To accept payments online you need a payment processor, also called a payment gateway, that takes card and wallet payments and pays the money into your bank. Then you give customers a way to pay: a checkout on your website or online store, a payment link, or a pay button on your invoices. A website builder or e-commerce platform is only needed if customers should browse and buy on their own.
You need a payment processor, not a website: payment links and invoice pay buttons take money without one, and Stripe (2.9% + 30¢) and PayPal (3.49% + 49¢ on PayPal Checkout) charge per transaction, not monthly.
A store platform such as Shopify (from $29/mo, billed yearly) only earns its place once customers browse and buy on their own. The part that trips up new sellers is the books, not the checkout. Processors pay out in batches with fees and refunds already taken off, so one deposit rarely matches one sale, and if you record deposits as revenue, your sales look smaller than they were and your fees vanish from the books. Record gross sales and processor fees as separate lines, match every payout to its orders each week, and make sure the name on customers' card statements is one they'll recognise, because an unfamiliar charge is a common reason people file a dispute.
My read of the verified data on this page, checked against vendor sources on September 23, 2026. Disagree or spot an error? Tell Bill
QuickBooks 2026: 49% of owners say standard payment processing times create cash-flow gaps. Source
Which categories a job needs is Editorial assessment; the tools, prices and dates are Verified data.
Prices are each vendor’s published entry plan, recorded from its own pricing page and dated. The example column prices a team of 10: only per-user prices are multiplied; flat and per-account prices are shown as published. Change the team size in the finder.
A payment processor lets customers pay by card or online and moves the money to your bank.
| Tool | Entry price (as published) | Billing unit | Example: team of 10 | Free plan | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stripe | 2.9% + 30¢ | Per transaction | Per transactionNo monthly fee on this plan; the vendor charges per transaction | No monthly fee | Jul 29, 2026Vendor pricing |
| PayPal | 3.49% + 49¢ (PayPal Checkout) | Per transaction | Per transactionNo monthly fee on this plan; the vendor charges per transaction | No monthly fee | Jul 29, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Square | Square Free $0/mo (2.6% + 15¢ in person); Plus $49/location/mo | Per location per month (Square Plus, $49); Square Free is $0 per location | Per transactionNo monthly fee on this plan; the vendor charges per transaction | YesYes — Square Free, $0/mo; you pay processing fees | Sep 19, 2026Vendor pricing |
A website builder gets a professional site live without hiring a developer.
| Tool | Entry price (as published) | Billing unit | Example: team of 10 | Free plan | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wix | Free (Wix branding); paid plans from $17/mo (Light, annual) for a custom domain | Not stated in our record | From $17/moAs published; our record does not say if this is per user or per account | YesYes — Wix branding; a custom domain needs a paid plan | Sep 12, 2026Vendor pricing |
| Squarespace | From $19/mo | Per site per month, billed annually | $19/moFlat per site per month, billed annually; includes 2 logins, so more logins need a higher plan or extra users | NoNo free plan — 14-day trial only | Aug 26, 2026Vendor pricing |
| WordPress | Free software; hosting, themes and plugins cost extra | Not stated in our record | $0 to startFree software; hosting, themes and plugins cost extra | YesYes — the software is free; hosting, themes and plugins cost extra | Sep 12, 2026Vendor pricing |
An e-commerce platform runs your online store: products, checkout and orders.
| Tool | Entry price (as published) | Billing unit | Example: team of 10 | Free plan | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shopify | From $29/mo | Per store per month, billed yearly | $29/moFlat per store per month, billed yearly | NoNo free tier (3-day trial, then $1/mo for 3 months intro offer) | Jul 8, 2026Vendor pricing |
| WooCommerce | Free plugin | Not stated in our record | $0 to startFree plugin | YesYes — WooCommerce itself is free forever; only supporting infrastructure costs money | Jul 8, 2026Vendor pricing |
| BigCommerce | Core $29/mo (billed annually), up to $30K trailing-12-month GMV | Per store per month, billed annually; gated by trailing-12-month GMV, not by user seats | $29/moFlat per store per month, billed annually; gated by trailing-12-month GMV, not by user seats | NoNo free plan — 15-day free trial | Sep 23, 2026Vendor pricing |
Some payment processors sign you up under their own merchant account, so you do not need to apply for one separately. Check each processor's terms for how it handles this and how quickly it pays out.
Of the 3 payment processing tools we track, Square lists a free plan or free tier (limits are in the table above); Stripe and PayPal charge no monthly fee, only a fee on each transaction. A plan with no monthly fee can still charge on each payment, so check the per-transaction fees on the processor's pricing page.
Look for one that works with your website or store, supports the payment methods your customers use and has fees you can live with at your volume. The table above shows each tool's verified entry price and billing unit. You can also start from the finder for this job.
No. Payment links and pay buttons on invoices let you take payments online without a site. A website or online store matters once customers need to browse and buy on their own.
We start from the job, not the product. The phrasings people search for this job (for example “how to accept payments online for my business”) come from our research into how small and mid-size teams describe it. Which software categories the job takes is our editorial judgment. Every tool, entry price, billing unit and date comes from HelpCompare’s open dataset, recorded from each vendor’s own pricing page; nothing is estimated, and where a vendor publishes no price we say so. We take no affiliate commissions and publish no scores of our own. See our methodology or download the data from Open Data.
Cite this page: HelpCompare, “How to accept payments online for your business”, helpcompare.com/start/accept-online-payments/ (updated ).
Source links on this site are checked every month; last check . How sources are checked.
Built for the leader who owns the selection, answers for the spend, drives the rollout, and lives with the results. HelpCompare covers the whole decision, not just the first step.