you archive them, and beehiiv bills only active subscribers. I built a 35,000-subscriber list with my own money, and dead addresses hurt twice: once on the bill, and again at the inbox, because mailbox providers watch whether people open and click. Whichever you pick, drop hard bounces right away, give quiet readers one last re-engagement email, and remove whoever ignores it. Do that before you compare prices, because a clean list can drop you a tier.
My read of the verified data on this page, checked against vendor sources on September 27, 2026. Disagree or spot an error? Tell Bill
| At a glance | beehiiv | Mailchimp |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Email Marketing | |
| Entry price | Free up to 2,500 subscribers; Scale from $43/mo billed annually ($517/yr) | From $13/mo |
| Free plan | Yes: Launch plan, up to 2,500 subscribers, unlimited sends | 250 contacts / 500 sends per month |
Up to 2,500 subscribers, beehiiv, because Launch is free. On paid plans it depends on size: at 1,000 subscribers Mailchimp Essentials is $26.50 a month against beehiiv Scale at $43 (billed annually); at 5,000 Mailchimp Essentials is $75 against beehiiv Scale at $78; at 10,000 Scale is $96 against Essentials at $110 and Standard at $135; at 50,000 Scale is $219 against $385 and $450. beehiiv’s prices are per month on annual billing (Scale is $517 a year at the entry tier); we could not read its month-to-month prices. Mailchimp prices are its published monthly prices.
| Category | beehiiv | Mailchimp |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Launch: up to 2,500 subscribers, unlimited sends | 250 contacts, 500 sends a month |
| Entry paid price | Scale $43/mo billed annually ($517/yr), up to 1,000 subscribers | Essentials $13/mo at 500 contacts |
| At 10,000 subscribers | Scale $96, Max $193 (billed annually) | Essentials $110, Standard $135 |
| At 50,000 subscribers | Scale $219, Max $334 (billed annually) | Essentials $385, Standard $450 |
| Who you pay for | Active subscribers (not unsubscribed or inactive) | Subscribed, unsubscribed and non-subscribed contacts |
| Sends | Unlimited on every plan | Monthly send limits by plan |
| Team seats | 1 (Launch), 3 (Scale), unlimited (Max) | 3 (Essentials), 5 (Standard), unlimited (Premium) |
| Paid newsletters | 0% take rate on paid subscriptions (Scale and Max) | See vendor pricing page |
| Publications | 3 (Launch, Scale), up to 10 (Max) | See vendor pricing page |
| Above 100,000 | Enterprise: custom pricing | Premium; published tiers stop at 50,000 here |
Verified September 27, 2026Prices recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page. See sources
Prices in USD from beehiiv.com/pricing and beehiiv’s subscriber price table (per month when paid annually), and Mailchimp’s published monthly contact tiers, checked September 27, 2026. Promotions excluded.
Editorial assessmentMailchimp is built for businesses sending marketing email to customers: automations, e-commerce integrations and segmentation. beehiiv is built for publishers: a newsletter website, growth tools and paid subscriptions with a 0% take rate on Scale and Max.
beehiiv defines a subscriber as one “who you are sending to that has not unsubscribed or been marked as inactive”. Mailchimp counts subscribed, unsubscribed and non-subscribed contacts toward your plan unless you archive them. On a list with many unsubscribes, that difference alone can move you up a Mailchimp tier.
beehiiv’s tiers run 1,000, 2,500, 5,000, 10,000, 25,000, 50,000, 75,000 and 100,000; Mailchimp’s start at 500, 1,500 and 2,500. If you need a paid plan, Mailchimp Essentials is cheaper up to 5,000 contacts; beehiiv Scale is cheaper from 10,000 up in the tiers we compared, and much cheaper at 50,000.
beehiiv has a documented Mailchimp migration: export your audience as a CSV, import it, and connect Mailchimp to pull in past posts. Mailchimp has no beehiiv importer, but beehiiv exports subscribers and posts as CSV files on every plan.
beehiiv prices are per month when paid annually, by active subscribers; Mailchimp prices are monthly list prices by contact tier and count unsubscribed contacts. Checked September 27, 2026. Above 100,000 (beehiiv) and 50,000 (Mailchimp) prices are quotes or not shown.
You publish a newsletter, want to start free up to 2,500 subscribers, plan to sell paid subscriptions, or have a list of 10,000 or more.
You send marketing email for a business, need e-commerce automations, have a small list and want the lowest paid plan, or prefer paying month to month.
Uses your selections above. Estimate excludes add-ons, overages, and negotiated discounts.
Count active subscribers, not total contacts. Under 2,500, beehiiv is free; from 10,000 up, beehiiv Scale costs less than Mailchimp Essentials in every tier we compared.
How beehiiv and Mailchimp compare on compliance reports, sign-in controls, offline access and the setup details that matter for remote, hybrid and in-office teams. Every value links to the vendor page it came from.
| What we checked | beehiiv | Mailchimp |
|---|---|---|
| Security & compliance | ||
| SOC 2 report | SOC 2 Type IIsource | SOC 2 reportType not stated by vendorsource |
| ISO/IEC 27001 | Not published | Certifiedsource |
| HIPAA (BAA) | Not supportedsource | Not published |
| GDPR data processing agreement | Not published | DPA offeredsource |
| Single sign-on (SAML/OIDC) | Not published | Not published |
| SCIM user provisioning | Not published | Not published |
| Two-factor authentication | Yessource | YesEnforcement: Any multi-user plan (automatic once an Owner or Admin enables 2FA)source |
| Admin audit log | Not published | Not published |
| Data residency choices | US onlysource | US onlysource |
| Encryption | Not published | TLS 1.2+ in transit; at-rest encryption not statedsource |
| Self-hosting option | Not published | Not published |
| Offline access | ||
| Offline mode | Not documented | Not documented |
| Desktop apps | Not published | Not published |
| Mobile apps | Not published | iOS, Androidsource |
| Remote, hybrid & in-office | ||
| IP allowlisting | Not published | Not published |
| Device & session controls | Not published | Not published |
Up to 2,500 subscribers beehiiv is free. On paid plans Mailchimp Essentials is cheaper at small sizes ($26.50 against $43 at 1,000), and beehiiv Scale is cheaper from 10,000 ($96 against $110). beehiiv prices are billed annually. Checked September 27, 2026.
The Launch plan is $0 up to 2,500 subscribers with unlimited sends and no credit card; it includes 1 team member and 3 publications.
No. beehiiv counts subscribers who have not unsubscribed or been marked as inactive. Mailchimp counts unsubscribed and non-subscribed contacts unless you archive them.
Yes. Export your audience as a CSV and import it in beehiiv, then connect Mailchimp to import past posts. Automations are rebuilt, and campaigns made with Mailchimp’s legacy builder are not imported.
Yes. beehiiv exports subscribers (quick or full CSV) and posts as CSV files on all plans.
Step-by-step migration guides covering what transfers automatically, what doesn’t, and how to handle the gap — in both directions.
Every “best email marketing platform” listicle tells you why to buy. Here’s the other half: the specific conditions under which beehiiv or Mailchimp is the wrong purchase for your team.
Buy beehiiv if:
Do NOT buy beehiiv if:
Buy Mailchimp if:
Do NOT buy Mailchimp if:
Every pricing fact, rating, AI billing model and switching guide we hold on each tool, on one page, with the date each figure was last verified.
Prices on this page were recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page on the date shown at the top of the page. Vendors change pricing often — check the live source before you buy.
Every figure is also in our open dataset (JSON and CSV, CC BY 4.0), with its source page and verification date. See how we research pricing.
Verified prices costed for your team size, a check against your must-have requirements, the questions to settle before you sign, and a source for every figure. Print it, or paste it into an email to whoever approves the spend.
Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.